Old Today, 06:54 AM   #4961
timbralzoom
Human being with feelings
 
timbralzoom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Turkey/Istanbul
Posts: 1,405
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lb0 View Post
Glad you like it.

It probably works even better for libraries (such as Nebula EQs) - where the Gain is CUT only - starts off at 0dB and goes to say -12dB. For these the knob action should work that you pull the mouse *down* to lower the dB (or increase the cut) - which I think was RJ's specification.
to my side it's a cosmetic niceness ..
but now funny thing happened,
by brain forces me to pull down HI knob instead of push up
i need to break and tea i guess..
timbralzoom is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 07:03 AM   #4962
lb0
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2,411
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by timbralzoom View Post
to my side it's a cosmetic niceness ..
but now funny thing happened,
by brain forces me to pull down HI knob instead of push up
i need to break and tea i guess..
Well - that's exactly what I meant - prob. works better for the aforementioned situation where gain starts at 0 and increasing the value actually decreases the gain - ie. cuts.

For your situation - I think the standard knob works best. Are you using a reversed knob graphic? Because otherwise - I didn't think it would look like that using a normal knob graphic.
__________________
Projects - Reascripts - Lua:
LBX Stripper | LBX Chaos Engine | LBX Floating FX Positioner
Donate via Paypal
lb0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 07:15 AM   #4963
timbralzoom
Human being with feelings
 
timbralzoom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Turkey/Istanbul
Posts: 1,405
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lb0 View Post
Well - that's exactly what I meant - prob. works better for the aforementioned situation where gain starts at 0 and increasing the value actually decreases the gain - ie. cuts.

For your situation - I think the standard knob works best. Are you using a reversed knob graphic? Because otherwise - I didn't think it would look like that using a normal knob graphic.
yes reversed graphic ..
but let me say there is no situation (no report/complain etc.) to my side,
i was just trying things for fun purpose

after a little struggle with knobman
i believe i can make it happen what my brain expects
timbralzoom is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 07:19 AM   #4964
lb0
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2,411
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by timbralzoom View Post
yes reversed graphic ..
aha - few!! Thought I'd done something wrong for a second!

Quote:
Originally Posted by timbralzoom View Post
but let me say there is no situation (no report/complain etc.) to my side,
i was just trying things for fun purpose

after a little struggle with knobman
i believe i can make it happen what my brain expects
How do you want it to look & react? Because with normal graphic - and normal Knob/Slider - you would get maximum Freq - and pull mouse down to lower the freq.
__________________
Projects - Reascripts - Lua:
LBX Stripper | LBX Chaos Engine | LBX Floating FX Positioner
Donate via Paypal
lb0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 07:49 AM   #4965
timbralzoom
Human being with feelings
 
timbralzoom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Turkey/Istanbul
Posts: 1,405
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lb0 View Post
aha - few!! Thought I'd done something wrong for a second!

How do you want it to look & react? Because with normal graphic - and normal Knob/Slider - you would get maximum Freq - and pull mouse down to lower the freq.
ah! sorry, it was just an old brain fart moment
and yes as you said just a normal knob/slider with proper graphic does the job done!

[/url]
timbralzoom is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 08:02 AM   #4966
lb0
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2,411
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by timbralzoom View Post
ah! sorry, it was just an old brain fart moment
and yes as you said just a normal knob/slider with proper graphic does the job done!

[/url]
Pretty!
__________________
Projects - Reascripts - Lua:
LBX Stripper | LBX Chaos Engine | LBX Floating FX Positioner
Donate via Paypal
lb0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 08:24 AM   #4967
timbralzoom
Human being with feelings
 
timbralzoom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Turkey/Istanbul
Posts: 1,405
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lb0 View Post
Pretty!
thanks! i like them too


EDIT:
a Q.

probably i ask this before - maybe something similar but with different explanation- if so, sorry in advance!
just watching my Microtonic ONE video again and popped up..

is it possible to have an option for set some control's to "have higher priority" while Snapshot load?
actually not some controls but just Program & Bank Change controls in my case..
scenario is:
always load that selected (Program and Bank) controls first then load the rest
because if there is also tweaked parameters in snapshots that belongs to same plugin
sometimes needs click to snapshot again to load their tweaked values.

