Old 09-10-2017, 12:39 PM   #1
mlprod
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 1,343
Default Request, split selected item(s) to regions.

Anyone here can do this? i cannot find this funcion in the action list or reapack. (correct me if i am wrong!)

Of course, i will donate.

Best
/m
mlprod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2017, 12:52 PM   #2
mlprod
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 1,343
Default

Sorry forgot, and also renames the split item to match the region name.
mlprod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2017, 04:18 PM   #3
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 9,875
Default

Use an action to create items from regions on a dedicated track

Script: X-Raym_Create text items on first selected track from regions.lua

and then use

Script: X-Raym_Split selected items according to items on selected tracks.lua

X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2017, 01:14 AM   #4
mlprod
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 1,343
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by X-Raym View Post
Use an action to create items from regions on a dedicated track

Script: X-Raym_Create text items on first selected track from regions.lua

and then use

Script: X-Raym_Split selected items according to items on selected tracks.lua

Thanks for the tip! However this does not name the splt items to match the regions/split items.

Ideally using your scripts the following custom action would work.
First select the item to be split/named.
- Create new track under selected item and selected the new track.
- X-Raym_Create text items on first selected track from regions.lua
- X-Raym_Split selected items according to items on selected tracks.lua
- Rename selected items according to regions or items on the track below.
- Delete selected track.

You think this is possible with existing scripts?
mlprod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2017, 03:19 AM   #5
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 9,875
Default

Quote:
however this does not name the splt items to match the regions/split items.
This was not mentionbed in your FR ! ^^

Not sure if there is an action to name items from regions...
You probably need a script then.
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2017, 04:13 AM   #6
mlprod
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 1,343
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by X-Raym View Post
This was not mentionbed in your FR ! ^^

Not sure if there is an action to name items from regions...
You probably need a script then.
Yea sorry, I did a second post with that naming stuff though.
Would you be able to help me?
mlprod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2017, 10:59 PM   #7
mlprod
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 1,343
Default

A little bump on this for a skilled scripter!
mlprod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2017, 02:16 PM   #8
mlprod
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 1,343
Default

Do I need to say that donation will happen?=)
mlprod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2017, 03:05 PM   #9
foxAsteria
Human being with feelings
 
foxAsteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Oblivion
Posts: 10,255
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mlprod View Post
Do I need to say that donation will happen?=)
put your request on this thread and mention money...https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=109934
__________________
foxyyymusic
foxAsteria is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2017, 09:40 AM   #10
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 9,875
Default

@mlprod I think this has to be split in two script:
  • Split selected items at regions
  • Name selected items if they match a region start position. Does that sounds good to you ? In the screenshot above example, this means that items inside a regions but inbetween two regions will not get renamed (cause they don't match a region pos).
This will be more modular. Here is the split:
It is available in Reapack now

Quote:
Originally Posted by foxAsteria
put your request on this thread
Please don't. It is a 40 pages long thread were everything get lost and is totally bad for SEO. Also, your request may be intricated in others request which may conversion terrible.

Last edited by X-Raym; 09-20-2017 at 09:58 AM.
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2017, 10:39 AM   #11
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 9,875
Default

@mlprof
But maybe using "CurrentRegion" for items renaming is enough for you ?

X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2017, 03:33 AM   #12
mlprod
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 1,343
Default

@X-Raym

Wow thank you! The split script seems to work really well!
As for the naming, anyone of the two will work, the items to be renamed will always be exactly the lenght of the region above it. There wont be any (selected) items in between regions.
Makes sense?
mlprod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2017, 03:40 AM   #13
mlprod
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 1,343
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mlprod View Post
@X-Raym

Wow thank you! The split script seems to work really well!
As for the naming, anyone of the two will work, the items to be renamed will always be exactly the lenght of the region above it. There wont be any (selected) items in between regions.
Makes sense?
Actually I seem to have spoken to soon about the split to region script. I get this error: X-Raym_Split selected items at regions.lua:52: bad argument #1 to 'SplitMediaItem' (MediaItem expected)
And then when I click close the item is only split by the first region.
mlprod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2017, 03:45 AM   #14
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 9,875
Default

@mlprod
Ok, then I ship the second, as it is ready :P

Both scripts are in free repo. You download from Reapack now. Let me now if it works !
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2017, 03:47 AM   #15
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 9,875
Default

@mlprod
Quote:
Actually I seem to have spoken to soon about the split to region script. I get this error: X-Raym_Split selected items at regions.lua:52: bad argument #1 to 'SplitMediaItem' (MediaItem expected)
Screenshot of your project please ?
or maybe sent me the rpp (just the needed items and regions) at the state just before pressing the action.

Last edited by X-Raym; 09-21-2017 at 03:53 AM.
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2017, 04:08 AM   #16
mlprod
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 1,343
Default

@X-Raym

Ok here is a super simple rpp!
I suspect some error with item selections during the execution of the script?
Attached Files
File Type: rpp regionsplittest.RPP (2.5 KB, 106 views)
mlprod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2017, 04:25 AM   #17
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 9,875
Default

@mlprod
I tested every regions and items configuration possible except the most simple one : two consecutive regions :P

v1.1 updated. Should be fixed now !
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2017, 04:44 AM   #18
mlprod
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 1,343
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by X-Raym View Post
@mlprod
I tested every regions and items configuration possible except the most simple one : two consecutive regions :P

v1.1 updated. Should be fixed now !
Perfect works now! Let me know when the naming script is up=)
mlprod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2017, 04:47 AM   #19
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 9,875
Default

It is up ! Its called Rename selected takes with regions.
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2017, 05:14 AM   #20
mlprod
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 1,343
Default

@X-Raym

Nice! There are two of the same up?

Also, when running the naming scrips it seems the middle region out of 3 does not get named by region?
mlprod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2017, 05:25 AM   #21
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 9,875
Default

@mlprod
Screenshot ?

I don't see any problem.


Last edited by X-Raym; 09-21-2017 at 05:40 AM.
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2017, 10:57 AM   #22
mlprod
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 1,343
Default

@X-Raym

True, now when I tried it again it does work...strange.

Also just so you know, in Reapack there are two scripts with the name "rename selected takes from regions", however the top one, when you install it, it the actual script called rename selected items with clipboard content, which is the name in the action list.
mlprod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2017, 01:53 PM   #23
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 9,875
Default

@mlprod
My bad, the script Rename selected takes with clipboard content had wrong title in its header.

Thanks for your donation, very appreciated !

Have fun with the scripts !
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.