Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER General Discussion Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-09-2018, 09:34 AM   #41
Robert Randolph
Human being with feelings
 
Robert Randolph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 774
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by StuhRAH View Post
Does it need putting in the FR forum? Just for clarification, is phase-accurate grouped items stretch marker moving currently supported? If not, that could be added to the suggestions.
Those appear to be coming in the next version, but not labelled as such.
__________________
http://www.admiralbumblebee.com
Audio/DAW stuff, Woodworking, Programming and more... new posts every weekend.
Robert Randolph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2018, 12:39 PM   #42
G-Sun
Human being with feelings
 
G-Sun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Norway
Posts: 7,104
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by StuhRAH View Post
is phase-accurate grouped items stretch marker moving currently supported?
Can you explain the feature?
And, will ARA be an implementation of this?
__________________
Reaper x64, win 8.1
G-Sun.no - Music Blog - My music
G-Sun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2018, 01:00 PM   #43
pipelineaudio
Mortal
 
pipelineaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wickenburg, Arizona
Posts: 12,516
Default

Always cracks me up how humble mpl is.

Its always "no, no, I don't have such skills for such a thing"

Then two days later, I log into the forum and there's a new mpl post with not just what I wanted but doing it ten times better than I had described
__________________
REAPER Shirts are Back! - https://shop.spreadshirt.com/pipelineaudio/
pipelineaudio is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2018, 04:30 PM   #44
Tod
Human being with feelings
 
Tod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Just outside of Glacier National Park
Posts: 11,905
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pipelineaudio View Post
Always cracks me up how humble mpl is.

Its always "no, no, I don't have such skills for such a thing"

Then two days later, I log into the forum and there's a new mpl post with not just what I wanted but doing it ten times better than I had described
+1, he's not the only one, but he's super special.
__________________
Kontakt Vid Tutorials->Create Outputs / Create Templates -|- SMDrums Free drums -|- Elk Video Productions -|- Tod's Music
Tod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2018, 05:09 PM   #45
StuhRAH
Human being with feelings
 
StuhRAH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 194
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by G-Sun View Post
Can you explain the feature?
And, will ARA be an implementation of this?
No, it just means you group items and the transient markers on each of the grouped tracks move simutaneously to maintain phase correlation, otherwise your drum track would start cancelling frequencies and creating flanging sounds and all sorts.
StuhRAH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2018, 01:06 AM   #46
Jack Winter
Human being with feelings
 
Jack Winter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Luxembourg/Spain
Posts: 1,645
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by StuhRAH View Post
No, it just means you group items and the transient markers on each of the grouped tracks move simutaneously to maintain phase correlation, otherwise your drum track would start cancelling frequencies and creating flanging sounds and all sorts.
They move together for me when I play with SMs. My problem is with multimiced drums, say if I have 3 snares I will almost certainly get flamming and double hits at some point. Like the stretched material will end up slightly different on the different tracks.
__________________
Reaper for Linux Documentation (WIP). Software: Archlinux/KDE, Fabfilter FX, Komplete 8, Nebula, Schwa/Stillwell, T-racks Max/Amplitube/SVX, etc. Gear: i7-2600k/4700HQ/16GB, RME Multiface/Babyface, Behringer X32, Genelec 8040,etc. :)
Jack Winter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2018, 03:37 AM   #47
G-Sun
Human being with feelings
 
G-Sun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Norway
Posts: 7,104
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by StuhRAH View Post
No, it just means you group items and the transient markers on each of the grouped tracks move simutaneously to maintain phase correlation, otherwise your drum track would start cancelling frequencies and creating flanging sounds and all sorts.
Just select the items across tracks, and they will lock into each other when moving SM.
__________________
Reaper x64, win 8.1
G-Sun.no - Music Blog - My music
G-Sun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2018, 12:01 PM   #48
orbiterred
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 102
Default

would just like to say a big +1 for a groove quantization tool!
orbiterred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2018, 08:28 AM   #49
StuhRAH
Human being with feelings
 
StuhRAH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 194
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by G-Sun View Post
Just select the items across tracks, and they will lock into each other when moving SM.

Cool, so it's really just stretch marker quantize and groove quantize that I'm missing, this is definitely needed. +1
StuhRAH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2018, 10:15 AM   #50
Jack Winter
Human being with feelings
 
Jack Winter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Luxembourg/Spain
Posts: 1,645
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by StuhRAH View Post
Cool, so it's really just stretch marker quantize and groove quantize that I'm missing, this is definitely needed. +1
You can quantize SMs, there is even the possibility to make the grid swing.
__________________
Reaper for Linux Documentation (WIP). Software: Archlinux/KDE, Fabfilter FX, Komplete 8, Nebula, Schwa/Stillwell, T-racks Max/Amplitube/SVX, etc. Gear: i7-2600k/4700HQ/16GB, RME Multiface/Babyface, Behringer X32, Genelec 8040,etc. :)
Jack Winter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2018, 11:20 AM   #51
dukati
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 65
Default

I think having a more complete feature as described above (along with the ARA2 featureset) will result in me never looking at another DAW again.

