Old 02-08-2008, 10:13 PM   #41
frbisi@yahoo.com
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 9
Default

+1 to that
frbisi@yahoo.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2008, 07:27 PM   #42
mission
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: atlanta
Posts: 99
Default

+1

im guessing this is a priority given the popularity of the format. i hate trying to fit chops in on the mpc and now with the sync, i can rex my vinyl licks up and time it a lot tighter with the beat. i know guys like nym are beasts with samples but not me... im more of a play-it-out guy but i like to incorporate chops now and then.
mission is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2008, 07:36 PM   #43
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 12,288
Default

+1 count me in!

DONE (2.47alpha2)

Last edited by Dstruct; 09-05-2008 at 12:23 AM.
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2008, 08:36 PM   #44
Chroma One
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 12
Default

+1 one more!
Chroma One is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2008, 09:51 AM   #45
undef
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 9
Default

aaaaaaaaaaand +1 again!
undef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2008, 09:37 AM   #46
One flew over
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 130
Default Yes!

+1

(Just a little something to reach the 10 character minimum limit!)
One flew over is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2008, 02:51 PM   #47
labyrinth
Human being with feelings
 
labyrinth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 2,248
Default Definately

This would really help and add the tempo abilities to elastique (elastic...like Cubase and Live).

++1
__________________
www.res-ref.com | Resonant Reflections
iMac 3.2 GHz (i5 4570)/16GB RAM | OSX 10.10 (Yosemite) | Interface: Focusrite 18i6
labyrinth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2008, 02:20 PM   #48
fetidus
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 546
Default

++1, please.
fetidus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2008, 06:19 PM   #49
Argitoth
Human being with feelings
 
Argitoth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 2,055
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sinkmusic View Post
Just a word to remember that the recently freeware ShortCirctuit sampler handles REx files...
Non-freeware LiveSlice handles rex files and is infinitely better for loop slicing than shortcircuit will ever be. (Unless Claes finally decides to start working on his software. Even then... LiveSlice is the best slicing tool available.)

Last edited by Argitoth; 02-22-2008 at 07:09 PM.
Argitoth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2008, 06:23 PM   #50
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 12,288
Default

Any known problems with LiveSlice in Reaper?
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2008, 07:08 PM   #51
Argitoth
Human being with feelings
 
Argitoth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 2,055
Default

Hey GUESS WHAT! I just had a brilliant idea.

Step 1: Load REX into liveslice
Step 2: Save as wav in liveslice
Step 3: Load wav in Reaper

Conclusion: Tempo-synced wave files loadable in Reaper. YES! LiveSlice does save wave files with markers, and Reaper does read that.

I've been using LiveSlice in Reaper, no problem here.

Last edited by Argitoth; 02-22-2008 at 07:12 PM.
Argitoth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2008, 09:13 AM   #52
Argitoth
Human being with feelings
 
Argitoth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 2,055
Default

Ok, I just heard that LiveSlice exports ACIDized waves if anyone is interested in getting an awesome loop slicer instead of waiting for Reaper to have REX2 support. (LiveSlice supports REX)
Argitoth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2008, 07:53 PM   #53
NAS
Human being with feelings
 
NAS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: In church, burning it down
Posts: 1,345
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Argitoth View Post
LiveSlice is the best slicing tool available.)
We'll have to put that down to your opinion there
A lot of DnB and HipHop producers would disagree


NAS
__________________
Not Gods or Saints but HUMAN be
NAS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2008, 08:07 PM   #54
Argitoth
Human being with feelings
 
Argitoth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 2,055
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NAS View Post
We'll have to put that down to your opinion there
A lot of DnB and HipHop producers would disagree


NAS
Name one slicer that some of these so-called producers would favor.
Argitoth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2008, 08:08 PM   #55
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 12,288
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NAS View Post
A lot of DnB and HipHop producers would disagree
why? what's wrong with liveslice?
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2008, 04:45 AM   #56
NAS
Human being with feelings
 
NAS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: In church, burning it down
Posts: 1,345
Default

I didn't say there was anything wrong with it did i ?
I said a lot of producers would disagree that it is the best slicer available
Why are the horses so high ?

