Old 10-17-2017, 09:31 AM   #1
deeb
Human being with feelings
 
deeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 2,250
Default req: Chord Markers

1st feature: Chord Markers
Just like markers - dedicated to chords, no numbering, oriented input interface, contrasting notation font, positioning

2nd: this Markers could manage/define what key snapping option displayed in midi editor, instead of media clip be forced to use 1 only scale/ chord as it is now (i think..)

3rd : scripts and extensions could use this chord markers information too

4th: inside the midi editor would be great if we could add, remove, duplicate like i show in 3rd gif below.



edit: added mockup to be more clear
edit2: (complementar)


I hope you get the idea!
Thank you!

Last edited by deeb; 04-19-2018 at 02:24 PM.
deeb is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2017, 11:22 AM   #2
Masi
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 636
Default

Good idea! I like especially that you ask for conveying meaning with the markers. Much better than just plain text.

Masi
Masi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2017, 03:22 AM   #3
jico27
Human being with feelings
 
jico27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Paris / France
Posts: 429
Default

Excellent.
jico27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2017, 07:41 AM   #4
krahosk
Human being with feelings
 
krahosk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,692
Default Good idea

Chord markers in ME would interfere with the visibility of existing markers. Plus, there is no editable marker lane within the ME. We would have to ask for something simpler that the DEVs could implement in the line of how REAPER already manages things.

Like:

- implemeting in the manner of "contextual menu --> Identify chords in editor grid" this new feasible feature: "contextual menu --> Identify chords by degree in editor grid"

That would be a good start, because after that, since REAPER works with actions,

- Add an action that get the chord degrees according to the root key

In conjunction with the already existing various actions of note editing, it would enable everything that you're asking in your request, just by customizing a toolbar to your workflow.

Last edited by krahosk; 10-21-2017 at 07:53 AM.
krahosk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2017, 09:08 AM   #5
deeb
Human being with feelings
 
deeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 2,250
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by krahosk View Post
Chord markers in ME would interfere with the visibility of existing markers. Plus, there is no editable marker lane within the ME. We would have to ask for something simpler that the DEVs could implement in the line of how REAPER already manages things.
sorry to disagree! it would just interfere if they want too. They can add another row for this purpose on top of timeline.

My purposed functionality adds much more workflow and integration and possibilities then any identification/ action anyone might do in this direction. Instead, gives much more power for users and scripting with an accurate and flexible chord/harmony/scale system which they can rely and actually helps them straight away, specially if you take in consideration :

"2nd: this Markers could manage/define what key snapping option displayed in midi editor, instead of media clip be forced to use 1 only scale/ chord as it is now"

Thanks
deeb is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2017, 10:28 AM   #6
krahosk
Human being with feelings
 
krahosk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,692
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by deeb View Post
sorry to disagree! it would just interfere if they want too. They can add another row for this purpose on top of timeline.

My purposed functionality adds much more workflow and integration and possibilities then any identification/ action anyone might do in this direction. Instead, gives much more power for users and scripting with an accurate and flexible chord/harmony/scale system which they can rely and actually helps them straight away, specially if you take in consideration :

"2nd: this Markers could manage/define what key snapping option displayed in midi editor, instead of media clip be forced to use 1 only scale/ chord as it is now"

Thanks
Can you take the time to make a mock-up? If you can and can sort all the development details in practicality, you would shorten the development time.
Or, do you know a software that already features your idea?
krahosk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2017, 12:52 PM   #7
krahosk
Human being with feelings
 
krahosk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,692
Default

Meanwhile I have this as a simple and feasible feature request

krahosk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2017, 10:55 AM   #8
deeb
Human being with feelings
 
deeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 2,250
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by krahosk View Post
Can you take the time to make a mock-up?
i updated original post! Thank you
deeb is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2017, 04:15 PM   #9
Chris Heinen
Human being with feelings
 
Chris Heinen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 23
Default

I love deeb's idea, and I see krahosk's point about it interfering with existing markers...