TOL:
maybe an option for Param UC "auto trigger with a minimal delayed time" when a Snapshot load?

-motto-
as always

Last edited by timbralzoom; Today at 08:58 AM.
timbralzoom is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 09:45 AM   #4968
lb0
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2,411
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by timbralzoom View Post
thanks! i like them too


EDIT:
a Q.

probably i ask this before - maybe something similar but with different explanation- if so, sorry in advance!
just watching my Microtonic ONE video again and popped up..

is it possible to have an option for set some control's to "have higher priority" while Snapshot load?
actually not some controls but just Program & Bank Change controls in my case..
scenario is:
always load that selected (Program and Bank) controls first then load the rest
because if there is also tweaked parameters in snapshots that belongs to same plugin
sometimes needs click to snapshot again to load their tweaked values.

TOL:
maybe an option for Param UC "auto trigger with a minimal delayed time" when a Snapshot load?

-motto-
as always
Arthur has asked for a similar thing... I'm working out best way to achieve. Thing is - even with reordering the PC messages before everything else (except offline switches!) - it may take too long for the PC to happen - and still not set the params properly. So having some sort of automatic retrigger of the snapshot would probably be best option.

It's on my list of things to do next - when I have a little time to think about best way of doing it.

Likewise the PUC control - going to be improving that soon too.
__________________
Projects - Reascripts - Lua:
LBX Stripper | LBX Chaos Engine | LBX Floating FX Positioner
Donate via Paypal
lb0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 10:12 AM   #4969
RJHollins
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,182
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lb0 View Post
Quick update:

New control type in CTL OPTIONS - KNOB/SLIDER REV:

Simply reverses the action of the knob/slider - so pulling a knob fully anti-clockwise (or slider to the left) sets the target parameter value to max. Fully clockwise (or slider to right) = min value.

Hopefully this solves your problem RJ ?

Let me know.
Wish my problems were solved :|

But as for the REVerse Knob ... looks like my 'simple' request is much more involved. [unfortunately].

The Library [DocFear] was the one I was working with.

The Original Knobs were actually 'CYCLE BUTTON' Knobs for STEPS.

Add to that ... the GAUGE maker would also need to work in Reverse.

Honestly ... this may be more effort than it is worth. The idea for something is oft times much easier than the time/effort to code up.

I also wonder just how often would a REV control be used by anyone. I just don't know. I trying to think just how many NEB libraries have this orientation ... not many I can think of on my first cup of coffee.

Anyway ... I very much understand that TIME is limited ... and I'd really not want to distract from much more important things. I've no doubt, lb0, that you could implement ... that's never been an issue we've seen much of ! I'm just not sure this is really a useful request that others would use. This takes into consideration that NEBULA [N4] has some strange controls.

The ONLY possible example might be for a LOW PASS filter that pulls DOWN from the upper frequencies.

This is really up to You and the GANG ... I'm more than comfortable setting this REV idea on the sidelines. There are plenty of more important 'features' that could be more useful ...

going for that 2nd cup !
RJHollins is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 10:20 AM   #4970
lb0
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2,411
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RJHollins View Post
Wish my problems were solved :|

But as for the REVerse Knob ... looks like my 'simple' request is much more involved. [unfortunately].

The Library [DocFear] was the one I was working with.

The Original Knobs were actually 'CYCLE BUTTON' Knobs for STEPS.

Add to that ... the GAUGE maker would also need to work in Reverse.

Honestly ... this may be more effort than it is worth. The idea for something is oft times much easier than the time/effort to code up.

I also wonder just how often would a REV control be used by anyone. I just don't know. I trying to think just how many NEB libraries have this orientation ... not many I can think of on my first cup of coffee.

Anyway ... I very much understand that TIME is limited ... and I'd really not want to distract from much more important things. I've no doubt, lb0, that you could implement ... that's never been an issue we've seen much of ! I'm just not sure this is really a useful request that others would use. This takes into consideration that NEBULA [N4] has some strange controls.

