Old 05-01-2019, 11:28 AM   #1
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 7,168
Default Lowpass and transient plugin in one ?

I'm finding that when I trying to adjust the sound of a Shaker that I'm often removing attack and also high frequencies. Is there a plug-in that I can drag around in two dimensions to adjust varying amounts of both?

So if I dragged vertically I'm adjusting the low-pass and if I dragged horizontally I'm adjusting the transient attack. That way I could just drag the mouse around in a circle and find out where the sweet spot is for both parameters. Anyone else have some ideas on an easy way to accomplish this? Thanks in advance
Coachz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2019, 02:38 AM   #2
SaulT
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 766
Default

So I know this request is over two months old, but here's a response.

Your question inspired me to create a plugin that basically does what you wanted - an X-Y grid with attack on the horizontal and lowpass on the vertical. There's a slider for resonance (the Q of the lowpass) and a slider for transient sustain.

Feedback is welcome, this is my first real plugin that I've written in forever and it's got a GUI and everything, I feel so fancy. Sounds pretty good with mid-tempo mixes and a few drumloops, so I'm calling it ready for release.

edit: a few bugfixes and dialed back the gains


https://stash.reaper.fm/v/36681/translow.txt

Last edited by SaulT; 07-08-2019 at 03:40 PM.
SaulT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2019, 04:49 AM   #3
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 7,168
Default

Awesome! Will try it and report back.
Coachz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2019, 10:54 AM   #4
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 7,168
Default

I tried it in the attached project but I can't get a default setting where there is no effect. This is a simple bottle hit. Please check it out with the plugin in bypassed. Thanks !

https://www.dropbox.com/s/hw37g78bc8...ztemp.zip?dl=0
Coachz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2019, 03:42 PM   #5
SaulT
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 766
Default

New version uploaded, replace and reload the effect. Move the red circle around, even after dialing the gains back a little the effect should still be pretty noticeable.
SaulT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2019, 04:35 AM   #6
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 7,168
Default

The new version won't load and coincidentally I ended up back in evaluation mode. Oddness here.
Coachz is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.