Perhaps have a dedicated "chords" row above/below the markers in the ME, with some sort of "refresh/resync chords from MIDI track" kind of action ???
__________________
Do not be overcome by evil, but overcome evil with good.
Chris Heinen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2017, 05:57 PM   #10
LCipher
Human being with feelings
 
LCipher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,930
Default

would really love this
LCipher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2017, 03:13 AM   #11
TonE
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Reaper HAS send control via midi !!!
Posts: 1,806
Default

.mup text file export, come on reaper devs, for you this is a 5 mins task, as entrie lex available with the documentation, see https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=200114
TonE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2017, 01:23 PM   #12
Masi
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 636
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TonE View Post
.mup text file export, come on reaper devs, for you this is a 5 mins task, as entrie lex available with the documentation, see https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=200114
Thread hijacking sucks.

Masi
Masi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2018, 09:28 AM   #13
deeb
Human being with feelings
 
deeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 2,250
Default

hope!
deeb is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2018, 07:53 AM   #14
Michael AD
Human being with feelings
 
Michael AD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Hackensack
Posts: 263
Default

Yes, showing the chords would be nice, very nice.

And if the chords can also affect musical data (scales, arpeggios, etc) that would be a wonderful bonus. But right now I would be happy just being able to see chords in a 'chord lane'.

Right now I fudge it by notating chords via regions... but that is very klunky... they don't align with the music except in a broad sense.

So, YES, please give us a chord lane.
Michael AD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2018, 08:02 AM   #15
deeb
Human being with feelings
 
deeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 2,250
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael AD View Post
So, YES, please give us a chord lane.
excuse me! you mean chord marker or lane?
deeb is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2018, 09:40 AM   #16
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4,771
Default

Most ultimate to me would still be Chord Track ala Cubase, including Chord Palette
vanhaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2018, 09:56 AM   #17
Michael AD
Human being with feelings
 
Michael AD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Hackensack
Posts: 263
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by deeb View Post
excuse me! you mean chord marker or lane?
I am thinking a chord lane would be just like the region lane, but would be populated with chord names that would stay aligned with the music below. I don't need any fancy chord symbols - I just want to write the chord such as Cm7b5.
Michael AD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2018, 10:34 AM   #18
deeb
Human being with feelings
 
deeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 2,250
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael AD View Post
I don't need any fancy chord symbols - I just want to write the chord such as Cm7b5.
i understand! that is the first benefit described in original post. But writing by user would be equal to region or markers (without numbering), with no extra benefit which would be a pity.

i did a mockup to be more clear about original post. edited there.
deeb is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2018, 10:55 AM   #19
Michael AD
Human being with feelings
 
Michael AD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Hackensack
Posts: 263
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by deeb View Post
i understand! that is the first benefit described in original post. But writing by user would be equal to region or markers (without numbering), with no extra benefit which would be a pity.

i did a mockup to be more clear about original post. edited there.
You missed my point. The chord in the chord lane would be locked to the music below. Unless you create a region for every chord, the region is not going to work. Besides, do you want to see a number before every chord (which is what would happen using regions)?

And as I also mentioned, I would love the extra benefits you described, but let's get the basic chord name/lane visible first - it would seem like a fairly easy task to implement for the developers.
Michael AD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2018, 11:07 AM   #20
deeb
Human being with feelings
 
deeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 2,250
Default

ok ! well i just wanted to just show a brief idea ! implementation is devs concern : )
deeb is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2018, 01:33 PM   #21
ChristopherT
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South
Posts: 548
Default

This would be great !!!!
+1
ChristopherT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2018, 01:43 AM   #22
Masi
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 636
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael AD View Post
I don't need any fancy chord symbols - I just want to write the chord such as Cm7b5.
The point is not that they are fancy. If Reaper had an understanding of the chord (eg like MusicXML has) than the chords can be updated when you transpose the score. Just another lane of dumb text markers would be nice, but not a big deal.

