Old 01-20-2015, 05:16 AM   #1
spk77
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Finland
Posts: 2,488
Default EEL: Create stretch markers from MIDI notes

I hope this works:
  • open a MIDI take in MIDI editor (or use in-line MIDI editor)
  • select a target take
  • run the script
  • (note: it removes all existing stretch markers from the target take)



Download "Convert MIDI notes to stretch markers":
https://stash.reaper.fm/22978/Convert...%20markers.eel
spk77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2015, 04:05 PM   #2
spk77
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Finland
Posts: 2,488
Default

  • added "guide messages" - it's very very polite now
  • stretch markers are now added to the "visible area" of a target audio take



Download from the post#1.

Last edited by spk77; 01-20-2015 at 04:15 PM.
spk77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2015, 01:47 AM   #3
beingmf
Human being with feelings
 
beingmf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Jazz City
Posts: 3,834
Default

Killer! Thank you so much spk!

__________________
Windows 7x64 SP1 | NVidia Quadro2000, 10.18.13.6191 | Marian Seraph AD2, 4.0.2.1
Experience the Blunzeworscht!
beingmf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2015, 02:01 PM   #4
spk77
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Finland
Posts: 2,488
Default

Holy very very polite script, Batman!
spk77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2015, 01:36 AM   #5
SmajjL
Human being with feelings
 
SmajjL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,889
Default

spk77.. i could hug you in public..
Thank you very much!!
SmajjL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2015, 03:07 AM   #6
spk77
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Finland
Posts: 2,488
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SmajjL View Post
spk77.. i could hug you in public..
Thank you very much!!
Awww...thanks, I hope it will be useful
spk77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2015, 04:16 AM   #7
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4,692
Default

Very interesting but can someone please tell me how this could be useful in any way ?
You may call me blind :0)
vanhaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2015, 04:29 AM   #8
SmajjL
Human being with feelings
 
SmajjL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,889
Default

When you've got a song that is drifting like nobody's bussiness from start to end this helps me since using sensitive drumpads are nicer then keys.
I don't even need perfection, so I just speed up the tempo like twice++ and tap since i don't need on every beat for this purpose, 1-2-3-bam!1-2-3-bam!
Using analyze\detect add stretch and then quantize to some clever grid is something i have yet to master when it comes to pain in the blip! trift songs i wanna play with 'remix'.

I am hoping there is some cleverness i am missing out on since it's proven that stuff like this can be automated pretty successfully without a headache.
Reaper have the tools, curious what is missing to accomplish this because it's not fun at all doing this manualy.
The good news would be that Reaper has laughed at me every single time ive got a problem that seems tricky and then *doh..
The secret might be patented, donno..
Feel free to enlighten me.
SmajjL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2015, 06:51 AM   #9
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 13,627
Default

spk.... nice but.. for me it does not seem to work from the Inline Editor...

when I try that it wants me first open the midi in the normal MIDI Editor.

what am I doing wrong?
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2015, 08:53 AM   #10
SmajjL
Human being with feelings
 
SmajjL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,889
Default

Ah yes hopi, confirmed, if the slippery .eel is messing with you, remove the action and add it again, seems to work, no need to restart or anything.
Latest Reaper and SWS pre here, no clue why\when though, yet.
So yes, double click the midi and leave open and then select the audio file and run the .eel.

Last edited by SmajjL; 07-23-2015 at 08:59 AM.
SmajjL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2015, 10:02 AM   #11
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 13,627
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SmajjL View Post
Ah yes hopi, confirmed, if the slippery .eel is messing with you, remove the action and add it again, seems to work, no need to restart or anything.
Latest Reaper and SWS pre here, no clue why\when though, yet.
So yes, double click the midi and leave open and then select the audio file and run the .eel.
yes thanks.... I know it does work ok that way... but spk says in the top post that it works with the Inline Editor or the Midi Editor

so it seems that IF the Inline Ed. would work that would be much more expedient... however the Inline Ed. simply does not work for me. I guess spk will notice this by and by and have a comment.
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2015, 10:21 AM   #12
SmajjL
Human being with feelings
 
SmajjL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,889
Default

SmajjL at your service, sir!
Yeah well, I'm sure spk can sort you out in no time.

Ps, spk, what i said still stands but don't cancel your vacation for my sake, i'm cool.
SmajjL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2015, 01:47 PM   #13
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4,692
Default Disco tracks in the mix !

I used to use Ableton Live to warp old disco tracks, which was very tedious work and took
alot of time to align those unsteady disco tracks to Grid.

Now, with this script, warping old disco tracks is way more comfortable and it works great !

Lemme explain my workflow:

1) Import a disco track on a Track

2) Insert Reagate plugin on this track, and make sure it only opens on every 1/4.

3) Activate the midi note send option in Reagate

4) Create a new track. On this track we are gonna record the midi notes, created by Reagate.

5) Route the disco Track to this new track, disable audio in the routing.

6) Record enable the "midi track"

7) Play the disco track and tap along as good as possible, using the amazing X-Raym Tap Tempo script.
Look at the average tap value and fill that value in, in the transport BPM field, make sure
the cursor is at the beginning of the disco track when you so this.

8) Go to the start of the disco Track and go in Record mode.
Midi notes will now be recorded on every beat (1/4)

9) When done recording, open the recorded midi item in Midi Editor.

10) Select the disco Track in Arrange view
11 ) Apply SPK77 script : convert midi notes to stretchmarkers.
Like magic: stretchmarkers will appear in the disco track !!!

12) In Arrange view, set Grid to 1/4

13) Execute Action: "Item: set stretchmarkers to grid"
So now, the disco track will be aligned to grid and will play in sync with Reaper , voila !!!!!

Ok, seems alot of steps and even more tedious than doing it in Ableton Live, but believe me, it isnt.
Just get the hang of this workflow, practise it a few times.

You will notice in the end that this just works fantastic and is way less tedious than in Ableton live: manually setting a warp marker on each 1/4.

This script from spk77 is really, really awesome !
vanhaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2015, 06:31 AM   #14
The-Zeronaut
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 209
Default

Would it be possible to do the opposite?

Convert Stretch markers to a midi note
The-Zeronaut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2015, 06:32 AM   #15
G-Sun
Human being with feelings
 
G-Sun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Norway
Posts: 7,157
Default

tHANKS!
__________________
Reaper x64, win 8.1
G-Sun.no - Music Blog - My music
G-Sun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2018, 10:23 AM   #16
DreamDisease
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 49
Default

Hi, sorry to bump an old thread, but I love this and I'm using it and wondering if there's a way to ALIGN the stretch markers to the midi notes?

Like for a vocal, you create the stretch markers from MIDI, and set them to where each of the words actually start (by accident), and then run a script to snap them to the beginnings of the notes they were made from.

Thanks!
DreamDisease is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2018, 02:31 AM   #17
Dhawal Tandon
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Mumbai , India
Posts: 1
Default

This script is very useful
Thank you
Dhawal Tandon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2018, 06:03 AM   #18
bhuether
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 44
Default

When going from markers to MIDI notes, any way to add option so that the MIDI note lengths are equal to the spacing between successive markers?

thanks, Brian

Last edited by bhuether; 12-03-2018 at 08:00 AM.
bhuether is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2018, 04:31 PM   #19
Vagelis
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Larisa, Greece
Posts: 106
Default

Useful script thanks!
Vagelis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2018, 03:58 AM   #20
Eliseat
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Cologne
Posts: 620
Default

Exactly what I was looking for.

Many thanks
Eliseat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.