Old 11-12-2018, 06:21 AM   #1
Tim Rideout
Human being with feelings
 
Tim Rideout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 194
Default Reaper's strange approach to Timecode with Wildcards

Hi All,

I am trying to render multiple sections of video for a client using Reaper's rendering wildcard variable to append the timecode of the sections.

The problem is, the timecode of the wildcard is NOT the timecode I see on the timeline. For example:

My timecode at start of selection for render: 16:19:06:00
Reaper $Start wildcard timecode: 16-20-04.746

Same thing when I use the $minute $second variables.

Can someone enlighten me on this?
__________________
---
www.TimRideout.com
Tim Rideout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2018, 06:29 AM   #2
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 9,700
Default

If you're looking for a wildcard that uses hours:minutes:seconds:frames format, there isn't one currently, unfortunately. The $start and $end wildcards will always be in hour-minute-second.thousandths format. The $hour, $minute, $second wildcards are for the time of day, not the timeline time.

Last edited by schwa; 11-17-2018 at 12:36 PM.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2018, 07:12 AM   #3
Tim Rideout
Human being with feelings
 
Tim Rideout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 194
Default

But this is what I don't understand - if my timecode in Reaper is 09-59-00sec, why is the $Start wildcard giving me 09-59-35sec?

Check out the attached screencap...
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Reaper-TC1 (Custom) (Custom).jpg (59.3 KB, 23 views)
__________________
---
www.TimRideout.com
Tim Rideout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2018, 05:02 AM   #4
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 9,700
Default

I can't seem to reproduce this. Could you attach your .RPP or email it to support at cockos? We don't need any of the media, just the .RPP file.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2018, 08:04 AM   #5
Tim Rideout
Human being with feelings
 
Tim Rideout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 194
Default

Thank you Schwa! It happens with any New project I create - here is one, attached.
Attached Files
File Type: rpp Timecode Test.rpp (5.8 KB, 9 views)
__________________
---
www.TimRideout.com
Tim Rideout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2018, 10:31 AM   #6
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 9,700
Default

Ah, sorry, it's because the project uses a 23.976 frame rate. At 23.976, frame 16:19:06:00 falls at time location 16:20:04.746.

What's needed, I suppose, is $timecodestart and $timecodeend wildcards.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.