Old 06-20-2019, 06:09 PM   #1
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 14,732
Default DEV's can you tell me...?

for all the truly wonderful developments in reaper [of course we thanks you and love it] I've been stymied by a couple little things...

for now let's just stick to one of those:

in the FX Browser, to move folders up or down in the user made folders, we have to repeatedly go through the menu to move up or move down...

I like to try and keep the folders in an order I can work with.. but making a new one at the bottom and having to use that menu to move it up 20 times is sooooo tedious...

Isn't there some way to have move up and move down work with a hot key??

If NOT... can you just say why???

Thanks much
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2019, 07:08 PM   #2
Breeder
Human being with feelings
 
Breeder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Croatia
Posts: 2,112
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hopi View Post
If NOT... can you just say why???

Thanks much
Because you usually do categories once and only rarely do you need to edit it. As in, it's not a deal breaker and it makes you commit to something and stick with it - we all know what GAS is
__________________
My contributions
Breeder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2019, 08:12 PM   #3
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 14,732
Default

Breeder.... while I can appreciate what you are saying as true for some, it is not true for everyone... not true for me for sure and I doubt I am the only one

also, what I'm asking is ... is there some reason that having hot keys for or even assignable hot keys for move up and move down cannot be done?
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain

Last edited by hopi; 06-20-2019 at 08:27 PM.
hopi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2019, 03:39 AM   #4
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 7,069
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hopi View Post
for all the truly wonderful developments in reaper [of course we thanks you and love it] I've been stymied by a couple little things...

for now let's just stick to one of those:

in the FX Browser, to move folders up or down in the user made folders, we have to repeatedly go through the menu to move up or move down...

I like to try and keep the folders in an order I can work with.. but making a new one at the bottom and having to use that menu to move it up 20 times is sooooo tedious...

Isn't there some way to have move up and move down work with a hot key??

If NOT... can you just say why???

Thanks much
Enjoy

https://forum.cockos.com/showthread....ht=RearrangeFX
Coachz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2019, 04:42 AM   #5
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 7,442
Default

Yet another nasty try to place an unrelated feature request in the inappropriate subforum ...

-Michael (being a software dev myself, I can feel the pain crawling up the Reaper devs' necks )
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2019, 04:50 AM   #6
doppelganger
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 353
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Coachz View Post
package of app for rearranging folders weights more than a package of DAW itself, wtf
doppelganger is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2019, 05:39 AM   #7
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 7,069
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by doppelganger View Post
package of app for rearranging folders weights more than a package of DAW itself, wtf
Works great here!
Coachz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2019, 06:56 AM   #8
Mordi
Human being with feelings
 
Mordi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Norway
Posts: 538
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mschnell View Post
Yet another nasty try to place an unrelated feature request in the inappropriate subforum ...

-Michael (being a software dev myself, I can feel the pain crawling up the Reaper devs' necks )
Yes. This belongs in the feature requests forum.
Mordi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2019, 06:58 AM   #9
Breeder
Human being with feelings
 
Breeder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Croatia
Posts: 2,112
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Coachz View Post
Nice! Thanks for the share

Quote:
Originally Posted by hopi View Post
Breeder.... while I can appreciate what you are saying as true for some, it is not true for everyone... not true for me for sure and I doubt I am the only one
Of course man, I know what you mean, but it isn't possible natively for reasons unknown. However, Coachz here saved our asses here so it's all good
__________________
My contributions
Breeder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2019, 08:25 AM   #10
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 7,069
Default

Awesome. Glad to help.
Coachz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2019, 03:27 PM   #11
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 14,732
Default

ahem.... if you read the rearrange fx thread you might notice I've been there long ago and while I wish it would do the trick for me on portable installs it never did... never got to the correct .ini file.

but hey, thanks for pointing to it again trying to help...

..and sure, 'you' can complain about me posting 'inappropriately' but it's not like I have not tried appropriately before this.

