Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER General Discussion Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-13-2024, 02:57 PM   #1
psrpsrpsr
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2023
Posts: 20
Default Fixed Lane Comping behavior - why don't some areas get comped?

Hi, I have a multi-mic drum comp that is using Fixed Lane Comping. All of the tracks a grouped using Media/Razor Edit Lead & Follow enabled.

In this Licecap, you can see that:
1.) I'm able to click to promote the left-hand side of the comp.
2.) In the next sections, the clicks no longer promote the sections into the C1 comp.
3.) I'm able to swipe to overwrite the section in C1, but after that, the clicks to promote those areas no longer work. I must click and drag each section for it to be promoted.

https://imgur.com/gallery/44x3ugg

The desired outcome is to be able to audition and promote the desired swipe of each track up to C1, which is not happening.

One thing to note: it's possible I used slip editing (Mac Option+drag) in some of these sections. I see a small blue bar underneath some of those sections... does that have something to do with this?

Last edited by psrpsrpsr; 04-13-2024 at 09:19 PM.
psrpsrpsr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2024, 03:11 PM   #2
psrpsrpsr
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2023
Posts: 20
Default

Anyone experienced this? Are you seeing anything awry in the recording?
psrpsrpsr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2024, 03:19 PM   #3
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 16,076
Default

What version of REAPER is this? If you are not on the latest version (7.14) it might be worth installing the latest version to see if the problem is already fixed.

Can you share the smallest possible project (one track, as few media items as possible, but including the source media) that reproduces this issue please?
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2024, 06:03 PM   #4
psrpsrpsr
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2023
Posts: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
What version of REAPER is this? If you are not on the latest version (7.14) it might be worth installing the latest version to see if the problem is already fixed.

Can you share the smallest possible project (one track, as few media items as possible, but including the source media) that reproduces this issue please?
This is version 7.14.

I will try to create a reproducible file. Is there a standard way of sharing these out? I looked for stickies and forum topics on this but nothing jumped out as standard practice.

I suspect it has to do with combining comps with splits to move waveforms using slip editing.
psrpsrpsr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2024, 07:13 PM   #5
psrpsrpsr
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2023
Posts: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
Can you share the smallest possible project (one track, as few media items as possible, but including the source media) that reproduces this issue please?
This link contains a proof-of-concept of the reproducible issue: https://drive.google.com/file/d/11rE...ew?usp=sharing

My workflow using Fixed Lane Comping is to create the comps, and then copy that comp into a new lane to be Glued and make splits and slip edits. This seems to minimize the risk of doing 'too much' to the Comp lane, which I understand creates the small blue rectangle that can push the changed media item onto its own lane if desired.

In that file, notice that in C1, the first large chunk of the comp can be moved, however the subsequent sections require you to click and drag.

Last edited by psrpsrpsr; 04-14-2024 at 08:23 PM.
psrpsrpsr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2024, 04:22 AM   #6
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 16,076
Default

Thank you for sharing the project. This is a bug that will be fixed in the next version, which should be released this week.

The bug occurs when using multiple comping lanes. As a workaround for now, you can repair this project by removing the comp areas for the "first hits" lane, which was previously used as a comping lane. You could do this various ways: duplicate the track and then delete the "first hits" lane, or open the .rpp in a text editor and delete all the LINKEDLANE entries for that track that have 0 as the 5th field (which is all but the last entry). If you need other ways to repair the project let me know.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2024, 08:16 AM   #7
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 16,076
Default

This bug should be fixed in the current pre-release build, if you would care to try it out. Pre-release info here: https://forum.cockos.com/forumdisplay.php?f=37
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2024, 07:13 PM   #8
psrpsrpsr
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2023
Posts: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
Thank you for sharing the project. This is a bug that will be fixed in the next version, which should be released this week.

The bug occurs when using multiple comping lanes. As a workaround for now, you can repair this project by removing the comp areas for the "first hits" lane, which was previously used as a comping lane. You could do this various ways: duplicate the track and then delete the "first hits" lane, or open the .rpp in a text editor and delete all the LINKEDLANE entries for that track that have 0 as the 5th field (which is all but the last entry). If you need other ways to repair the project let me know.
Excellent, thank you Schwa. I can work around the issue by swipe comping new areas of the impacted comp, as seen in the 3rd set of clicks in the original post Licecap. It's not a game-breaking bug for this project, but glad to know there's a fix on the way. Mainly I wanted to make sure this was not user error on my part.

On this subject, I'm wondering if you have a recommended workflow for modifying a comp. For example, let's say you record 5 takes, and in each of the 5 takes, one note is too early/late, and it's a simple fix with creating splits and slip editing the waveform slightly.

Which of these would you recommend (and if none of them, what *would* you recommend)?
1. Slip editing the underlying take(s)
2. Slip editing the comp lane
3. Creating the best comp > Copy the comp a new lane > glue entire comp > slip edit the new glued comp.
psrpsrpsr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.