I do always come back to Reaper, but I constantly look elsewhere exactly because of the lack of complete features as described above. I understand that Reaper is capable of doing alot of what is asked here, but its not easy.

Steve
dukati is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2018, 11:23 AM   #52
Jack Winter
Human being with feelings
 
Jack Winter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Luxembourg/Spain
Posts: 1,645
Default

I can agree with improvements being welcome
__________________
Reaper for Linux Documentation (WIP). Software: Archlinux/KDE, Fabfilter FX, Komplete 8, Nebula, Schwa/Stillwell, T-racks Max/Amplitube/SVX, etc. Gear: i7-2600k/4700HQ/16GB, RME Multiface/Babyface, Behringer X32, Genelec 8040,etc. :)
Jack Winter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2018, 10:51 PM   #53
StuhRAH
Human being with feelings
 
StuhRAH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 194
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack Winter View Post
You can quantize SMs, there is even the possibility to make the grid swing.
Is this natively? There was a lua script that didn't work very well and didn't work properly with swing. I'm still on v5.40, has anything changed since?
StuhRAH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2018, 04:07 AM   #54
Jack Winter
Human being with feelings
 
Jack Winter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Luxembourg/Spain
Posts: 1,645
Default

Don't remember what version swing for the timeline came. Have a look at top of the snap/grid settings.
__________________
Reaper for Linux Documentation (WIP). Software: Archlinux/KDE, Fabfilter FX, Komplete 8, Nebula, Schwa/Stillwell, T-racks Max/Amplitube/SVX, etc. Gear: i7-2600k/4700HQ/16GB, RME Multiface/Babyface, Behringer X32, Genelec 8040,etc. :)
Jack Winter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2018, 11:23 AM   #55
G-Sun
Human being with feelings
 
G-Sun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Norway
Posts: 7,104
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by StuhRAH View Post
Is this natively? There was a lua script that didn't work very well and didn't work properly with swing. I'm still on v5.40, has anything changed since?
v5.40 - March 24 2017
+ Grid: support swing grid in arrange view, optionally synchronized with MIDI editor grid
__________________
Reaper x64, win 8.1
G-Sun.no - Music Blog - My music
G-Sun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2018, 01:51 PM   #56
StuhRAH
Human being with feelings
 
StuhRAH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 194
Default

I know which version brought swing, I just wasn't aware of non-script SM quantize, and that doesn't work with swing grid.
StuhRAH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2018, 02:23 AM   #57
Jack Winter
Human being with feelings
 
Jack Winter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Luxembourg/Spain
Posts: 1,645
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by StuhRAH View Post
I know which version brought swing, I just wasn't aware of non-script SM quantize, and that doesn't work with swing grid.
Snap to grid in the SM menus.
__________________
Reaper for Linux Documentation (WIP). Software: Archlinux/KDE, Fabfilter FX, Komplete 8, Nebula, Schwa/Stillwell, T-racks Max/Amplitube/SVX, etc. Gear: i7-2600k/4700HQ/16GB, RME Multiface/Babyface, Behringer X32, Genelec 8040,etc. :)
Jack Winter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2018, 03:28 PM   #58
StuhRAH
Human being with feelings
 
StuhRAH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 194
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack Winter View Post
Snap to grid in the SM menus.

CANNOT believe I missed this, thank you SO much!!!
StuhRAH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2018, 04:53 PM   #59
magwa101
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 18
Default please, improvements to groove

Bump!
magwa101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2018, 08:58 AM   #60
87echo
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 48
Default

I had a jazz improv instructor in school that told us about a computer program that will change the way we record music. I remember him saying it will be possible to just delete a bad note or move a badly timed sound so that it's right. That was 1982. WOW. When it was your turn to solo, he would just point at you and you're on. Totally terrifying and exhilarating at once.

Anyway, I am also part of the crowd that thinks the imperfections in music make the good parts that much sweeter. You can watch a classical pianist, and it's impressive to see. But give me a player that is improvising "like nobodies business," as my instructor used to say. The bad notes let you know it's real, and much of the feel is in the slightly off rhythms. Of course, there are many famous recordings that just keep the mistakes. Just my .02.
87echo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2018, 09:14 AM   #61
Gianfini
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 584
Default

yes plz devs make it the version 6.0 focal point. Audio quantization and groove management. Native and well done.

thanks
Gianfini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2018, 02:01 PM   #62
G-Sun
Human being with feelings
 
G-Sun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Norway
Posts: 7,104
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 87echo View Post
I had a jazz improv instructor in school that told us about a computer program that will change the way we record music. I remember him saying it will be possible to just delete a bad note or move a badly timed sound so that it's right. That was 1982. WOW. When it was your turn to solo, he would just point at you and you're on. Totally terrifying and exhilarating at once.