Masi
Masi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2018, 03:38 PM   #23
Pinknoise
Human being with feelings
 
Pinknoise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Around Montréal
Posts: 870
Default

For those who don'tn know, Insertpiz as a free midi chord analyser. And for those who are willing to invest Rapid Composer has awsome features for building chord progressions. Also Kawachord2 has both paid and a free version.
Pinknoise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2018, 03:51 AM   #24
germano
Human being with feelings
 
germano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Living in Portugal but Born in France
Posts: 51
Default

It would be great!
+1
germano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2018, 12:11 PM   #25
Desty Nova
Human being with feelings
 
Desty Nova's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Zalem
Posts: 148
Default

+1000 with deeb! Great idea!
Desty Nova is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2018, 03:04 PM   #26
fetidus
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 546
Default

+1 great FR!
fetidus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2018, 09:19 PM   #27
huberkinky
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 133
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vanhaze View Post
Most ultimate to me would still be Chord Track ala Cubase, including Chord Palette
Finally.... an answer to all my MIDI problems especially chord progressions.

I was struggling for a long time to find the right tool in MIDI for chord progressions. Bought even one, almost useless and still unhappy.

I have a perfect pitch and I can hear chords perfectly, but I need some tool, which will give me clear options, this chord or another one, wits some variation.

I have seen some tutorials like.... https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D4dvzoeg5M4

or this... https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_c...&v=20uvRRY0sWo

Usually the same crazy story. If I would have these guys musical knowledge, I would not use such tool at all!

And to my surprise Cubase can do this with incredible ease and the guy just showing the simple and easy to understand, how you can make fantastic chord progression.

Just brilliant tool and... with MIDI in Reaper... sorry... I love Reaper but I hate Reaper MIDI.

And simple Cubase Elements 9.5 can fix all my problems, MIDI problems included.

Every time I'm trying to compose anything on Reaper is bad idea. Any creativity in 10 minutes is gone because of MIDI.

Knowing how s/ware is developed, Reaper has no chances to get as good as Logic or Cubase in MIDI, ever.

As a DAW is brilliant. If you are composer as well, that solution seems to be a perfect one. Compose in Cubase, many instruments, export MIDI and even sounds tracks to Reaper and than mix it as a pro.

Many thanx vanhaze for that important for me hint!

I was struggling with that MIDI chords 'help' with Reaper... if you love to loose creativity, go ahead. I will have less competitors! ;-)
huberkinky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2018, 09:44 PM   #28
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 7,463
Default

The possibility to print Leadsheets (Like "Band in a Box" does: optionally Cords, Notes and Lyrics) would be something I supposedly would use if available.

This said, as well importing Midi and chords from "Band in a Box", as synchronized playback with "Band in a Box" would be nice.

-Michael
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2018, 03:55 PM   #29
MusoBob
Human being with feelings
 
MusoBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 919
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mschnell View Post
The possibility to print Leadsheets (Like "Band in a Box" does: optionally Cords, Notes and Lyrics) would be something I supposedly would use if available.

This said, as well importing Midi and chords from "Band in a Box", as synchronized playback with "Band in a Box" would be nice.

-Michael

To get the chords from Biab to Reaper, you can save the chord sheet to video or save Biab song to MusicXML, drag into Reaper, select a track and run the script.
To get the Part Makers, save to MIDI, in the "Options" check midi markers then drag into Reaper importing markers.


Code:
-- Notation Events Chords to Regions
-- juliansader https://forum.cockos.com/member.php?u=14710

reaper.Undo_BeginBlock2(0)
reaper.Main_OnCommand(40421,0) --Item: Select all items in track 40421
reaper.Main_OnCommand(40153,0) --Item: Open in built-in MIDI editor (set default behavior in preferences) 40153
take = reaper.MIDIEditor_GetTake(reaper.MIDIEditor_GetActive())
reaper.MIDI_Sort(take)
MIDIOK, MIDI = reaper.MIDI_GetAllEvts(take, "")
tChords = {}
stringPos, ticks = 1, 0
while stringPos < MIDI:len() do
    offset, flags, msg, stringPos = string.unpack("i4Bs4", MIDI, stringPos)
    ticks = ticks + offset
    if msg:byte(1) == 0xFF then
        chord = msg:match("text (.+)")
        if chord then
            tChords[#tChords+1] = {chord = chord, ticks = ticks}
        end
    end
end
tChords[#tChords+1] = {ticks = ticks}
for i = 1, #tChords do
    tChords[i].time = reaper.MIDI_GetProjTimeFromPPQPos(take, tChords[i].ticks)
end
for i = 1, #tChords-1 do
    -- Set Region Color RGB > reaper.ColorToNative(55,118,235)
    reaper.AddProjectMarker2(0, true, tChords[i].time, tChords[i+1].time, tChords[i].chord, 0, reaper.ColorToNative(55,118,235)|0x1000000) 
end
 reaper.Undo_EndBlock2(0, "Convert chords to regions", -1)
MusoBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2018, 09:32 PM   #30
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 7,463
Default

