Old 04-22-2015, 10:52 AM   #1
3li
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 5
Default NOOB NEEDS HELP!!

I need to know where I am going wrong. Hopefully I am posting in the right place.
Here is what I have;
a small Asus laptop
a Maudio Fast track USB interface
a TON of VSTs
a Guitar

I have successfully connected the guitar to the interface and then to the laptop. I can play through the laptop. But Reaper is not recognizing the signal. I am unable to use any VSTs. And I can NOT record the signal. In the same configuration I can record to Audacity but Audacity does Not support VSTs. What am I doing wrong!?
3li is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2015, 11:45 AM   #2
Grisemine
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 99
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3li View Post
I need to know where I am going wrong. Hopefully I am posting in the right place.
Here is what I have;
a small Asus laptop
a Maudio Fast track USB interface
a TON of VSTs
a Guitar

I have successfully connected the guitar to the interface and then to the laptop. I can play through the laptop. But Reaper is not recognizing the signal. I am unable to use any VSTs. And I can NOT record the signal. In the same configuration I can record to Audacity but Audacity does Not support VSTs. What am I doing wrong!?
You need to select "Mono -> Fast Track Right" as input
You need to "arm" for recording
You need to set Record Monitoring On

http://i59.tinypic.com/2hs8e11.gif

Last edited by Grisemine; 04-22-2015 at 11:52 AM.
Grisemine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2015, 11:55 AM   #3
3li
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 5
Default

I set my input to Asio and selected M audio. Armed to record and monitor on. Still I only get a "dry signal" and no recording. My interface get a LOUD hiss when turned up near half way
3li is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2015, 03:30 PM   #4
bluzkat
Human being with feelings
 
bluzkat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 6,919
Default

Right-click the RecArm button and select 'Record Output'.


Enjoy.


__________________
Peace...
bluzkat
bluzkat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2015, 06:23 PM   #5
3li
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 5
Default

NOPE!And now I cant even get sound. I give up, Im going to reformat my computer. This program in my eyes is worthless. I have downloaded special programs. Invested in interfaces and this program that I need let me down. I can say this because the setup I have works fine on other software but not here.
3li is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2015, 12:43 AM   #6
RobertP
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Norfolk UK
Posts: 814
Default

I assume you enabled inputs and outputs in reaper Options > Preferences > Devices

You are giving up too early
Reformating is a catastrophic reaction in this situation
and this program is definately not worthless as evidenced by the sheer number of people who are not clamouring for attention with the same problem you are having.

Your investment is a solid one, stick with it
__________________
Windows 7 Pro. Intel i7 3400ghz. 16GB Ram. Focusrite Scarlett 8i6. Reaper 64.

suleiman: "WTF r u ppl on abt ?"
RobertP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2015, 12:57 AM   #7
whiteaxxxe
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: United States of Europe, Germany, M÷nchengladbach
Posts: 2,047
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3li View Post
NOPE!And now I cant even get sound. I give up, Im going to reformat my computer. This program in my eyes is worthless. I have downloaded special programs. Invested in interfaces and this program that I need let me down. I can say this because the setup I have works fine on other software but not here.
that is the right decision! 100thousands of people have no problems recording with Reaper, you have, so you blame the software.

what funny conclusion is that?? first thing is to assume, that you did something wrong. your interface hisses, means: audio comes out of it. so the question should be: whats wrong with the interface or me setting up the interface??? has nothing to do with Reaper ...

and reformatting a computer because you cant get an interface to work is ... well ... not that birght, to say the least. because it helps with none of your problems.

but, hey, you can do what you want ...
whiteaxxxe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2015, 02:02 PM   #8
cincikat69
Human being with feelings
 
cincikat69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Cincinnati area...
Posts: 632
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3li View Post
I can say this because the setup I have works fine on other software but not here.
So, you've had it a couple of days and this makes you the definitive expert... I'm curious to know what other software you are referring to?

Stop throwing a tantrum, take 20-30 minutes and go through the quick-start guide (at least). Follow through the steps and see where you are then. If you still have issues after doing your due diligence, then come back and explain further. Or perhaps just use one of the "working softwares" you vaguely refer to.

I'm hoping that you are not just another of the "button-tapping-instant-gratification-app" generation...
__________________
Theme Website
cincikat69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2015, 03:12 AM   #9
Grisemine
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 99
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3li View Post
NOPE!And now I cant even get sound. I give up, Im going to reformat my computer. This program in my eyes is worthless. I have downloaded special programs. Invested in interfaces and this program that I need let me down. I can say this because the setup I have works fine on other software but not here.
My guess : iPhone generation ? Just reformat your brain, it would be enough.
Grisemine is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.