Anyway, I am also part of the crowd that thinks the imperfections in music make the good parts that much sweeter. You can watch a classical pianist, and it's impressive to see. But give me a player that is improvising "like nobodies business," as my instructor used to say. The bad notes let you know it's real, and much of the feel is in the slightly off rhythms. Of course, there are many famous recordings that just keep the mistakes. Just my .02.
We can argue about pitch and time correction, if it's good or bad,
but, at the end of the day, these are tools most of us are using to a degree or other.
Personally, it keeps me from needing to rehearse an instrument 2 weeks before tracking. Now, I can just correct as necessary, and move on
__________________
Reaper x64, win 8.1
G-Sun.no - Music Blog - My music
G-Sun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2018, 01:28 PM   #63
Robert Johnson III
Human being with feelings
 
Robert Johnson III's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: The Dutch Mountains
Posts: 373
Default

Somehow I keep running into limitations with REAPER....This is one of them. Get the main Groove from my Bass or Guitar part and apply that to other tracks and/or a VST midi Drum part? (without having to resort to tempo mapping).
__________________
Hackintosh - OSX 10.13.5 - Apollo Twin

https://soundcloud.com/mytopia
Robert Johnson III is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2018, 04:58 AM   #64
nid
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 17
Default

I really got surprised when I just found out there is no quantization strength option in -the otherwise so powerful- Reaper. Waiting for this with great anticipation.

I'm used to quantize drums from around 60% up to 95% in another DAW and in my opinion it makes all the difference in the world against lifeless productions with 100% drums quantization (except for some styles where it is really required). And I've quantized hundreds of drum performances through my lifetime.

Please implement Q strength option as soon as possible.

Last edited by nid; 08-09-2018 at 05:07 AM.
nid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2018, 11:06 AM   #65
Jack Winter
Human being with feelings
 
Jack Winter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Luxembourg/Spain
Posts: 1,645
Default

You can however swing the grid.

Checkout the snap/grid settings, swing grid.
__________________
Reaper for Linux Documentation (WIP). Software: Archlinux/KDE, Fabfilter FX, Komplete 8, Nebula, Schwa/Stillwell, T-racks Max/Amplitube/SVX, etc. Gear: i7-2600k/4700HQ/16GB, RME Multiface/Babyface, Behringer X32, Genelec 8040,etc. :)
Jack Winter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2018, 11:41 AM   #66
EricTbone
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 230
Default

This is one area where Reaper is pretty lacking compared to competing DAWs. I miss it most in the context of tempo tempo mapping music not recorded to a click (which Cubase can do with one button). Good integrated tuning is missing, too. However, with the upcoming Melodyne integration, I can't see Cockos spending much more energy on this. Reaper is $60, so you can get Reaper and Melodyne for less than Studio One, Cubase, or Pro Tools.

Quote:
Originally Posted by future fields View Post
Not a fan of this type of fakery What about when you need to play the song live?
I'm a performer, but music is fundamentally about sound. Performance is orthogonal. The studio became an instrument in its own right half a century ago and has been used to create things that can't be performed for nearly that long. I routinely draw in drums or keyboard or string parts that I could never play. The alternative would be for me to write it on paper and get a human to play it, but the goal and end result is the same: getting the sounds in my head committed to "tape" so other people can hear them.
EricTbone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2018, 01:05 PM   #67
nid
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 17
Default

"spk77_Quantize items to grid using item snap offset.eel" seems to do this. Of course then you have to also use something like "Fill gaps between selected items" (SWS). Not the most efficient but at least it is possible.
nid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2018, 05:56 PM   #68
enroe
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 161
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EricTbone View Post
This is one area where Reaper is pretty lacking compared to competing DAWs.
Yes. And a simple and first step would be a simple "groove template"-ability.
That alone would be much: click me .
__________________
free mp3s + info: andy-enroe.de songs and weird stuff: enroe.de
enroe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2018, 08:41 AM   #69
Miul
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 305
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enroe View Post
Yes. And a simple and first step would be a simple "groove template"-ability.
That alone would be much: click me .
I wish it was so. My impression is that besides the fantastic mixer routing, anything else is pretty much a looser. If you consider the price it is still good...but personally I don't care.
Miul is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2018, 12:55 PM   #70
orbiterred
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 102
Default

Thank I already chimed in on this one but +++1 for a good groove quant tool!
orbiterred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2018, 11:57 AM   #71
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 1,203
Default

Yes, a full blown quantize functionality for MIDI and Audio is definitely needed.
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub | Stephan Römer - film composer
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...
_Stevie_ is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.