Old 04-13-2010, 06:03 AM   #1
AdamWathan
Human being with feelings
 
AdamWathan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Cambridge, Ontario
Posts: 2,644
Default Disabling the PPC bridge support?

It is driving me crazy how long it takes when I first open the FX chain window when I open Reaper now because of this bridging. I don't have any PPC plugs and never intend on having them, is there a way to prevent Reaper from doing this super slow PPC bridge thing when I open the FX chain window?
AdamWathan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2010, 06:15 AM   #2
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 10,175
Default

It shouldn't initiate the bridge unless there are PPC plugins on the system, but it's possible universal binaries are triggering this.

You can disable bridging in prefs/plug-ins (select "only native (disable bridging)"), but this also disables running 32/64 bridging.

We'll see if the UB thing is what's causing this, and if so make it work more nicely.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2010, 06:18 AM   #3
AdamWathan
Human being with feelings
 
AdamWathan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Cambridge, Ontario
Posts: 2,644
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
It shouldn't initiate the bridge unless there are PPC plugins on the system, but it's possible universal binaries are triggering this.

You can disable bridging in prefs/plug-ins (select "only native (disable bridging)"), but this also disables running 32/64 bridging.

We'll see if the UB thing is what's causing this, and if so make it work more nicely.
Cheers thanks schwa! I will hunt around, maybe I do have a PPC plugin buried on my drive somewhere that I don't know about.
AdamWathan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2010, 02:25 PM   #4
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,319
Default

If it appears when opening the FX browser, it would likely be a PPC-only AU.
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2010, 03:27 PM   #5
garyfwayne
Human being with feelings
 
garyfwayne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 77
Default

I'm getting the same thing. I disabled bridging and still get the rosetta/ppc plugin window. I have pod farm 2 installed. Those are my only 3rd party plugins. If there is a ppc plugin, it came on my new intel mac or it is caused by pod farm 2?
garyfwayne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2010, 06:10 PM   #6
garyfwayne
Human being with feelings
 
garyfwayne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 77
Default

I think the garage band AU's are using the bridge. When I turned the bridge off, they didn't work. I'll live with the "install rosetta" message. It only happens the first time I open FX.
garyfwayne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2010, 09:59 PM   #7
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,319
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by garyfwayne View Post
I think the garage band AU's are using the bridge. When I turned the bridge off, they didn't work. I'll live with the "install rosetta" message. It only happens the first time I open FX.
Ahh, you don't have Rosetta installed? OK I think we can code around this issue (3.41pre9 will be on www.landoleet.org this evening -- try it, when it is).
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2010, 05:49 AM   #8
garyfwayne
Human being with feelings
 
garyfwayne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 77
Default

Wow, thank you. You guys are amazing. I'll give it a try when it goes up. You're right, I don't have rosetta installed.
Gary

Last edited by garyfwayne; 04-14-2010 at 07:22 AM.
garyfwayne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2010, 01:48 PM   #9
garyfwayne
Human being with feelings
 
garyfwayne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 77
Default

Hey Justin,
The new Pre 9 on landoleet fixed the "install rosetta" issue. A big "thank you" to the whole reaper team.

Gary
garyfwayne is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.