Old 09-17-2020, 10:18 PM   #1
ndchong
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 20
Default Action to go to next incremental marker

Hi - I am looking for a command(/ how to) seek from 1 marker to the next incremental marker id.
I have a series of markers on a track, e.g
Time 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7.....
Marker id 1 5 6 7 2 8 9 3....

Is there a next marker command/ action that lets me increment from marker id 1 to id 2 (skipping 5, 6 & 7 in the example above).
I note there is a a next marker action but that will results in going from maker 1 to 5 to 6 & so on. I know i can also use go to marker id action but is not what Im looking for.
I am looking for a command that increments from marker id 1 to next id 2 to next id 3 regardless of time.

Hope I explained it correctly.
Thanks Andy
ndchong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2020, 11:33 PM   #2
Dark Fader
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 74
Default

Can you use markers:renumber all markers in timeline order, then use go to next (or previous) marker?

Or do you have a particular use case for the markers being out of sequence on the timeline?
Dark Fader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2020, 07:39 AM   #3
Edgemeal
Human being with feelings
 
Edgemeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: ASU`ogacihC
Posts: 2,055
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ndchong View Post
Is there a next marker command/ action that lets me increment from marker id 1 to id 2 (skipping 5, 6 & 7 in the example above).
CODE REMOVED, See post #8

Last edited by Edgemeal; 09-19-2020 at 03:30 PM.
Edgemeal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2020, 02:19 PM   #4
ndchong
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 20
Default

Hi Dark fader- yes I have a use case where the markers are not in sequence in timeline
.
ndchong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2020, 02:20 PM   #5
ndchong
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 20
Default

Hi Edgemeal - thanks muchly for that script. But I dont know how /where to put it
ndchong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2020, 02:27 PM   #6
ndchong
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 20
Default

Maybe there is another way to skin this cat.

My use case is this...
- I have a reaper track that is split into regions.
- Each region is a backing track for a song and it loops that region until I want to go to the next song.
- I use markers to go from one region to another & control it via actions
- Currently I use the action go to marker 1, 2, 3 to control which region I want to be playing in
- Problem is I have limited keys on my foot switch, so i can only use up to max of 4 regions
- Therefore, if I can use a go to next incremental marker action, I only need to assign one key on my footswitch.

Any ideas how to implement what I want to do?

Many thanks
ndchong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2020, 06:37 PM   #7
Philbo King
Human being with feelings
 
Philbo King's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 2,020
Default

Perhaps this would be useful to get where you want to go:
https://www.soundonsound.com/techniq...ranging-reaper
__________________
Tangent Studio - Philbo King
www.soundclick.com/philboking - stream music
www.facebook.com/philboking - gigs and news
Philbo King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2020, 03:18 AM   #8
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 6,798
Default

It already exist in reapack as
  • Script: mpl_Go to next marker id.lua
You can download the extension and download the script right from reaper !
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2020, 03:33 AM   #9
ndchong
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 20
Default

Thanks guys. Loaded Reapack and then run Script: mpl_Go to next marker id.lua
But does not work consistently.
eg I created a new track and added markers and regions per below..

Time 1____2___3___4____5___6____ 7_____8____9____
Region 1-------1___2---------2____3------3_____4-------4
Marker 1__5___6___2____7________3_____ 8_____4

When I run the script starting from marker 1, it goes to 2 , 3 , 5 6 7 & stop
Does not go to marker 4 & 8 somehow.

Thoughts
Thanks

Last edited by ndchong; 09-22-2020 at 03:50 AM.
ndchong is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.