The ONLY possible example might be for a LOW PASS filter that pulls DOWN from the upper frequencies.

This is really up to You and the GANG ... I'm more than comfortable setting this REV idea on the sidelines. There are plenty of more important 'features' that could be more useful ...

going for that 2nd cup !
Aah - didn't even think about gauges - but they may not be so hard to reverse automatically if the REV control is used.

Cycle controls - might be more involved - as I think they reorder automatically (for operational reasons). Will think on it... Having thunk on it for a few seconds - it may not be that difficult - just a few adjustments... We'll see - I am pretty busy with life in general just now - so even getting an hour to do anything Stripper wise is pretty good going. Hopefully things calm down in a week or so.
__________________
Projects - Reascripts - Lua:
LBX Stripper | LBX Chaos Engine | LBX Floating FX Positioner
Donate via Paypal
lb0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 11:41 AM   #4971
RJHollins
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,182
Default

Hi lb0.

No push on this whatsoever. Seriously.

It was only a thought, as I played with the original design.

If other Users think this is a needed option. Fine. But I have no working
issue with the way things have already been. Actually, the DocFear library is unique in this operation. [In fact, the new Acqua plugin, RUBY works the same way [hardware too !] and is likely the one I'd use anyway.

I'd rather time better spent on other things.

Sincerely.
RJHollins is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 12:21 PM   #4972
ThrashJazzAssassin
Human being with feelings
 
ThrashJazzAssassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Scotland
Posts: 221
Default

On the subject of controls [feature-requests/dreams/'one day']...sliders that jump to clicked values (like reaper's faders) and - sweeping the mouse to change lots at once (like strippers own modulator editor) and - maybe... one day... multi-touch (maybe would have to wait for REAPER 6 or 7?).
__________________
REAPER-OSC-panels
erthoide
ThrashJazzAssassin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 01:03 PM   #4973
lb0
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2,411
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ThrashJazzAssassin View Post
On the subject of controls [feature-requests/dreams/'one day']...sliders that jump to clicked values (like reaper's faders) and - sweeping the mouse to change lots at once (like strippers own modulator editor) and - maybe... one day... multi-touch (maybe would have to wait for REAPER 6 or 7?).
All three of these suggestions have crossed my mind!

Yes - I like the idea of click to move sliders - and should be possible - but would probably require additional setting up (extra fields in CTL OPTIONS) to make it work properly - depending on the graphics file used etc.

I've also thought about sweeping across controls - but I think it would be a tough one to achieve. Not impossible - but not so easy as the modulators window. The modulators window doesn't actually read the mouse crossing each and every position in the graph - it just knows a start and end point - and fills in the in between. For this to work with controls on the strip - you would have to be careful where exactly you move the mouse - otherwise it could affect many different controls that you weren't expecting (unless some sort of grouping was applied - so the sweep only affects those in the same group of the first swept control)... It's certainly possible I think.

As for multi-touch - the Holy Grail - I would love to add this - but am entirely dependent on this facility being provided by the DAW. One day maybe Would also probably require a substantial rewrite of the click detection code when it did arrive...
__________________
Projects - Reascripts - Lua:
LBX Stripper | LBX Chaos Engine | LBX Floating FX Positioner
Donate via Paypal
lb0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 01:43 PM   #4974
timbralzoom
Human being with feelings
 
timbralzoom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Turkey/Istanbul
Posts: 1,405
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lb0 View Post
Arthur has asked for a similar thing... I'm working out best way to achieve. Thing is - even with reordering the PC messages before everything else (except offline switches!) - it may take too long for the PC to happen - and still not set the params properly. So having some sort of automatic retrigger of the snapshot would probably be best option.

It's on my list of things to do next - when I have a little time to think about best way of doing it.

Likewise the PUC control - going to be improving that soon too.
uh!
yes you absolutely right i totally miss that plugin preset load time..
&
sounds great to me!
timbralzoom is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.