Old 05-04-2021, 04:31 AM   #1
VVV
Human being with feelings
 
VVV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: France
Posts: 454
Default KEYSTEP as Master

Did someone managed to get the Arturia KEYSTEP 37 to work as Master and Reaper as a Slave?

I enable "synchronisation to timecode". Used input : MTC Arturia Keystep 37

But Play transport is locked with "Waiting for TC"
VVV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2021, 02:55 PM   #2
domzy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 3,652
Default

does the keystep send MTC?

If not you can try to use MIDI clock (SPP) but results aren't very good, in my experience
domzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2021, 03:01 PM   #3
maxdembo
Human being with feelings
 
maxdembo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: All Hallows End
Posts: 1,089
Default

I had issues with this with my Beatstep Pro. I now have a Keystep 37 too, but I havent tried again.

It was a while ago I tried all this, but from what I could gather, Reaper doesnt like being a slave.

Makes little sense to me and hopefully someone else can chime in with a solution as its one thing that makes me consider a different DAW at times (for the record, Bitwig responded immediately to being slave, no faffing about or errors, just one click and it was set up).
maxdembo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2021, 03:26 PM   #4
domzy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 3,652
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by maxdembo View Post

It was a while ago I tried all this, but from what I could gather, Reaper doesnt like being a slave.
unfortunately, i'd have to agree with this in regards to MIDI clock.
(LTC & MTC work ok for me though.)
domzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2021, 06:14 PM   #5
maxdembo
Human being with feelings
 
maxdembo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: All Hallows End
Posts: 1,089
Default

I have to admit, I dont really understand all the MTC/SPP stuff. I should give it all another go as Arturia's software has probably had an update or two by now.

Last edited by maxdembo; 05-08-2021 at 06:33 PM.
maxdembo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2021, 08:02 AM   #6
LugNut
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: So Florida
Posts: 1,130
Default

Hi,
Except ltc and MTC only are time of day...no tempo information. Midi clock runs at the tempo of the master. Spp is song position pointer...where in the song are we now?
LugNut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2021, 08:05 AM   #7
LugNut
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: So Florida
Posts: 1,130
Default

...reaper will slave to midi clock IF you don't have tempo changes. You put reaper at the expected tempo first. Then enable ext sync to spp/midi clock.
LugNut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2021, 02:04 PM   #8
maxdembo
Human being with feelings
 
maxdembo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: All Hallows End
Posts: 1,089
Default

@lugnut...

Thats likely more info than I understood ever about this I can be very slow in understanding these things. Thanks! I'll try this again in a bit!
maxdembo is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.