Old 07-10-2019, 02:05 PM   #1
Edgemeal
Human being with feelings
 
Edgemeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: ASU`ogacihC
Posts: 1,259
Default v5.980rc4 - July 10 2019

v5.980rc4 - July 10 2019
+ FX: fix potential crash on macOS/Linux when auto-switching visible FX chain [t=222841]
+ Peaks building: do not set all media online after building peaks [t=222807]

v5.980rc3 - July 10 2019
+ Envelopes: fix inconsistency when loading bezier envelope points

v5.980rc2 - July 10 2019
+ Mixer: fixed slowness when opening mixer [t=222728]
# Media item ruler: don't adjust for project time offset
# macOS: add osx_max_open_files= reaper.ini setting, can begin with 'a' to autodetect by trial/error, or specify number. append v to show results on startup.

Full changelog / Latest pre-releases

Quote:
+ Mixer: fixed slowness when opening mixer [t=222728]
Much better!

Last edited by Edgemeal; 07-10-2019 at 11:11 PM.
Edgemeal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2019, 02:30 PM   #2
svijayrathinam
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 532
Default

in which line of the reaper.ini file do I add the following line of code?


add osx_max_open_files
svijayrathinam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2019, 02:34 PM   #3
JamesPeters
Human being with feelings
 
JamesPeters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Near a big lake
Posts: 2,581
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edgemeal View Post

+ Mixer: fixed slowness when opening mixer [t=222728]

Much better!
Yes also for me, in REAPER for Linux. Instantaneous opening/closing of the mixer now even with 200+ tracks with volume/pan envelopes showing.
__________________
http://petersamplification.com
Using REAPER for Linux
JamesPeters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2019, 06:01 PM   #4
mustgroove
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 443
Default

Got a weird bug with custom keyboard shortcuts

I have several keyboard shortcuts set up for nudging, which I use all the time:

- N is assigned to "Item edit: Nudge right by saved nudge dialog settings 1", and the saved nudge setting is to nudge an item to the right by 15 minutes.

- Q is set to "Item edit: Nudge left by saved nudge dialog settings 8", and the saved nudge setting is to nudge an item to the left by a very small amount.

I'm seeing a weird bug which only happens 1st time I try to use these shortcuts after Reaper has launched:

1) Launch Reaper, blank project is created
2) Create a track and draw a blank MIDI item
3.1) Hit N to nudge the item - instead of performing action assigned to N (nudge to the right by 15 minutes), the item is duplicated to the right.
3.2) Hit Q to nudge the item - instead of performing the action assigned to Q (nudge to the left a tiny bit), the item is duplicated to the left.

This only occurs the very first time I use these keyboard shortcuts after Reaper has been launched, whether in a blank project or in an existing project that has been opened. Every subsequent time I use these shortcuts, they work fine, either in the same project where the bug occurred, or in another project that was opened or created.

If I quit Reaper and re-launch it, the same thing happens again - those keyboard shortcuts are bugged, but only the 1st time I use them. Every subsequent time they work as expected.
mustgroove is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2019, 06:09 PM   #5
mustgroove
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 443
Default

GIF below. I should also mention, when the items are incorrectly duplicated instead of nudged, the undo list item created is "Duplicate item" rather than "Nudge item".

So something is going haywire with these shortcuts and making them perform the wrong action, but only the very 1st time they're used after launching Reaper.

mustgroove is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2019, 07:21 PM   #6
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,319
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mustgroove View Post
Got a weird bug with custom keyboard shortcuts

I have several keyboard shortcuts set up for nudging, which I use all the time:
Fixing, thanks!
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2019, 08:15 PM   #7
mustgroove
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 443
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
Fixing, thanks!
Amazing, thanks Justin!
mustgroove is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2019, 09:47 PM   #8
Klangfarben
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 574
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edgemeal View Post
# Media item ruler: don't adjust for project time offset
Is there any way to have this as an option? I can see why many people would want it this way. However, if you are using H:M:S:F you are almost always going to have a project start time offset that you will want to use.

Maybe a per item setting?
Klangfarben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2019, 12:50 AM   #9
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5,510
Default

+ Peaks building: do not set all media online after building peaks [t=222807]


Does this apply to audio in videos as well?

I use a script "Set all selected video items to Ignore audio.lua" (Link)
but if I import another item the peaks for items with ignored audio come back.

There's something different about using the script to ignore audio, and actually clicking the option in source properties.
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2019, 03:39 AM   #10
svijayrathinam
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 532
Default

Media item bottom half context mouse modifiers not working properly when track height is a bit small....it only works when the track height is large..It used to work in smaller heights as well in earlier releases..
svijayrathinam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2019, 10:05 AM   #11
mlprod
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 670
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Klangfarben View Post
Is there any way to have this as an option? I can see why many people would want it this way. However, if you are using H:M:S:F you are almost always going to have a project start time offset that you will want to use.

Maybe a per item setting?
You see a use case where you'd like an item ruler to NOT start at 0:00:00:00?
__________________
Magnus Lindberg Productions - VRTKL Audio - Redmount Studios
magnuslindberg.com
mlprod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2019, 10:24 AM   #12
Klangfarben
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 574
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mlprod View Post
You see a use case where you'd like an item ruler to NOT start at 0:00:00:00?
Yes, that's correct so one can have a timecode overlay vs a timecode duration as illustrated below.

Klangfarben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2019, 10:55 AM   #13
mlprod
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 670
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Klangfarben View Post
Yes, that's correct so one can have a timecode overlay vs a timecode duration as illustrated below.

I see. I guess its up to the devs if such an option should be there then.
__________________
Magnus Lindberg Productions - VRTKL Audio - Redmount Studios
magnuslindberg.com
mlprod is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.