Old 06-13-2019, 09:49 AM   #1
Edgemeal
Human being with feelings
 
Edgemeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: ASU`ogacihC
Posts: 1,260
Default v5.979rc2 - June 13 2019

v5.979rc2 - June 13 2019
+ Audio Units: do not scan 32-bit AUs on Mojave (can override by setting au_scan32=1 in reaper.ini)
+ MIDI: support linking program change messages on all channels sequentially to FX preset changes
+ VST3: limit built-in program dropdown display to 512 items (for VEP)
+ VST3: limit dropdown to 512 presets of each type
# ReaScript: fix SetEnvelopePointEx when changing both time/value and selection state [p=2145949]

Full changelog / Latest pre-releases
Edgemeal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2019, 01:10 PM   #2
foxAsteria
Human being with feelings
 
foxAsteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Oblivion
Posts: 6,733
Default

So awesome that Global actions are finally coming, but a couple things could make the transition a lot easier (unless I missed something):
1. Is there a way to convert all existing shortcuts to Global or do I have to spend several hours doing it by hand?
2. Can you plz allow the dropdown box to save the last selection or the process will be even more tedious for users preferring global actions.
__________________
Myy Wyyrd Muzyyk
foxAsteria is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2019, 10:52 PM   #3
Fergler
Human being with feelings
 
Fergler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 3,903
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edgemeal View Post
v5.979rc2 - June 13 2019
+ MIDI: support linking program change messages on all channels sequentially to FX preset changes
Holy that's huge for me, thanks!
__________________
Check out my hip-hop, funk-rock band Theatre Crisp
Fergler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2019, 06:48 AM   #4
Georgedayren
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 30
Default

i have project template, some scripts not works, problem only in project file.

scripts for test:
Script: X-Raym_Add stretch markers to selected items at grid divisions.eel
Script: gen_Envelope-based Compressor v2.eel


there is no scripts with autostart, template is clean. only one empty track
Attached Files
File Type: rpp 1.rpp (2.7 KB, 63 views)
Georgedayren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2019, 08:33 AM   #5
Edgemeal
Human being with feelings
 
Edgemeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: ASU`ogacihC
Posts: 1,260
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by foxAsteria View Post
1. Is there a way to convert all existing shortcuts to Global or do I have to spend several hours doing it by hand?
If you did that then you'd be killing off other shortcuts, for example, the FX Chain window has an option tied to Control+B, and by default Control+B in Main is tied to "View: Show project bay window", if you make Control+B global then you are basically disabling Control+B for the FX Chain window or other windows that make use of Control+B.

The way I plan to use Global keys is they call a script that runs specific actions/code depending on what has focus, where the mouse is, etc, etc. Example, my "S" key splits item under mouse like normal and can also solo the track when a FX window has focus.
Edgemeal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2019, 09:36 AM   #6
foxAsteria
Human being with feelings
 
foxAsteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Oblivion
Posts: 6,733
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edgemeal View Post
If you did that then you'd be killing off other shortcuts
I know, but that's the whole point. Every single shortcut I use is non-default and I never use the ones I can't customize (e.g fx window). Therefore I want my assigned shortcuts working exactly the same at all times and ultimately that's the reason I made the request a decade ago. Although I probably should have posted in a more relevant pre...
__________________
Myy Wyyrd Muzyyk
foxAsteria is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2019, 10:05 AM   #7
mccrabney
Human being with feelings
 
mccrabney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Chinsville, Georgia
Posts: 1,890
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edgemeal View Post
If you did that then you'd be killing off other shortcuts, for example, the FX Chain window
good. they shouldn't have been default anyway.

I can't tell you how many times I've tried to bounce something via shortcut only to realize I had instead bypassed an fx due to window focus -- in doing so NOT bouncing my work for the last 15 min. it's a recipe for user error

this focus issue is what caused me to move as much as possible toward controller-based action triggering, since midi and osc isn't screen-focus dependent

so glad these window focus issues are finally getting resolved.
__________________
° using REAPER as host/arranger/sequencer to write instrumental beat music.
° striving for a loop-based, controller-centric midi recording/editing workflow.
° reluctantly switched to using Ableton for live performance and actually enjoying it
mccrabney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2019, 10:16 AM   #8
mccrabney
Human being with feelings
 
mccrabney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Chinsville, Georgia
Posts: 1,890
Default

oh btw devs, regarding that slick micro-mouse click drag fix you wrote to prevent us from rearranging tracks -

in addition to a similar inertia fix being needed when clicking the waveform in the media editor, I think we would benefit from the same treatment when snap is off / grid is tiny in the midi editor. I spend a lot of time deleting notes that I accidentally drew in with tiny clickdrags
__________________
° using REAPER as host/arranger/sequencer to write instrumental beat music.
° striving for a loop-based, controller-centric midi recording/editing workflow.
° reluctantly switched to using Ableton for live performance and actually enjoying it
mccrabney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2019, 10:30 AM   #9
Edgemeal
Human being with feelings
 
Edgemeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: ASU`ogacihC
Posts: 1,260
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mccrabney View Post
good. they shouldn't have been default anyway.
If the devs can't help make all shortcuts global then maybe ask reaper-reverse-engineer-expert 'Mespotine' to write a script to update your 'Reaper-kb.ini', seems a global key setting is just another line in that ini file.
Edgemeal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2019, 11:27 AM   #10
foxAsteria
Human being with feelings
 
foxAsteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Oblivion
Posts: 6,733
Default

Ah yea it probably is a really simple text edit...hopefully.
__________________
Myy Wyyrd Muzyyk
foxAsteria is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2019, 03:10 PM   #11
mespotine
Human being with feelings
 
mespotine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Leipzig, Germany
Posts: 1,401
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edgemeal View Post
If the devs can't help make all shortcuts global then maybe ask reaper-reverse-engineer-expert 'Mespotine' to write a script to update your 'Reaper-kb.ini', seems a global key setting is just another line in that ini file.

AFAIR, it was a different sectionnumber in the KEYS-entries, but need to check this again.
Haven't bothered documenting this feature, as it's still in flux.
__________________
Ultraschall-API - a Lua-functions-library4Reaper: https://forum.cockos.com/showthread....98#post2067798
Reaper Internals - Developerdocs4Reaper: https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=207635
mespotine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2019, 07:27 AM   #12
mespotine
Human being with feelings
 
mespotine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Leipzig, Germany
Posts: 1,401
Default

Just noticed yesterday:

__mergesort - seems to be missing in the reaper_plugin_functions.h in reaper 5.979rc2, at least the lines

Quote:
#if defined(REAPERAPI_WANT___mergesort) || !defined(REAPERAPI_MINIMAL)
REAPERAPI_DEF //==============================================
// __mergesort
// __mergesort is a stable sorting function with an API similar to qsort().
// HOWEVER, it requires some temporary space, equal to the size of the data being sorted, so you can pass it as the last parameter,
// or NULL and it will allocate and free space internally.

void (*__mergesort)(void* base, size_t nmemb, size_t size, int (*cmpfunc)(const void*,const void*), void* tmpspace);
#endif
are missing. Is this deprecated or missing by accident? Was there up until 5.978.

@foxAsteria
I quickly documented the global-shortcut behavior.

Code:
Global KeyBindings in reaper-kb.ini(as of Reaper 5.978+dev0530)

Global keybinding can be stored only in main and main-alt-sections.

Each global keybinding consists of two KEY-entries in the reaper-kb.ini-file, one for the keybinding to an Action Command ID, which is of the format:

    KEY modifier keyvalue action_command_id section

which holds the keybinding itself.

In addition to that, there's a second KEY-entry, following the first KEY-entry. This is of the following format

    KEY modifier keyvalue global_key_scope section

        modifier and keyvalue are the same as the first KEY-entry.

        global_key_scope:
            1   - global
            101 - global+textfields

        section:
            102 - main(global shortcuts)
            103 - main-alt(global shortcuts)


Example: 

a global keybinding of the key "Q", associated with the action:

    1007 - Transport: Play
    
in section main is store in the reaper-kb.ini as

    KEY 1 81 1007 0
    KEY 1 81 1 102

where the first entry holds the keybinding of the q-key to the play-action and the second sets the keybinding to global without(!) textfields.
This file has a collection of all KEY-modifier-keyvalue-codes and their associated shortcut, minus midi-keybindings:
https://github.com/Ultraschall/ultra...per-kb_ini.ini

For a documentation on how the kb.ini in general works, see:
https://mespotin.uber.space/Ultrasch...#Reaper-kb.ini
__________________
Ultraschall-API - a Lua-functions-library4Reaper: https://forum.cockos.com/showthread....98#post2067798
Reaper Internals - Developerdocs4Reaper: https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=207635
mespotine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2019, 09:23 AM   #13
foxAsteria
Human being with feelings
 
foxAsteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Oblivion
Posts: 6,733
Default

Thanks Mespotine, but I think I'm too stupid to use that information. Looks like it's not a simple thing to convert all my actions but I'll just wait and see I guess.
__________________
Myy Wyyrd Muzyyk
foxAsteria is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2019, 12:09 PM   #14
mespotine
Human being with feelings
 
mespotine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Leipzig, Germany
Posts: 1,401
Default

@devs

Is my documentation of the global-shortcut-entries in the reaper-kb.ni complete or is it missing stuff?
Would add that to my docs, if they're right.

https://forum.cockos.com/showpost.ph...1&postcount=12
__________________
Ultraschall-API - a Lua-functions-library4Reaper: https://forum.cockos.com/showthread....98#post2067798
Reaper Internals - Developerdocs4Reaper: https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=207635
mespotine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2019, 02:08 PM   #15
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,322
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mespotine View Post
@devs

Is my documentation of the global-shortcut-entries in the reaper-kb.ni complete or is it missing stuff?
Would add that to my docs, if they're right.

https://forum.cockos.com/showpost.ph...1&postcount=12
At a glance it looks about right but don't hold me to it
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.