Old 03-30-2014, 04:31 AM   #1
syntaxed2
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 35
Default Preset management in MediaBrowser + Mockup Pic

At the moment presets can only be loaded from the menu, which I find a tedious adventure...having been used to cubase's big preset browser.

I suggest a slight tweak to the standard media browser so that it can display saved contents of .RPL library files.

And ofcourse, drag&drop from the browser to any plugin

To further this feature, I also suggest RPL internal folder support so that users may organize their presets neatly inside the library file.

However this may require additional recoding of the rpl format itself.
A mockup has been created and attached which hopefully answers all questions

If you like this idea, vote for it on the FR tracker, URL below!
http://forum.cockos.com/project.php?issueid=5140
Attached Images
File Type: jpg preset_management.jpg (24.5 KB, 368 views)
File Type: jpg dragdrop1.jpg (51.5 KB, 275 views)

Last edited by syntaxed2; 04-02-2014 at 04:10 AM. Reason: Secondary suggestions/cleaning up for FR issue tracker
syntaxed2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2014, 04:02 PM   #2
Studiostriver
Human being with feelings
 
Studiostriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Bosnia/Belltown
Posts: 76
Default

Very,very nice idea.
Studiostriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2014, 04:05 PM   #3
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 8,048
Default

Super idea
Coachz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2014, 04:16 PM   #4
djomardiaz
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 8
Default

+1 for this!!
djomardiaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2014, 09:37 AM   #5
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5,290
Default

+1, nice idea.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Make a thread "F%#! you Reaper! I quit!" to get more views and feedback since these kind of threads get much more traction
SoundCloudFR: True Non-destructive GLUEAll the REAPER names
vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2014, 09:50 AM   #6
airon
Human being with feelings
 
airon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Berlin
Posts: 10,669
Default

Yeah, preset management kinda only exists in its simplest form in Reaper.

+1 for advances in GUI and features there.
__________________
Dialogue/FX Editor & Re-Recording Mixer
(Video)Using Latch Preview - Faderport16 CSI
"My ego comes pre-shrunk" - Randy Thom
airon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2014, 12:06 PM   #7
Soli Deo Gloria
Human being with feelings
 
Soli Deo Gloria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Posts: 961
Default

Excellent!!! This is really needed!!! If you create a FR in the tracker you should have a good amount of votes...
Soli Deo Gloria is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2014, 01:57 PM   #8
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 19,985
Default

Absolutely. VST management in general is somewhat clumsy. Even if it is usable.
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2014, 05:39 AM   #9
ValeryOrloff
Human being with feelings
 
ValeryOrloff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ukraine
Posts: 290
Default improvements to Media Browser

Absolutely agree!
moreover - extremely need:
Reorder Database Names, Colors, Spacing, Folders!.....QuickSeach....Icons )

http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=136570
http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?p=1336618
ValeryOrloff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2014, 09:50 AM   #10
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 18,361
Default

Yes, preset management needs some love (even though, of course, as pure musicians we spit on presets ).

Now, Reaper presets are stored in .ini files, in the Presets folder in AppData. So they can be easily located / listed / loaded by the Media Explorer.

We will also wish to load VST presets (.fxp or .fxb files) which can be stored almost anywhere (often close to the plug-in itself, but not necessarily). And what about those plug-ins with their own preset filetype (and built-in preset loading? For example, , e.g. Tyrell_N6 with its .h2p presets. Both can be organised into sub-folders.

How will the Media Explorer be able to locate / list / load those presets? Or am I being too ambitious?
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. . . . Inspired by ...
DarkStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2014, 05:42 AM   #11
Ricciardo
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 60
Default

i like the idea, perhaps i would implement it a little bit different
for me, what it needs to be revamped its not the browser it self...
but the plugins presets seccion as well

i think reaper would turn into a beast if it could save files that could play audio and keep information from presets in a single format...

like bitwig or studio one, you can save presets, that contain midi,vst setup and track, all in one, basicly than you can drag and drop from the browser and intanstly have a piece of track complete...

that would be a major enhancement...
Ricciardo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2014, 06:15 AM   #12
syntaxed2
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 35
Default

I agree with you all

I was merely trying to keep the request as simple as possible...just a little bit of code added so we can browse the contents of these .rpl .ini files.

As far as I can see the code is already implemented in the plugin window...considering we can scroll through the list of saved presets...delete and rename.

This code just has to be added to the media browser and tweaked, shouldnt take more than 1 week :P
syntaxed2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2014, 07:13 AM   #13
Lawrence
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 21,554
Default

+1 but I do disagree with that mockup.

Reaper has already split it browsers, has separate media browsers and plugin browers instead of just having one browser that browses everything.

If presets are to be listed in a browser you'd think they'd be listed where the plugins already are, in the FX browser, categorized under the plugins. You select a plug there and you see all of it's presets.

MMV.
Lawrence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2014, 08:49 AM   #14
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 18,361
Default

^^^^
Indeed, "one Browser to rule them all"

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ricciardo View Post
i like the idea, perhaps i would implement it a little bit different
for me, what it needs to be revamped its not the browser it self...
but the plugins presets seccion as well

i think reaper would turn into a beast if it could save files that could play audio and keep information from presets in a single format...

like bitwig or studio one, you can save presets, that contain midi,vst setup and track, all in one, basicly than you can drag and drop from the browser and intanstly have a piece of track complete...

that would be a major enhancement...
Isn't that a Track Template?
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. . . . Inspired by ...
DarkStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2014, 09:56 AM   #15
Lawrence
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 21,554
Default

On the 'constructive criticism' front ... (re: presets) ...

"Save FX Chain" doesn't appear in the context menu on the console...



... which means maybe (unless there is another easy direct way) additional steps to do it from there, opening the other FX window to get to that preset function on another menu in another window.



There also doesn't seem to be a native action for that, although I suspect there might be in an extension somewhere.



Even if there was you'd still need the subjectively unnecessary workflow step of physically selecting the mixer channel first, which often isn't necessary in (some) other consoles having that function on every channel context menu.

Just really small 'general workflow' stuff that can be easily cleaned up.

Last edited by Lawrence; 04-03-2014 at 10:02 AM.
Lawrence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2014, 06:07 AM   #16
VVV
Human being with feelings
 
VVV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: France
Posts: 402
Default

Big +1
VVV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2019, 11:15 AM   #17
urlwolf
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 43
Default

Hello from the Future!
Preset management is not any better now. Anyone knows if reaper 6 plans to catch up? our current preset management is from the 20th century. I should know, I visited last week. If anyone wants to know anything about the future, just ask
urlwolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2020, 03:42 PM   #18
anikabo
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 2
Default

bump!
anikabo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2020, 12:43 AM   #19
jm duchenne
Human being with feelings
 
jm duchenne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: France
Posts: 763
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by anikabo View Post
bump!
I hope too !
jm duchenne is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.