If you like it or not the vast majority of DnB and HipHop producers still prefer using Recycle and that doesn't mean using Rex2 either

NAS
__________________
Not Gods or Saints but HUMAN be
NAS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2008, 05:27 AM   #57
Argitoth
Human being with feelings
 
Argitoth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 2,055
Default

Ah, ok, at least now I know these DnB and Hiphop produces you speak of are stupid. I'm not concerned with stupid people who prefer Recycle.
Argitoth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2008, 06:58 AM   #58
syfenx
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4
Default

can't wait, hopefully we will see it soon?

++1
syfenx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2008, 04:56 AM   #59
Hitch
Human being with feelings
 
Hitch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 238
Default

Time for me to get groovy and use internet-speak:

+1
Hitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2008, 06:27 AM   #60
Kainer
Human being with feelings
 
Kainer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Cologne/Bangkok
Posts: 1,258
Default

yes +++1 from me. reaper should handle rex and caf!!!
Kainer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2008, 01:17 AM   #61
xask1968
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: barcelona
Posts: 12
Default REX2 support please

work with REX files, FMO, etc.? when?


Thanks.
xask1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2008, 06:56 AM   #62
sceyefeye
Human being with feelings
 
sceyefeye's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Cape Town
Posts: 327
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xask1968 View Post
work with REX files, FMO, etc.? when?


Thanks.
Taking a cynical tone here, but probably around the same time they give Justin the full Rewire SDK and acknowledge Reaper as a Rewire capable DAW?

Just a guess
sceyefeye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2008, 12:44 AM   #63
boka
Human being with feelings
 
boka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Hungary,Europe
Posts: 800
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Argitoth View Post
Ok, I just heard that LiveSlice exports ACIDized waves if anyone is interested in getting an awesome loop slicer instead of waiting for Reaper to have REX2 support. (LiveSlice supports REX)
I've just read your post on LiveSlice, Argitoth. I will try it but i think this may not be reason to ignore the native REX support FR. I'm planning to summarize all the mentioned features in one post.

/boka
__________________
15" Retina MBP, Adobe CC, UA Apollo

Last edited by boka; 06-25-2008 at 12:46 AM.
boka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2008, 06:06 AM   #64
boka
Human being with feelings
 
boka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Hungary,Europe
Posts: 800
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xask1968 View Post
work with REX files, FMO, etc.? when?


Thanks.
Please use the search function before...at least 3-4 topic have been started on this issue. It's getting more and more confusing having multiple topics on the same issue.
Anyway, you find the REX topic here
http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=21981&page=2

/boka
__________________
15" Retina MBP, Adobe CC, UA Apollo

Last edited by Tallisman; 06-25-2008 at 08:56 AM. Reason: edited link after merging threads. drunk with powa!
boka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2008, 03:20 PM   #65
NAS
Human being with feelings
 
NAS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: In church, burning it down
Posts: 1,345
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Argitoth View Post
Ah, ok, at least now I know these DnB and Hiphop produces you speak of are stupid. I'm not concerned with stupid people who prefer Recycle.
Hmmm what a completly silly statement
You think people who use Recycle are stupid
And you state it with such ferocity
All that does is show your total lack of any knowledge whatsoever really

People use what works well for them simple as that
Your blinkered attitude is funny


NAS
__________________
Not Gods or Saints but HUMAN be
NAS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2008, 12:09 AM   #66
boka
Human being with feelings
 
boka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Hungary,Europe
Posts: 800
Default

hmm... i found something reallly old news but it's interesting. I'm sure most of you alreaday know that, but for those who hasn't heard about this :
" Third-party manufacturers are encouraged to download REX2 developer documentation. Implementing the Propellerheads REX2 file format in other applications or hardware is free of charge. Further information about the REX2 file format is available at www.propellerheads.se/developer "

http://namm.harmony-central.com/WNAM...at-Opened.html


me myself thought that it wasn't open that's why it still hasn't been added to Reaper...



