Old 09-15-2014, 01:47 PM   #1
Commala
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 571
Default Default Commala 2

https://stash.reaper.fm/theme/1490/De...reaperthemezip

Link above goes to Default Commala 3


New updates to my mod of Lerian's Default Analog 2

Changes include:

-new panners for black layouts
-removed silver layouts
-added colored fader layouts
-changed midi editor colors
-changed tab colors

Use your screensets and layouts window to access these, as the list has become quite long. Layout actions are a good idea.



Last edited by Commala; 10-16-2014 at 07:02 PM.
Commala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2014, 02:31 PM   #2
pixeltarian
Human being with feelings
 
pixeltarian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Minneaplis
Posts: 3,301
Default

This is nice. I like this.
pixeltarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2014, 01:05 AM   #3
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,143
Default

Why is it so?
EDIT: I've unpacked theme and it looks normally now.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Make a thread "F%#! you Reaper! I quit!" to get more views and feedback since these kind of threads get much more traction
SoundCloudFR: "Real" Non-destructive GLUEAll the REAPER names

Last edited by vitalker; 09-16-2014 at 11:23 AM.
vitalker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2014, 10:33 AM   #4
Commala
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 571
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vitalker View Post
Why is it so?
EDIT: I've unpacked theme and it looks normally now.
Honestly I don't know why this is happening. If anyone can shed some
light on this for me, I'd be much obliged.

The ReaperThemeZip is just a packed version of a theme and a directory,
and I've saved the theme under a new name to point to that directory.

Then I zip the theme and the folder together, rename it to .ReaperThemeZip.
What am I missing?
Commala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2014, 10:39 AM   #5
Commala
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 571
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pixeltarian View Post
This is nice. I like this.
Thanks, do you like the new panners?
Commala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2014, 12:00 PM   #6
Solar
Human being with feelings
 
Solar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,300
Default

Amaaaazing work @Commala

But one thing though, I just downloaded this version and Drag & drop the Zip file over Reaper and this is what I got, totally different from your screenshot:



Is there something Ive done wrong?
__________________
MY: Music Producer, Mix Engineer & Entrepreneur
http://soundcloud.com/officialmy
Solar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2014, 01:18 PM   #7
henge1
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 475
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Solar View Post
Amaaaazing work @Commala

But one thing though, I just downloaded this version and Drag & drop the Zip file over Reaper and this is what I got, totally different from your screenshot

Is there something Ive done wrong?
You have to point the theme to the resource folder it uses.
Options->Prefs->Theme Editor->"Theme uses image resource" drop down menu. The resource the theme uses should be there.
__________________
Anton Evans
Website: www.villageworkscanada.com
henge1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2014, 01:26 PM   #8
Solar
Human being with feelings
 
Solar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,300
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by henge1 View Post
You have to point the theme to the resource folder it uses.
Options->Prefs->Theme Editor->"Theme uses image resource" drop down menu. The resource the theme uses should be there.
Thansk @Henge, followed your steps and got it working but one thing I can say is that the Pan knob doesn't look at all like the ones on the screenshots??? Well lots of things like the Channel should be in Black and they are light brown etc.. weird
__________________
MY: Music Producer, Mix Engineer & Entrepreneur
http://soundcloud.com/officialmy
Solar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2014, 02:14 PM   #9
Commala
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 571
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Solar View Post
Thansk @Henge, followed your steps and got it working but one thing I can say is that the Pan knob doesn't look at all like the ones on the screenshots??? Well lots of things like the Channel should be in Black and they are light brown etc.. weird
Hmm, can you send me a pic of that?
Commala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2014, 02:17 PM   #10
Commala
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 571
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by henge1 View Post
You have to point the theme to the resource folder it uses.
Options->Prefs->Theme Editor->"Theme uses image resource" drop down menu. The resource the theme uses should be there.
Still, drag and drop should just work if I've packed the theme correctly. Is there a special trick to this I've just never heard of? Can the files not have compression applied?
Commala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2014, 02:32 PM   #11
jekyll
Human being with feelings
 
jekyll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 22
Default

The only way I can make it work is to unzip the resource folder and the Reaper Theme and put them in the Theme Folder separately. Won't work as ReaperThemeZip, even when I point to the correct resource folder. Weird. Anyhow the changes you've made are really nice
__________________
___________

