Old 02-14-2018, 03:19 AM   #1
tjingboem
Human being with feelings

Default 24 notes per octave

Hi,
we are looking for a Reascale file that divides one octave in 24 notes. That means that for one octave we would have 24 notes available on the midi keyboard.
Why? This would be great for looking for timbres in samples that are in between the standard 12 notes.
OR
a way to read Scala files from http://www.huygens-fokker.org/scala/ would be nice too
tjingboem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2018, 07:29 PM   #2
cassembler

<Friendly Bump>

I'm not a MIDI expert, but I believe you're pretty much locked in to the standard Western 12-tones, though pitch bend can help. However, I understand some instruments can do this out of the box: http://xenharmonic.wikispaces.com/Li...ftware+Plugins [EDIT: Link only good through July 2018]

Another option is to set up two instruments, tune one of them up/down a half step. Not ideal, but simple and effective.

Also see this thread:
https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=75024
Old 02-15-2018, 01:38 PM   #3
jerome_oneil

See if you can dig up something from Indian raga/carnatic music. They use a whole lot of micro-tones so there may be useful stuff for you.
jerome_oneil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2018, 02:11 PM   #4
martifingers

I am sorry I have no expertise in MIDI to assist but you may be interested (if not already aware) of this alternative approach!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t7Cq3pbcMkI

Smith has also done interesting things with hammer dulcimer microtonal tuning- I once attended a showing of The Cabinet of Dr Caligari with him doing a live soundtrack.
martifingers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2018, 02:13 PM   #5
lunker

Have you already looked at this post?

https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=172759
lunker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2018, 02:55 PM   #6
viscofisy