/boka
__________________
15" Retina MBP, Adobe CC, UA Apollo

Last edited by boka; 06-26-2008 at 12:19 AM.
boka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2008, 05:46 AM   #67
boka
Human being with feelings
 
boka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Hungary,Europe
Posts: 800
Default RX2 drag and drop / AUDIO

I'm just thinking of how REX support looked like in Reaper and i have got a couple of ideas. I think i mentioned these ones but let's see (again).

The groove in Recycle looks like this. As sensitivity fader moved there are sort of markers placed where individual sounds start.



If you export this sample as ONE , its just gonna be a simple wav file. There are not any markers that help you on the slices.



So my idea would be when drag and drop REX files on the timeline it would either give us the slices independently according to the Recycle type markers.



Or import on the timeline as ONE item and somehow convert the REX type markers to standard WAV markers.It would be awesome!



Then we can start the slicing in reaper with tab to transient or just as we want...

What do u guys think?

/boka
__________________
15" Retina MBP, Adobe CC, UA Apollo
boka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2008, 06:10 AM   #68
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 10,196
Default

I think that would be pretty cool!
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2008, 07:02 AM   #69
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 12,288
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by boka View Post
I'm just thinking of how REX support looked like in Reaper and i have got a couple of ideas. I think i mentioned these ones but let's see (again).

The groove in Recycle looks like this. As sensitivity fader moved there are sort of markers placed where individual sounds start.



If you export this sample as ONE , its just gonna be a simple wav file. There are not any markers that help you on the slices.



So my idea would be when drag and drop REX files on the timeline it would either give us the slices independently according to the Recycle type markers.



Or import on the timeline as ONE item and somehow convert the REX type markers to standard WAV markers.It would be awesome!



Then we can start the slicing in reaper with tab to transient or just as we want...

What do u guys think?

/boka
Isn't the idea of REX files to automatically align the individual slices to the grid at whatever tempo?

Regarding your second picture: I mean we already have tab to transient. Why do you need to see the slices as markers? I don't really see the use for it.
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2008, 08:06 AM   #70
boka
Human being with feelings
 
boka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Hungary,Europe
Posts: 800
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dandruff View Post
...I mean we already have tab to transient.
Yeah i know thats why I mentioned it

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dandruff View Post
Why do you need to see the slices as markers? I don't really see the use for it.
There are plenty of rex loops having a lot of slices
for instance.


Since the slices are already marked in the rex file i could decide whether make my own slices according to the markers (snap to the wave marker im not sure its available already in Reaper ) or just create something else so you would have the loop as one item, but there would still be guidelines for splitting.


/boka
__________________
15" Retina MBP, Adobe CC, UA Apollo

Last edited by boka; 07-12-2008 at 08:11 AM.
boka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2008, 08:09 AM   #71
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 12,288
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by boka
There are plenty of rex loops having a lot of slices and sometimes its not the easiest to decide where to split.
Ok understood
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2008, 12:26 PM   #72
boka
Human being with feelings
 
boka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Hungary,Europe
Posts: 800
Default REX - midi

You know Recycle is capable of exporting midi file of the groove. (which looks like stairsteps when opened in a midi editor )


Do you think Reaper should deal with the midi part of a REX file? If yes how ? I do not use midi much but im curious what do you think and I'm planning to sum up all the ideas mentioned here and start a new topic and put all the ideas together.


cheers,

boka
__________________
15" Retina MBP, Adobe CC, UA Apollo
boka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2008, 07:28 AM   #73
daverich
Human being with feelings
 
daverich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,605
Default

yes yes!

