Old 06-23-2019, 03:47 PM   #1
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 2,607
Default Render selected tracks via master: folders behavior

I was just testing out "render selected tracks via master" and was surprised, that selected folders (used as busses, e.g. instruments are routed thru that folder) are not taken into account. Maybe because there are no items on the folders. But wouldn't it be logical, that render catches the summed output of the folder?
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub | Stephan Römer - film composer
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...
_Stevie_ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2019, 07:53 AM   #2
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 2,607
Default

Or maybe I’m missing a setting here?
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub | Stephan Römer - film composer
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...
_Stevie_ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2019, 02:24 PM   #3
squibble94
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 144
Default

I needed this exact feature yesterday, and I was bummed when I saw it renders selected items through master vs. tracks. I think XRaym created a script for this, but the addition of wildcards for file naming would be great.
squibble94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2019, 04:00 PM   #4
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 2,607
Default

Yes, there's a script from X-Raym, however, this will need to load the project twice, since it creates a render queue. Very unfortunate. With a huge project, this could kill your computer.
I would love to do this task with this new render option.
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub | Stephan Römer - film composer
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...
_Stevie_ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2019, 05:20 PM   #5
squibble94
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 144
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _Stevie_ View Post
Yes, there's a script from X-Raym, however, this will need to load the project twice, since it creates a render queue. Very unfortunate. With a huge project, this could kill your computer.
I would love to do this task with this new render option.
Aaand that's precisely what happened to me when I tried it. The original changelog showed "render selected tracks through master" or something along those lines. It's probably on the to-do-list.
squibble94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2019, 05:42 PM   #6
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 2,607
Default

It’s already in the latest dev, but it’s not working the way I would expect it.
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub | Stephan Römer - film composer
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...

Last edited by _Stevie_; 06-26-2019 at 04:32 AM.
_Stevie_ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2019, 08:16 PM   #7
dangguidan
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 74
Default

X-Raym scripts can be output via master on selected tracks, not to generate rendering queues.
There is no need to reopen the project.
dangguidan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2019, 08:17 PM   #8
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5,509
Default

it's not selected tracks via master, it's selected ITEMS via master and it does most certainly render folder fx and send fx and master fx.


EDIT - Oh I'm in pre-release forum. oops
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2019, 05:13 AM   #9
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 2,607
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dangguidan View Post
X-Raym scripts can be output via master on selected tracks, not to generate rendering queues.
There is no need to reopen the project.
Thanks, I'll check again. Maybe my memory cheated on me.
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub | Stephan Römer - film composer
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...
_Stevie_ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2019, 01:10 AM   #10
dangguidan
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 74
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _Stevie_ View Post
Thanks, I'll check again. Maybe my memory cheated on me.
X-Raym_Render selected tracks individually through master.lua
dangguidan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2019, 09:57 AM   #11
Nostrap
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 87
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EpicSounds View Post
it's not selected tracks via master, it's selected ITEMS via master and it does most certainly render folder fx and send fx and master fx.


EDIT - Oh I'm in pre-release forum. oops


It doesn't render the child track audio, which is what the current render item does when it's an item on a parent track
Nostrap is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2019, 09:33 PM   #12
TobyAM
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Hollywood, CA
Posts: 37
Default

This option to render selected media items via master ignores parallel processing that feeds side-chain buses. X-Raym's script is still the only solution for me here.
TobyAM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2019, 05:05 AM   #13
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 2,607
Default

You should mention that in the current pre thread.
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub | Stephan Römer - film composer
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...
_Stevie_ is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.