A simple answer from the DEV's would be nice.
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2019, 04:11 PM   #12
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 8,905
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hopi View Post
..and sure, 'you' can complain about me posting 'inappropriately' but it's not like I have not tried appropriately before this.
Imagine everyone who posted appropriately but didn't get a reply from the devs would post in Pre-Release forum...
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2019, 05:02 PM   #13
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 14,732
Default

I can't imagine... but plz, beat on me some more...
I'll go stand in the corner
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2019, 05:07 PM   #14
mespotine
Human being with feelings
 
mespotine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Leipzig, Germany
Posts: 1,393
Default

No beating up. Sometimes, waiting-time for a reply by the devs just needs a lot of...


relaxation

inhale

exhale

relax

ommmmmmm



But really: just cause they don't answer your question, doesn't mean, they didn't realise the existence your question.

Maybe, they simply don't have an answer(yet).
__________________
Ultraschall-API - a Lua-functions-library4Reaper: https://forum.cockos.com/showthread....98#post2067798
Reaper Internals - Developerdocs4Reaper: https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=207635
mespotine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2019, 05:36 PM   #15
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 7,069
Default

Hugs for hopi
Coachz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2019, 01:06 AM   #16
sonicowl
Human being with feelings
 
sonicowl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 336
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mespotine View Post
Maybe, they simply don't have an answer(yet).

Maybe an answer is reserved for v6?
sonicowl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2019, 12:50 PM   #17
jbraner
Human being with feelings
 
jbraner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Edinburgh
Posts: 241
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hopi View Post
I can't imagine... but plz, beat on me some more...
I'll go stand in the corner
No beating up from me - but there's definitely an overabundance of anal retention around here.

This (and a lot more) has been asked for many many times before - and it must just be a low priority because it *can't* be that difficult to do. No criticism of the devs - but it is a really obvious thing to request.

PS - RearrangeFX is great, but it has a limit to how many folders it can handle. I don't know what the limit is, but I'm over it, so RearrangeFX doesn't really work here anymore.
jbraner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2019, 06:34 PM   #18
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 14,732
Default

thanks guys.... I feel so much better now %^)... nothing like some buddies
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2019, 02:05 AM   #19
jbraner
Human being with feelings
 
jbraner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Edinburgh
Posts: 241
Default

Just keep posting and maybe it will get fixed some day
jbraner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2019, 02:28 AM   #20
uncleswede
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 792
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Coachz View Post
Works great here!
Not on portable installs of Reaper, sadly :-(
uncleswede is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2019, 12:32 PM   #21
Luster
Human being with feelings
 
Luster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 548
Default

In this thread one kind of post is missing:


+1


Luster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2019, 05:26 AM   #22
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 14,732
Default

yeah ... what IS missing is the answer to the question from any DEV...
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2019, 07:44 AM   #23
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 14,732
Default

in the meantime... Edgemeal did a lovely thing that works:

https://stash.reaper.fm/v/36615/Arrange%20FX.zip
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2019, 08:31 AM   #24
mespotine
Human being with feelings
 
mespotine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Leipzig, Germany
Posts: 1,393
Default

@hopi

Could you rename the thread with a better title that says more about, what you're asking for in this thread?
__________________
Ultraschall-API - a Lua-functions-library4Reaper: https://forum.cockos.com/showthread....98#post2067798
Reaper Internals - Developerdocs4Reaper: https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=207635
mespotine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2019, 10:46 AM   #25
jbraner
Human being with feelings
 
jbraner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Edinburgh
Posts: 241
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hopi View Post
in the meantime... Edgemeal did a lovely thing that works:

https://stash.reaper.fm/v/36615/Arrange%20FX.zip

This is (a lot) better than nothing
I just double checked "ReArrangeFX" - and it definitely skips the bottom half of my folders...
jbraner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2019, 06:56 AM   #26
Philbo King
Human being with feelings
 
Philbo King's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 1,490
Default

My workaround for sorting & categorizing VSTs was to create a new directory structure on a different drive, then create folders for each category and copy those VSTs into those folders.

This allows you to reorganize stuff at will in any fashion you like, then simply rescan VSTs after changes. I use the VST Folders view in the FX browser to find stuff by category.

A side benefit: if you use the same VST library on different instances of Reaper, the categories show up intact. If you collaborate, copying this structure to your collaborators gives them the same FX library.
__________________
Tangent Studio - Philbo King
www.soundclick.com/philboking - stream music
www.facebook.com/philboking - gigs and news
Philbo King is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.