Old 05-25-2019, 05:12 AM   #1
Retro Audio Enthusiast
Human being with feelings
 
Retro Audio Enthusiast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 380
Default Auto-generate tempo map from acoustic guitar track?

What programs/plugins can auto generate a tempo map from just an acoustic guitar track?

I don't want to have to do it manually or buy Melodyne Studio just for the tempo map feature.

Thanks in advance.
__________________
REAPER License Holder
Retro Audio Enthusiast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2019, 08:12 AM   #2
foxAsteria
Human being with feelings
 
foxAsteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Axis Mundi
Posts: 6,296
Default

It only takes a few minutes to do it manually. Check out the SWS move grid actions. You can just point your mouse where each measure should start and run the action. Automated processes usually need to be double checked for mistakes anyhow.

Make sure you are in time timebase first or the audio will try to follow the tempo changes (project settings).

If the guitar was recorded to a click, you can just use the tempo detect action with a measure-long time selection to determine the correct tempo.

Also, Melodyne is half off at Plugin boutique rn
__________________
TwilightMysterySchool

Last edited by foxAsteria; 05-25-2019 at 09:22 AM.
foxAsteria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2019, 07:16 PM   #3
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 14,512
Default

what is the tempo map feature in melodyne?
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2019, 08:24 PM   #4
Tomm
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,154
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hopi View Post
what is the tempo map feature in melodyne?
melodyne has a feature which attempts to create a tempo map, which can then be imported back into a DAW directly or as MIDI



I'd also love to now if there is a good freeware version of this type of thing, but I agree for a lot of situations just tapping out a click track by audio or midi and then having the reaper script generate a tempo map using that (for tempo changes every measure) is pretty easy

for more accuracy though if you wanna quantize MIDI super tight alongside the fixed audio performance you really do need to spend time nudging those tempo maps. Also easy with the SWS stuff, but pretty time consuming... especially with time signature changes throughout
Tomm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2019, 04:25 AM   #5
Retro Audio Enthusiast
Human being with feelings
 
Retro Audio Enthusiast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 380
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by foxAsteria View Post
It only takes a few minutes to do it manually.
Thanks for your reply fox but I'm not interested in doing it manually or using Melodyne. Thanks anyway, I appreciate the help.



Quote:
Originally Posted by hopi View Post
what is the tempo map feature in melodyne?
Quote:
Also, Melodyne is half off at Plugin boutique rn
This feature is only available in the Studio version, not Essential version (which is the one on sale). I already own Melodyne Essential.


The idea is to take a song demo recorded with acoustic guitar and vocals and then get an auto-tempo map so I can *exactly* match up a midi drum track to the song with all the organic human timing nuances perfectly mapped.

It seems the full Studio version of Melodyne is the only way and for just that one feature, I'm not prepared to pay €699 / £616 / $783.

There has to be some other plugin or app somewhere that does this? It's too common a feature not to.
__________________
REAPER License Holder
Retro Audio Enthusiast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2019, 06:44 AM   #6
jrk
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 584
Default

What I've done in the past is use Audacity - one of the VAMP plugins - to generate a bunch of tempo labels, save that out as a file, tweak it a bit so they look like tempo markers and import it into Reaper.

If anyone could figure out how to host the VAMP plugins in Reaper that would be magic.
__________________
it's meant to sound like that...
jrk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2019, 06:04 PM   #7
Tomm
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,154
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro Audio Enthusiast View Post
There has to be some other plugin or app somewhere that does this? It's too common a feature not to.
Well there is Beat Detective in Pro Tools but that's not free, which is what we're talking about.

