Old 03-12-2009, 09:16 AM   #1
adouglas
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 84
Default Very basic OS X install question

A version or two ago one of the changes was a "new install procedure" for OS X that was not spelled out.

I notice that the distributions now only have a few files, not the full directory structure with all the libraries and such.

Until this happened. I was replacing all matching files with every new release, just in case something besides the application itself had changed. This was tedious, because I have some additional files in there (like the mp3lame dll) that need to stay.

The way it is now, obviously all I do is replace Reaper and ReaMote, which is great.

General question going forward.... if future distributions go back to including the support files and directories, will it still be safe to just replace Reaper and ReaMote?

Asked another way....when new versions come out, do the support files change?
adouglas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2009, 03:08 PM   #2
bennals
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 244
Default

I suspect you will just have to wait and see. Future updates may require it, but I'm sure Cockos will let us know if and when that happens.

Bill.
__________________
Macbook C2D 1.83, 10.6.4, MH ULN-2 & 2882 x 3.
bennals is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2009, 07:16 AM   #3
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,319
Default

For future versions, unless we announce otherwise, if there are just two .app files (and no support files) included, you can just upgrade the .app files. Once you do, and run, the .app files will automatically update the contents of your (~/Library/Application Support/REAPER/ paths).

-Justin
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2009, 07:48 AM   #4
adouglas
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 84
Default

Awesome. Thanks!
adouglas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2009, 10:23 AM   #5
danbee
Human being with feelings
 
danbee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
For future versions, unless we announce otherwise, if there are just two .app files (and no support files) included, you can just upgrade the .app files. Once you do, and run, the .app files will automatically update the contents of your (~/Library/Application Support/REAPER/ paths).

-Justin
Is it possible to set this up so that the support files are stored alongside the application instead of being within ~/Library? I want to set up the OS X version of REAPER on a USB stick, along with my registration, colour themes and possibly plugins.
__________________
:: danbee ::
danbee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2009, 10:41 AM   #6
Amberience
Human being with feelings
 
Amberience's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: swing on the spiral of our divinity
Posts: 2,045
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by danbee View Post
Is it possible to set this up so that the support files are stored alongside the application instead of being within ~/Library? I want to set up the OS X version of REAPER on a USB stick, along with my registration, colour themes and possibly plugins.
That's a bad idea, imo. The library location is a standard place for support files for applications, and Reaper should use it.
__________________
Amberience is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2009, 12:26 PM   #7
danbee
Human being with feelings
 
danbee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amberience View Post
That's a bad idea, imo. The library location is a standard place for support files for applications, and Reaper should use it.
Yeah, it should definitely be used in the case of a local install, but when working from a USB stick you want your preferences and stuff to follow you and not get stored on the machine you're using, so it would be nice to have the option to choose.
__________________
:: danbee ::
danbee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2010, 07:31 AM   #8
boka
Human being with feelings
 
boka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Hungary,Europe
Posts: 800
Default

Found this topic the closest to my question. I've been using Reaper (Win) for nearly 4 years and I'll move to a Mac next week. As I have never used Reaper on mac before, could you please give me help how can I 'migrate' my Reaper to mac? I have my custom theme, hotkeys, sws dll...so fully customized. Is it possible to do that without any loss?

Thanks!
__________________
15" Retina MBP, Adobe CC, UA Apollo
boka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2010, 09:26 AM   #9
AdamWathan
Human being with feelings
 
AdamWathan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Cambridge, Ontario
Posts: 2,644
Default

Open the preferences, go to the General tab and hit "Export configuration".

Get that file on your Mac however you like, then open Reaper and hit "Import Configuration." Done
AdamWathan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2010, 12:45 PM   #10
boka
Human being with feelings
 
boka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Hungary,Europe
Posts: 800
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AdamWathan View Post
Open the preferences, go to the General tab and hit "Export configuration".

Get that file on your Mac however you like, then open Reaper and hit "Import Configuration." Done
Thanks!!!!!
__________________
15" Retina MBP, Adobe CC, UA Apollo
boka is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.