Old 05-03-2021, 01:51 PM   #1
o_e
Human being with feelings
 
o_e's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 554
Default Fans running high

Hi,

I'am working on a Macbook Pro 2019, MacOS Mojave, latest Reaper.
The performance meter shows very little activity.
The activity monitor also shows not so much activity
(the book has 8 cores, i9 processor)
But the fans running high (and making a lot of noise)
Does by chance anyone has a tip on that issue or do I have to live with it?

Thanks!



o_e is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2021, 01:45 AM   #2
o_e
Human being with feelings
 
o_e's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 554
Default

is it possible for example to spread the processor load to more cores? I assume, that only one core is invoked and getting hot.
It could'nt be normal, that such a powerful machine is running hot from so little usage.

I would be greatful for comments..

Thanks!
o_e is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2021, 02:09 AM   #3
Vasily
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Ukraine
Posts: 146
Default

I'm afraid, this is normal. I have a 2020 i5 Air which failed to be a recording machine because of same thing. I just use my ThinkPad, not it.

if you're mixing, not recording, a much larger buffer size may help. or not. real-time audio is not 'small usage', it's a hefty load. and yes, it's not a bug in Reaper, other DAWs do the same.
__________________
Cat's Home
Vasily is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2021, 02:16 AM   #4
Judders
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 10,211
Default

Could be dusty?

https://www.howtogeek.com/358960/how...-your-macbook/
Judders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2021, 02:32 AM   #5
o_e
Human being with feelings
 
o_e's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 554
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Judders View Post
I bought it fall 2020, it seems a bit unlikely to me that there are already lots of dust..
o_e is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2021, 02:34 AM   #6
o_e
Human being with feelings
 
o_e's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 554
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vasily View Post
I'm afraid, this is normal. I have a 2020 i5 Air which failed to be a recording machine because of same thing. I just use my ThinkPad, not it.

if you're mixing, not recording, a much larger buffer size may help. or not. real-time audio is not 'small usage', it's a hefty load. and yes, it's not a bug in Reaper, other DAWs do the same.
I'am mainly mixing, so I will try to increase the buffer size, thanks!
o_e is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2021, 03:04 AM   #7
o_e
Human being with feelings
 
o_e's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 554
Default

Can anyone explain the settings in this preference window?
What means Thread priority and what means Behaviour?
And does it make sense to set the 'Anticipative FX Processing' higher then the default value?

thanks!

o_e is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2021, 03:12 AM   #8
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 5,208
Default

I switched from macbook pro retina to 2015 to macmini 2018, due to constant fans activity in Reaper Projects, with even little CPU strain going on in those Projects.
During summers, the macbook just ran to hot and CPU throttling took place alot.
Unworkable, It drove me crazy.

Sorry to say but Macbooks arent built for proper cooling.
The macmini 2018 is the best buy in years for me.
__________________
Reaper - OSX (always latest version)
OSX Catalina (always latest version)
My Reaper Tips&Tricks: https://www.youtube.com/user/vanhaze2000/playlists
vanhaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2021, 06:47 AM   #9
foxAsteria
Human being with feelings
 
foxAsteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Oblivion
Posts: 8,017
Default

Got cats? Only takes a few cat hairs to start trapping wads of dust in the heatsink.
__________________
My Wyyyrd Music
foxAsteria is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2021, 06:49 AM   #10
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 5,208
Default

No cats, no other hairy pets.
I kept the macbook insides always very clean.
__________________
Reaper - OSX (always latest version)
OSX Catalina (always latest version)
My Reaper Tips&Tricks: https://www.youtube.com/user/vanhaze2000/playlists
vanhaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2021, 06:52 AM   #11
foxAsteria
Human being with feelings
 
foxAsteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Oblivion
Posts: 8,017
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by o_e View Post
is it possible for example to spread the processor load to more cores?
If there's too much general activity on the first core, you can tell Reaper not to use it: prefs/general/advanced ui/restrict cpu/remove "0" from the list
__________________
My Wyyyrd Music
foxAsteria is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2021, 08:38 AM   #12
o_e
Human being with feelings
 