The problem is, I don't think there is any auto-tempo map feature that works perfectly, so you end up having to manually edit things anyways, so might as well just do the whole thing manually. The SWS addon really makes it easy, in some ways easier than other DAWs that have similar features natively. Producers out there aren't just hitting a button and everything just syncs perfectly, they have guys sitting in editing rooms for days just tweaking this kinda shit (or just re-record the damn thing to a click or hire better session musicians)
Tomm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2019, 06:14 PM   #8
dug dog
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,025
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tomm View Post
I don't think there is any auto-tempo map feature that works perfectly, so you end up having to manually edit things anyways,
This has certainly been my experience with the tempo mapping function in Superior Drummer 3.
I've mucked about with different methods in Reaper and I favour this one:

https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=204299
dug dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2019, 09:32 PM   #9
MusoBob
Human being with feelings
 
MusoBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 804
Default

Try Sonic Visualizer you can export the tempo map as a txt or csv File > Export Annotation Layer
https://www.sonicvisualiser.org/

I just made a script to get the chords from audio then import that into Reaper's regions from Sonic Visualiser using Chordino,
so should be able to change it to tempo markers.



txt
Code:
0.000000000	123.047	123.05 bpm
11.888616780	120.185	120.19 bpm
16.346848073	123.047	123.05 bpm
28.235464853	120.185	120.19 bpm
29.721541950	123.047	123.05 bpm
31.207619048	120.185	120.19 bpm
32.693696145	123.047	123.05 bpm
38.638004535	120.185	120.19 bpm
40.124081633	123.047	123.05 bpm
44.582312925	120.185	120.19 bpm
47.554467120	123.047	123.05 bpm
52.012698413	120.185	120.19 bpm
56.470929705	123.047	123.05 bpm
69.845623583	120.185	120.19 bpm
71.331700680	123.047	123.05 bpm
75.789931973	120.185	120.19 bpm
77.276009070	123.047	123.05 bpm
78.762086168	120.185	120.19 bpm
.....
.....
or csv
Code:
0.000000000,123.047,123.05 bpm
11.888616780,120.185,120.19 bpm
16.346848073,123.047,123.05 bpm
28.235464853,120.185,120.19 bpm
29.721541950,123.047,123.05 bpm
31.207619048,120.185,120.19 bpm
32.693696145,123.047,123.05 bpm
38.638004535,120.185,120.19 bpm
40.124081633,123.047,123.05 bpm
44.582312925,120.185,120.19 bpm
47.554467120,123.047,123.05 bpm
52.012698413,120.185,120.19 bpm
56.470929705,123.047,123.05 bpm
69.845623583,120.185,120.19 bpm
71.331700680,123.047,123.05 bpm
75.789931973,120.185,120.19 bpm
77.276009070,123.047,123.05 bpm
78.762086168,120.185,120.19 bpm
80.248163265,123.047,123.05 bpm
92.136780045,120.185,120.19 bpm
96.595011338,123.047,123.05 bpm
99.567165533,120.185,120.19 bpm
104.025396825,123.047,123.05 bpm
....
....
__________________
ReaTrakStudio Chord Track for Reaper forum
www.reatrak.com

Last edited by MusoBob; 05-26-2019 at 10:32 PM.
MusoBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2019, 10:20 PM   #10
MusoBob
Human being with feelings
 
MusoBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 804
Default

Try this right click Save Link/Target As
ReaTrak sonic visualiser tempo map.lua

it will also snap the tempo markers to the grid.

EDIT: this should work better see more info below in other post
ReaTrak sonic visualiser import bars or beats.lua

If you want to fit other tracks with a constant tempo to the guitar like drums you can use this script to fit them
ReaTrak set item bpm to fit tempo map.lua

You can also quantize the guitar

1. Set Project Tempo.
2. Grouped all tracks.
3. Create an Action Hotkey to move to next beat and insert Stretch Marker.
4. View show Master Track.
5. Right click on Tempo points > select all
6. Right click on Tempo points > reset points to zero/center
7. Highlight from start to end.
5. Item > Snap Stretch Markers within time selection to grid.
__________________
ReaTrakStudio Chord Track for Reaper forum
www.reatrak.com

Last edited by MusoBob; 05-29-2019 at 04:01 AM.
MusoBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2019, 08:00 AM   #11
S.L.I.P.
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 22
Default

You can download a free 30 trial of Melodyne Studio:

https://www.celemony.com/en/trial
S.L.I.P. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2019, 08:30 AM   #12
jrk
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 584
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MusoBob View Post
Try this right click Save Link/Target As
ReaTrak sonic visualiser tempo map.lua

Excellent!

