Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER for macOS

Old 01-10-2016, 08:41 PM   #1
calvinator0514
Human being with feelings

Default Mainstage 3, Soundflower, and Reaper

Hello.
I'm fairly new to producing, and I've been using Reaper lately and I like it a lot! I'm primarily a guitarist, and I just purchased MainStage 3 from Apple in order to record guitar. MainStage has been good to me so far. I've read that it's possible to take the output from MainStage and use it as the input in reaper. I have been able to do this with mixed results. I often have a lot of hissing, popping, distortion, or other undesirable sounds when I run MainStage into Reaper. If I run Reaper or MainStage independently, I have zero problems with audio quality. No latency, distortion, nothing. Any idea what's going on here? I can't figure out how to create an aggregate audio device that works, so instead I have been using two audio devices when setting my preferences in reaper. I know that's not recommended; could that be my problem?

Here's my rig

Late 2011 MacBook Pro 13"
2.4GHz Intel Core i5
8GB Ram
256GB SSD
El Capitan

Scarlett 2i2
calvinator0514 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2016, 06:01 PM   #2
Chris4943

Have you tried soundflower?
Old 01-15-2016, 01:55 AM   #3
cyrano

Note that you need the newest Soundflower:

https://github.com/mattingalls/Sound...ases/tag/2.0b2

If you Google Soundflower, it'll lead you to various dodgy download sites. And most are still offering an ancient version that doesn't work very well with the latest OSX versions...
cyrano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2016, 09:21 AM   #4
northwoodmediaworks

Hi, I am quite new to Reaper on the Mac, however, I did manage to install the newest version of SoundFlower and was able to pipe its output into Reaper, so you should be okay, provided that you do get the latest version of Soundflower.

Cheers
northwoodmediaworks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2016, 08:54 PM   #5