“Do or do not... there is no try.”
'Yoda'
___________

Steve L
jekyll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2014, 06:39 AM   #12
Solar
Human being with feelings
 
Solar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,300
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Commala View Post
Hmm, can you send me a pic of that?
The screenshot I shared already here is the one. And in this, i simply did what I do normally, drag & drop the Zip file and it gave me this right interface look that looks nothing at all like your Screenshots you've shared above here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jekyll View Post
The only way I can make it work is to unzip the resource folder and the Reaper Theme and put them in the Theme Folder separately. Won't work as ReaperThemeZip, even when I point to the correct resource folder. Weird. Anyhow the changes you've made are really nice

Exactly what I did afterwards, I Unzip the theme and copied the Comala2 folder (where all the files are into my Reaper Themes and after copied the Reaper Theme. And of course as @Henge1 suggested to do in order for the Theme to be applied using the Default COmala2 proper files, it worked but not fully. The Pan knobs don't look the same at all like your original screenshots etc..

Have a look here:



Normally I always simply Drag & drop the .Zip theme and voila. And normally when you go and un-Zip the theme and coopy the folder where all the files of the Theme are, it should ping that folder and use ALL the PNG files required to make the Theme look exactly as you created it including icons Menu etc... But not the case here.

Also I should mention that maybe Reaper Dev should look into WHY when you drag & drop a new Zip Theme, why REAPER didn't (do sometimes and sometimes NOT) USE the IMAGE RESOURCE automatically when that option is CHECKED???

Hope will find the solution sooon ;-)

Thanks again for sharing these great themes

Good day to ALL
__________________
MY: Music Producer, Mix Engineer & Entrepreneur
http://soundcloud.com/officialmy
Solar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2014, 07:07 AM   #13
Commala
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 571
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Solar View Post
The Pan knobs don't look the same at all like your original screenshots etc..
This may be an obvious question, but aren't those the classic layouts?

If you're loading the theme for the first time it will probably default to the classic layouts, but the black layouts
should be there in the layouts window. Is this not the case?

One thing I noticed is the black TCP layouts don't show in the right click menu,
but they do in the screensets/layout window. Don't know why that is happening either.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Solar View Post
Normally I always simply Drag & drop the .Zip theme and voila. And normally when you go and un-Zip the theme and coopy the
folder where all the files of the Theme are, it should ping that folder and use ALL the PNG files required to make the Theme look exactly as you
created it including icons Menu etc... But not the case here.
Exactly, I do not know why that is.
Have you tried packing it yourself and making a .ReaperThemeZip?
I wonder if it's simply too large, and it's running against some kind of in-built limit in Reaper?

Or could I have introduced an error in the rtconfig somehow? Will check


Quote:
Originally Posted by Solar View Post
Thanks again for sharing these great themes
No problem, thanks for the feedback.
Commala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2014, 07:14 AM   #14
Solar
Human being with feelings
 
Solar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,300
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Commala View Post
This may be an obvious question, but aren't those the classic layouts?

If you're loading the theme for the first time it will probably default to the classic layouts, but the black layouts
should be there in the layouts window. Is this not the case?

One thing I noticed is the black TCP layouts don't show in the right click menu,
but they do in the screensets/layout window. Don't know why that is happening either.
@Commala

You're absolutely right, i just noticed that indeed it loads up the CLASSIC one and in order for me to get it to look like your screenshot, I need to go and change the LAYOUTS to black etc.. etc.. and alo I can get the Panning knobs looks like yours.

Now concerning the fact that at first when I simply Dragged & drop the Zip theme it didn't gave me the real Theme interface, instead if gave me the screenshot I shared yesterday, that honestly I can not answer that question. All i know is that when I went to Preferences, Under "Theme Editor", following @Henge1 steps, the |Theme uses Current Resources" even checked did NOT switch to Default Comala2. I had to go and change manually.

