Old 11-12-2019, 02:40 AM   #1
RipperBB
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 9
Default Send Program Change on Track Arm

Hi all.
I am searching for a backup solution, or permanent (who knows?!), for the first gig that my newly formed band will have in February. At the moment i am using http://www.midikuper.com/ and it seems to be fine (it hasn't had a crash or any fail during rehearsals till today).
I think that anybody thinks on backup solutions for live shows... herm... (Lol)

For the moment i don't need back-tracks or any pre-recorded stuff. All i need for now is Program Changes for my hardware: synths and effects.
I am expecting Song Switcher to help me with this, as i can already change Songs with it connected to my DIY midi foot switch (Teensy board with 4 foot switches in a box). I can also switch to Previous or Next track folder track in the Songs. So, no problem with Song Switcher and footswitch in that regards.

My problem is sending on Track-Arm the Program Changes that i put in each track with ReaControMidi. (I already created the Reabanks and it works in the plugin itself to send the changes for the hardware)
If i record a midi file and put those changes in the track it works when i press play. I prefer to not need to use the midi tracks for now or having to press play as this may turn to be a issue in some parts of the songs

- So, how can we send Program Changes when we arm a track? Or auto Play on Track Record-Arm?



P.S.: I am thinking on using a Raspberry Pi 4 for this with Reaper.
Before trying in Raspbian i am working on Windows 10 Reaper and would copy the process for Raspbian when this is found to be working.
RipperBB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2019, 12:48 PM   #2
RipperBB
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 9
Default

So, there is no way to have ReaControlMIDI or Insert-Piz MidiControlChange to send the MSB/LSB+Program Change on Track Record-Arm or Play or some other similar way?
Do we really have to use midi tracks for this? I just find this awkward to not be possible to do with such a immensely capable DAW like Reaper.

Yes, with midi tracks i have it working already.
RipperBB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2019, 11:30 AM   #3
RipperBB
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 9
Default

I solved it.
After a good set of time exploring this i was able to set "Bank/Program en" field to be enabled by my DIY Teensy pedalboard throught parameter control put in the Track without recording any MIDI data in a Track or enabling Play. Reaper is now sending PC commands to my midi hardware.
Now to work on some songs to test this for errors with Song Switcher.
RipperBB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2019, 10:44 AM   #4
Regisfofo
Human being with feelings
 
Regisfofo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: France
Posts: 346
Default

Nice to see you've found workaround for your needs, and thanks for sharing it.
Maybe you're well aware of that but you could have done approximately the same thing with live config using the preset switcher to "activate" the send of the Midi Program Change with switching Reacontrolmidi's preset with live config's FX preset column.
Regisfofo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2019, 12:34 PM   #5
RipperBB
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Regisfofo View Post
Nice to see you've found workaround for your needs, and thanks for sharing it.
Maybe you're well aware of that but you could have done approximately the same thing with live config using the preset switcher to "activate" the send of the Midi Program Change with switching Reacontrolmidi's preset with live config's FX preset column.
Hi Regisfofo, thanks for the heads up.
I haven't tried live configs yet but will do later.
Thanks again.
RipperBB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2019, 09:41 AM   #6
RipperBB
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 9
Default

Following mschnell's post on Live Config, one of the requirements is MIDItoReaControlPath. It can't be installed in Raspbian. At least not a way that i could make it till now.
Is there any way of installing MIDItoReaControlPath in a Raspberry PI?

I haven't tried using WINE with some x86 emulator but for sure it would make it to become slow, which would break the purpose of this project.

Well, lets follow the original plan with Song Switcher till there is something more on this.
RipperBB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.