Kind regards

Dave Rich
__________________
Get access to all my original music as well as videos and free gigs at:-
Patreon.com/daverich
http://www.daverichband.com
daverich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2008, 10:04 AM   #74
Tallisman
Human being with feelings
 
Tallisman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: in the middle of the icecube.
Posts: 7,405
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by boka View Post
You know Recycle is capable of exporting midi file of the groove. (which looks like stairsteps when opened in a midi editor )


Do you think Reaper should deal with the midi part of a REX file? If yes how ? I do not use midi much but im curious what do you think and I'm planning to sum up all the ideas mentioned here and start a new topic and put all the ideas together.


cheers,

boka
I think that rex support should handle the rex file as an entity, with an option to explode a midi item from it, and the option to capture a groove from it for groove quantize crud.

.t
__________________
.t

_____________________________
http://jomei.bandcamp.com <--My Middle Son.

http://tallisman.bandcamp.com <--Me.

"Excuse me. Could you please point me in the direction of the self-help section?"
Tallisman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2008, 11:15 AM   #75
gofer
-blänk-
 
gofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 11,154
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tallisman View Post
and the option to capture a groove from it for groove quantize crud.

.t
Very good point. +1

Frank
gofer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2008, 11:07 PM   #76
boka
Human being with feelings
 
boka's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Hungary,Europe
Posts: 800
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tallisman View Post
I think that rex support should handle the rex file as an entity, with an option to explode a midi item from it, and the option to capture a groove from it for groove quantize crud.

.t
Wicked! Do you mean that if a REX is imported then it is gonna be something like a compound (consits of both audio/midi) item then you can get the midi out of it by selecting explode midi item ? Did I understand you well?

Thanks,

boka
__________________
15" Retina MBP, Adobe CC, UA Apollo
boka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2008, 11:00 AM   #77
Jason Brian Merrill
Human being with feelings
 
Jason Brian Merrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Northeastern PA, USA
Posts: 20,833
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by boka View Post
I'm just thinking of how REX support looked like in Reaper and i have got a couple of ideas. I think i mentioned these ones but let's see (again).

The groove in Recycle looks like this. As sensitivity fader moved there are sort of markers placed where individual sounds start.



If you export this sample as ONE , its just gonna be a simple wav file. There are not any markers that help you on the slices.



So my idea would be when drag and drop REX files on the timeline it would either give us the slices independently according to the Recycle type markers.



Or import on the timeline as ONE item and somehow convert the REX type markers to standard WAV markers.It would be awesome!



Then we can start the slicing in reaper with tab to transient or just as we want...

What do u guys think?

/boka
++++++++++++++++++1
__________________
Beliefs do not require respect. People do.
Jason Brian Merrill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2008, 01:26 PM   #78
Tallisman
Human being with feelings
 
Tallisman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: in the middle of the icecube.
Posts: 7,405
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by boka View Post
Wicked! Do you mean that if a REX is imported then it is gonna be something like a compound (consits of both audio/midi) item then you can get the midi out of it by selecting explode midi item ? Did I understand you well?

Thanks,

boka
but I am no one! You understood me exactly right, but it is just an idea - hopefully one that cockos loves and runs with.

.t
__________________
.t

_____________________________
http://jomei.bandcamp.com <--My Middle Son.

http://tallisman.bandcamp.com <--Me.

"Excuse me. Could you please point me in the direction of the self-help section?"
Tallisman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2008, 01:36 PM   #79
Tallisman
Human being with feelings
 
Tallisman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: in the middle of the icecube.
Posts: 7,405
Default

for cockos:
http://www.propellerheads.se/develop...e=rextechinfo2


.t
__________________
.t

_____________________________
http://jomei.bandcamp.com <--My Middle Son.

http://tallisman.bandcamp.com <--Me.

"Excuse me. Could you please point me in the direction of the self-help section?"
Tallisman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2008, 01:37 PM   #80
beatbybit
Human being with feelings
 
beatbybit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Hungary
Posts: 3,129
Default

here's my +1 for it,


as the 11.000th visitor of this Thread..



__________________
panda in the desert
beatbybit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.