Thats where I'm saying there must be a little bug with Reaper not absolutely with the way you zipped your file etc.. But again, I'm not a Theme maker and I don't know nada about the procedures. Hope this help out

Cheers ;-)
__________________
MY: Music Producer, Mix Engineer & Entrepreneur
http://soundcloud.com/officialmy
Solar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2014, 08:20 AM   #15
White Tie
Pixel Pusher
 
White Tie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Blighty
Posts: 2,340
Default

Try not having spaces in the image folder name.
__________________
The House of White Tie
White Tie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2014, 09:11 AM   #16
Commala
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 571
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by White Tie View Post
Try not having spaces in the image folder name.
I used underscores as well but it didn't make a difference.
I tried several other things, and opened the theme file in a text editor to verify
that I had ui_img= set correctly.

I should thank you also for the Default 4 theme upon which all this is based. I like your style.
Commala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2014, 10:37 AM   #17
Commala
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 571
Default

So I've got another update to this theme ready, but I'd like to pack it correctly so it opens properly like other themes.

It's funny that after editing thousands of lines of Walter code, I still can't work this basic function.

In Apollo, the ReaperThemeZip, ReaperTheme, and resource folder are all called the same thing, "Apollo". The same is true of White Tie's Imperial.

In Default Analog 1.8, the ReaperThemeZip is titled "Default_Analog_v1.8", while the ReaperTheme and resource folder are called the same thing, "Default_Analog_v1.8_unpacked". However, in the ReaperTheme text, ui_img is set to "Default_Analog_v1.8_unpacked," but when you double click the ReaperThemeZip or drag and drop it to Reaper, and open the theme preferences, the "theme uses image resources" is set to "Default_Analog_v1.8" only.

I assume the ReaperThemeZip is telling Reaper to look inside the zip for the image resources, and the ReaperTheme file therein refers Reaper to the resource folder packed with it. But try as I might, I can't get this to work.



What do I do?

Last edited by Commala; 10-16-2014 at 10:53 AM.
Commala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2014, 01:15 PM   #18
edkilp
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 1,123
Default

"The requested file does not exist". True for the link in your other thread too.
edkilp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2014, 01:23 PM   #19
Commala
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 571
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by edkilp View Post
"The requested file does not exist". True for the link in your other thread too.
Yes, I took down the themes in preparation for this final version, and because the resource paths in those themes were broken. Not a good show, I thought, so I'd like to nip that in the bud.
Commala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2014, 01:32 PM   #20
Commala
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 571
Default

How do other themers create the final ReaperThemeZip file? I've tried both 7-zip and Windows native "create compressed folder" function, but no dice.
Commala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2014, 02:11 PM   #21
Swamp Ape
Human being with feelings
 
Swamp Ape's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Asheville NC
Posts: 1,333
Default

I use 7zip. I've never had a problem with it.
Swamp Ape is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2014, 02:19 PM   #22
Commala
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 571
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Swamp Ape View Post
I use 7zip. I've never had a problem with it.
Do you use any particular settings? Do you store, or deflate?


Edit: if anyone wants to help me pack this thing, there would be no end to my appreciation. I don't know why this isn't happening for me, but if no one else can pack it either then at least I'll know it's some other problem.

Last edited by Commala; 10-16-2014 at 02:27 PM.
Commala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2014, 02:29 PM   #23
Swamp Ape
Human being with feelings
 
Swamp Ape's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Asheville NC
Posts: 1,333
Default

No just the default I think. Deflate mode, normal compression, zip format.
Swamp Ape is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2014, 02:31 PM   #24
Commala
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 571
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Swamp Ape View Post
No just the default I think. Deflate mode, normal compression, zip format.
I'm getting to think that I've inadvertently used a signed png from some theme that's throwing a wrench into the whole works. If that's possible.
Commala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2014, 02:32 PM   #25
Swamp Ape
Human being with feelings
 
Swamp Ape's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Asheville NC
Posts: 1,333
Default

I'll take a look at it whenever you repost it.
Swamp Ape is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2014, 02:33 PM   #26
Commala
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 571
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Swamp Ape View Post
I'll take a look at it whenever you repost it.
Can I PM you?
Commala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2014, 03:14 PM   #27
Swamp Ape
Human being with feelings
 
Swamp Ape's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Asheville NC
Posts: 1,333
Default

sure.
Swamp Ape is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.