Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER for macOS X

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-25-2019, 03:27 AM   #1
CornerBoy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: London
Posts: 5
Default MacBook Pro 2019 10.14.5 and Reaper - almost unusable

Hi - am a big big fan of Reaper and a radio producer. Recently updated my MacBook - to a 2019 13-inch, Four Thunderbolt 3 ports, 2.4GHz Intel Core i5 16GB memory, Intel Iris Plus Graphics 655 1536MB running macOS Mojave 10.14.5 - and now using Reaper is like walking through treacle. It's working, but super slow and almost laggy to the point where I cannot work as fast/freely as before. I see a few threads about this but no conclusion (apologies if I've missed something or am in the wrong place).

This is a major issue for me, and have even begun looking at other programmes like Studio One and Bitwig - all of which run very fast and as you'd expect on this machine. I've tried running at low resolution and still no change. Buffer changes don't help either. Would massively appreciate some feedback/ideas as love the workflow of my reaper set up but can't run like this! Thanks!!!

PS - when mixing down etc it's running well and faster than my old iMac and old MacBook which is cool and expected.
CornerBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2019, 12:02 PM   #2
Aymara
Human being with feelings
 
Aymara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Ruhr Area, Germany
Posts: 974
Default

I have a mid 2014 MBP 15“ with a 2.5 GHz i7 and upgraded to macOS 10.14.6 lately and Reaper 5 (64 bit) runs fine.

Maybe repost in the Cockos macOS forum.
__________________
Greetings from Germany

Chris
Aymara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2019, 02:35 PM   #3
CornerBoy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: London
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aymara View Post
I have a mid 2014 MBP 15“ with a 2.5 GHz i7 and upgraded to macOS 10.14.6 lately and Reaper 5 (64 bit) runs fine.

Maybe repost in the Cockos macOS forum.
Ahhh - cool cool, will do - thanks Chris!
CornerBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2019, 07:47 PM   #4
vsgrt
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 55
Default

You need to change your color profile in macOS. There should honestly be a popup whenever you start the mac build of Reaper for the first time that tells people this.

And remember to set all your fonts to bold so that they look normal in mac!
vsgrt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.