Thanks a lot for the reply !

I was not aware of lots of the details you point out.

I don't understand what you man by "save the chord sheet to video", though

Regarding "save Biab song to MusicXML", I did not know that Biab can create MusicXML. Lets see if the (not recent) version of BiaB I have can do that ... don't find any hint of "XML" in BiaB.


Thanks again,
-Michael

Last edited by mschnell; 07-10-2018 at 09:40 PM.
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2018, 09:40 PM   #31
MusoBob
Human being with feelings
 
MusoBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 919
Default

File > Save Special > Save Song as MusicXML file

Save as Button > Save as Video
MusoBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2018, 11:57 AM   #32
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 7,463
Default

Neither available with my version of Biab nor with the more recent 2013 Version, a friend of mine uses.

Thanks anyway,
-Michael
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2018, 02:31 AM   #33
MEHRZAD-TUNGSTEN
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 24
Default reaper wants a.....

chord track like cubase and logic and s1 and......
MEHRZAD-TUNGSTEN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2018, 11:56 PM   #34
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4,771
Default

Indeed, please Devs, would be the bomb !
vanhaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2018, 05:25 PM   #35
MusoBob
Human being with feelings
 
MusoBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 919
Default

You can try ReaTrak Studio it uses the Region Track for the Chord Track:
https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=212645


MusoBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2018, 09:49 PM   #36
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 7,463
Default

Nice !
But I don't suppose you can print a Lead Sheet from such a project ???

-Michael
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2018, 10:19 PM   #37
MusoBob
Human being with feelings
 
MusoBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 919
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mschnell View Post
...Regarding "save Biab song to MusicXML", I did not know that Biab can create MusicXML. Lets see if the (not recent) version of BiaB I have can do that ... don't find any hint of "XML" in BiaB....


Neither available with my version of Biab nor with the more recent 2013 Version, a friend of mine uses.

Thanks again,
-Michael
If you have an old version of Biab use Musescore to import SGU MGU then export to MusicXML and drag into Reaper then get the chords > "MusicXML Chords".



Quote:
Originally Posted by mschnell View Post
Nice !
But I don't suppose you can print a Lead Sheet from such a project ???

-Michael

Like the previous pic I posted showing Reaper's notation ?
You can create a midi track and
"Save MIDI to MusicXML with Chords", then in the Notation Editor Save to PDF.

You can also create "MIDI Chord Track" then import midi file into Biab getting the chords then print lead sheet.
MusoBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2018, 07:34 PM   #38
MusoBob
Human being with feelings
 
MusoBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 919
Default

Here's a chord print out with chords on top and chords to lyrics in the middle, using "Save MIDI Track to MusicXML with Chords" and "Save MIDI Track with Text Chords" then Save As PDf in the Notation Editor :



MusoBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2018, 10:28 PM   #39
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 7,463
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MusoBob View Post
If you have an old version of Biab use Musescore to import SGU MGU
Nice !
The MuseScore website says that BiaB import is "experimental". Lets see...

-Michael
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2018, 10:56 PM   #40
MusoBob
Human being with feelings
 
MusoBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 919
Default

I got on to them some time back as it was not getting the SGU chords correct but they fix it right away. The latest problem I found is it don't import the older MG1 MG2, MGA MGB.....


https://musescore.org/en/node/276934
you can add an issue here https://musescore.org/en/project/issues/musescore

Also REAPER needs better import of MusicXML Chords https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=209607
MusoBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.