o_e's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 554
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by foxAsteria View Post
If there's too much general activity on the first core, you can tell Reaper not to use it: prefs/general/advanced ui/restrict cpu/remove "0" from the list
I can not find it:

o_e is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2021, 01:12 PM   #13
Judders
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 10,211
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by foxAsteria View Post
Got cats? Only takes a few cat hairs to start trapping wads of dust in the heatsink.
Or is it a smoking household? Before I gave up I had an iMac that was full of ash.
Judders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2021, 02:32 PM   #14
o_e
Human being with feelings
 
o_e's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 554
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Judders View Post
Or is it a smoking household? Before I gave up I had an iMac that was full of ash.
Nope. Non-smoker :-)
o_e is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2021, 04:28 PM   #15
foxAsteria
Human being with feelings
 
foxAsteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Oblivion
Posts: 8,017
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by o_e View Post
I can not find it:
Windows only, apparently. Sorry Idk much about Macs but I'd imagine there's some way outside of Reaper then.
__________________
My Wyyyrd Music
foxAsteria is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2021, 03:06 AM   #16
lerian
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 438
Default

Does your lapop have dual video card? Have you enabled "10.14+ dark mode" in options? I found that Reaper uses the discrete video card instead of the embeded one, and usually the discrete one uses more power and fans get louder.

So i disabled the dark mode (also broke my melda plugins, and made midi editor stutter). You can also change the display updates (disable advanced drawing or classic mode), maybe it helps. I also disabled round buttons.

The biggest difference it makes the gswitch utility which lets me chose and lock the video card in use. https://codyschrank.github.io/gSwitch/

Now i can run reaper on the built-in video card with less fan noise, and when needed for other tasks i simply chose "dynamic switching" from the menu in the bar.


Last edited by lerian; 05-05-2021 at 03:20 AM.
lerian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2021, 04:04 AM   #17
o_e
Human being with feelings
 
o_e's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 554
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lerian View Post
Does your lapop have dual video card? Have you enabled "10.14+ dark mode" in options? I found that Reaper uses the discrete video card instead of the embeded one, and usually the discrete one uses more power and fans get louder.

So i disabled the dark mode (also broke my melda plugins, and made midi editor stutter). You can also change the display updates (disable advanced drawing or classic mode), maybe it helps. I also disabled round buttons.

The biggest difference it makes the gswitch utility which lets me chose and lock the video card in use. https://codyschrank.github.io/gSwitch/

Now i can run reaper on the built-in video card with less fan noise, and when needed for other tasks i simply chose "dynamic switching" from the menu in the bar.

Thanks for the tips! Unfortunatly I have an external display in use..
At the moment I have the feeling that certain vsti's are using a lot of cpu (Vienna Instruments), will investigate further..
o_e is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2021, 05:11 AM   #18
Vasily
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Ukraine
Posts: 146
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by o_e View Post
Unfortunatly I have an external display in use..
oh, that loads modern Intel MacBooks very much (and frankly I didn't expect it as well).

when I just connect my 2020 i5 Air to the external display, I get helicopter sounds in the room. and they don't stop until I disconnect from the monitor.

i.e. in this case an external monitor might make more fans' noise than running a DAW.
__________________
Cat's Home
Vasily is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2021, 05:56 AM   #19
lerian
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 438
Default

^ Yes, external display is the main reason your gpu spins the fans.

If you are willing to invest to fix the issue there are some eGPU enclosures on thunderbolt 3 where you can plug an external gpu, and the fan noise will be considerably lower because the pcie GPUs use larger fans that spin at lower speed. An external monitor is nothing for external GPU, so as long as you won't play 3d-heavy games, they run quietly. Of course you can also get a longer tb3 cable and put the box somewhere under your desk, maybe even behind a diy sound absorption panel (or box).