I might have a go at hacking that to handle the labels file spat out by Audacity - the format's a little different, but it's also using the Queen Mary vamp plugins.
__________________
it's meant to sound like that...
jrk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2019, 01:59 AM   #13
MusoBob
Human being with feelings
 
MusoBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 804
Default

Let me know how these work.



Audacity load your audio file
Analyze > Add Remove > Enable Tempo and Beat Tracker: Beat Count
Analyze > Tempo and Beat Tracker: Beat Count
File > Export > Labels


Sonic Visualiser load your audio file
Transform > Category > Time > Tempo and Beat Tracker: Beat Count (or Bars)
File > Export Annotation Layer txt or csv
https://www.sonicvisualiser.org/ Win/Lin/Mac

right click Save Link/Target As

ReaTrak audacity import bars or beats.lua

ReaTrak sonic visualiser import bars or beats.lua

I'll do a chord one for Audacity also.

Thanks again to X-Raym Donation for Import markers and regions from tab-delimited CSV-TXT file.lua

The script will ask if you want to set the bar 1 start marker,
in the pic of a drum track bar 1 starts on marker 6

__________________
ReaTrakStudio Chord Track for Reaper forum
www.reatrak.com

Last edited by MusoBob; 05-29-2019 at 03:55 AM.
MusoBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2019, 03:52 AM   #14
MusoBob
Human being with feelings
 
MusoBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 804
Default

Audacity load your audio file
Analyze > Add Remove > Enable Chordino: Chord Estimate
Analyze > Chordino: Chord Estimate
File > Export > Labels

Chordino Vamp Plugin
http://www.isophonics.net/nnls-chroma


right click Save Link/Target As

ReaTrak audacity chordino chords to regions.lua



__________________
ReaTrakStudio Chord Track for Reaper forum
www.reatrak.com
MusoBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2019, 09:27 AM   #15
jrk
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 584
Default

Nice one MusoBob! And thanks.

Can confirm both these scripts for the audacity bar & chord labels work just as you'd want.
The chords feature isn't so useful to me - I need my regions.

Bars allows a tempo map to be generated in seconds. I'm sure the Sonic visualiser trick works just as well.
And I've spent a fair bit of time manually mapping stuff.

FWIW I'd recommend this method over any manual one for most jobs.

Again, thanks.
__________________
it's meant to sound like that...
jrk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2019, 09:53 AM   #16
jrk
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 584
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jrk View Post
most jobs.
but watch out for partial bars / time sig changes, obv.
__________________
it's meant to sound like that...
jrk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2019, 10:52 AM   #17
MusoBob
Human being with feelings
 
MusoBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 804
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jrk View Post
..
The chords feature isn't so useful to me - I need my regions....
In ReaTrak I made it so you have your chord track regions that ReaTrak reads for all the functions but if you drag track 1 down it
will give you more region lanes so you can add regions under the chord track using the prefix "@" in the region name it will be ignored.

Thanks for trying them out.
__________________
ReaTrakStudio Chord Track for Reaper forum
www.reatrak.com
MusoBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2019, 01:45 PM   #18
jrk
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 584
Default

I wonder how the OP is getting on with the acoustic track?
__________________
it's meant to sound like that...
jrk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2019, 02:32 PM   #19
MusoBob
Human being with feelings
 
MusoBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 804
Default

It worked good with the guitar strumming track I tried.
__________________
ReaTrakStudio Chord Track for Reaper forum
www.reatrak.com
MusoBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2019, 12:48 PM   #20
Retro Audio Enthusiast
Human being with feelings
 
Retro Audio Enthusiast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 380
Default

Thanks for the replies! I just got back off holiday.
__________________
REAPER License Holder
Retro Audio Enthusiast is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.