Old 10-12-2018, 04:57 PM   #1
Opcode 7
Human being with feelings

Default Hooks for MIDI Notes On/Off

Hello! I'm new to REAPER Extensions, but I'm starting to wad through this example plugin source code :

https://github.com/elanhickler/MyReaperPlugin

and I'm wondering, is there a function I can hook, that will provide me with all the currently playing MIDI notes, for each track?

For example, say I want to use all this midi note information to display on the screen that -- Track 1 is playing a C Maj Chord, Track 2 playing E chord, etc...

Ive found the following functions in the reapler_plugin_functions.h,

REAPER_PLUGIN_DECLARE_APIFUNCS void (*kbd_OnMidiEvent)(MIDI_event_t *evt, int dev_index); // can be called from anywhere (threadsafe)
REAPER_PLUGIN_DECLARE_APIFUNCS const char* (*GetTrackMIDINoteName)(int track, int note, int chan);

but they seem more like things that can be called, rather than things can be 'hooked' and called when REAPER plays a MIDI note, you know? Is is possible to 'hook'/intercept things in REAPER extensions?

An example would be, say I want to transpose every midi note that plays up a semitone before it's sent to the instrument or plugin or external out, etc.

Last edited by Opcode 7; 10-12-2018 at 05:08 PM.
Opcode 7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2018, 07:11 PM   #2
Xenakios

Quote:
Originally Posted by Opcode 7 View Post
is possible to 'hook'/intercept things in REAPER extensions?
Only in very limited ways. The API functions that have names with "On_" are not callback functions you can set yourself to be called by Reaper. It has never been clear for me why they are named like that, but like you already discovered they are just functions to be called from your own code.