You can find out more on apple website:
https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT208544

Found one compatible on ebay https://www.ebay.com/itm/133746503298?epid=2314802031

Last edited by lerian; 05-05-2021 at 06:49 AM.
lerian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2021, 08:59 AM   #20
o_e
Human being with feelings
 
o_e's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 554
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vasily View Post
oh, that loads modern Intel MacBooks very much (and frankly I didn't expect it as well).

when I just connect my 2020 i5 Air to the external display, I get helicopter sounds in the room. and they don't stop until I disconnect from the monitor.

i.e. in this case an external monitor might make more fans' noise than running a DAW.
Quote:
Originally Posted by lerian View Post
^ Yes, external display is the main reason your gpu spins the fans.

If you are willing to invest to fix the issue there are some eGPU enclosures on thunderbolt 3 where you can plug an external gpu, and the fan noise will be considerably lower because the pcie GPUs use larger fans that spin at lower speed. An external monitor is nothing for external GPU, so as long as you won't play 3d-heavy games, they run quietly. Of course you can also get a longer tb3 cable and put the box somewhere under your desk, maybe even behind a diy sound absorption panel (or box).

You can find out more on apple website:
https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT208544

Found one compatible on ebay https://www.ebay.com/itm/133746503298?epid=2314802031
I'am using an ancient Apple 30' Cinema Display, could be so hard for a todays graphiccard which is capable of 5k..?
And beside Reaper I have zero issues with heat/fans.
When I remember it correctly, using Vienna Ensemble was helping with the
heat problem, I gave it up 'cause it was unconvinient, I have to do some research on the Vienna vsti's which I suspect..
BTW, external gpu's are sold out at the moment..

Last edited by o_e; 05-05-2021 at 09:06 AM.
o_e is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2021, 12:19 PM   #21
o_e
Human being with feelings
 
o_e's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 554
Default

It does not look like as if the discrete graphic card is running hot
(Radeon Pro Vega 20)..?

o_e is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2021, 12:28 PM   #22
lerian
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 438
Default

You can check the load on the GPU if you open Activity Monitor > Window > GPU History (or cmd + 4). Then you can cross-check with the fan activity and see if the fans start to spin faster when gpu is in use. Normally Radeon uses more power and gets hot faster, that's why fans spin to lower the temp.

There are some compatible external GPUs on ebay for sale.

Also, have you tried a SMC reset?
https://purplecomputing.com/tech-how...nt-controller/
lerian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2021, 11:36 AM   #23
o_e
Human being with feelings
 
o_e's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 554
Default

For anyone how is interested, I found a solution which seems to work for me: as shown in this video:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kzqKueUhbKk

the relative new Intel Turbo Boost function can be switched off with this tool:

http://tbswitcher.rugarciap.com/

and that prevent the quick-getting-hot issue at least on my
2019 Macbook Pro (I made a first quick test).
Maybe it also can helps others..?
If I will experience a downside of switching off the Turbo Boost, I will report it here..
o_e is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 04:43 AM   #24
Phazma
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 1,111
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by o_e View Post
For anyone how is interested, I found a solution which seems to work for me: as shown in this video:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kzqKueUhbKk

the relative new Intel Turbo Boost function can be switched off with this tool:

http://tbswitcher.rugarciap.com/

and that prevent the quick-getting-hot issue at least on my
2019 Macbook Pro (I made a first quick test).
Maybe it also can helps others..?
If I will experience a downside of switching off the Turbo Boost, I will report it here..
Thanks for sharing your solution, going to try now. Any drawbacks so far?
My MBP 2015 High Sierra is running up to 90°C and 6100rpm fan speed while even very heavy projects seem to use only around 30% CPU (with some RT spikes around 50%+ CPU tough).
Phazma is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 10:19 AM   #25
o_e
Human being with feelings
 
o_e's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 554
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phazma View Post
Thanks for sharing your solution, going to try now. Any drawbacks so far?
My MBP 2015 High Sierra is running up to 90°C and 6100rpm fan speed while even very heavy projects seem to use only around 30% CPU (with some RT spikes around 50%+ CPU tough).
No drawbacks until now. Temperature is max. around 60° (Celsius), Fans spinning max. 2500 rpm. Wonderful silent!
o_e is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.