Old 01-20-2022, 11:59 AM   #1
Fergler
Human being with feelings
 
Fergler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 5,220
Default M1 Mac thread

Reaper is unfortunately not there yet for M1 use. I am getting stutters all the time with any task switching like switching desktops, changing apps with apple+tab, and getting onscreen notifications. I have flashing yellow transport enabled to warn of dropouts and I get them all the time, when adding plugins, using synths to a mere fraction of their full capability in voices, etc.

The only thing I'll miss is these blazing fast render speeds, but it's not worth it to me anymore, since I primarily use Reaper for live jamming and looping.

Other DAWs are working more smoothly but... they're other DAWs. I can't do nearly half the stuff my live looper setup in Reaper has with MIDI routing, CC Mapper X, MIDI performer, etc.

It was fun for a while but too many performance hiccups, I just don't trust this machine anymore. Also, it's not all that much faster at basic computing stuff like Safari, and many apps even though they say they're M1 optimised simply run slower than the equivalent on my 11 year old Dell Intel laptop and 8 year old intel MacBook Pro.

Just reporting my 2 cents, hope others have had a better experience.


Last edited by Fergler; 02-22-2023 at 06:19 PM.
Fergler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2022, 01:07 PM   #2
Kewl
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 171
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fergler View Post
many apps even though they say they're M1 optimised simply run slower than the equivalent on my 11 year old Dell Intel laptop and 8 year old intel MacBook Pro.
Which ones?
Kewl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2022, 11:57 PM   #3
hulkss
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2022
Posts: 5
Default

Not my experience at all. REAPER runs fantastic on my M1 Mac mini. I do open REAPER using Rosetta for compatibility with VST3 plugins that are not for Apple Silicon. I get better performance than with any other VST host that I have tried.

I'm using "Loopback" from Rogue Amoeba to route core audio.
hulkss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2022, 02:42 PM   #4
scottwaltonvo
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 2
Default

I'm a voice actor and relatively unschooled when it comes to Mac and Reaper but have had an M1 Mini with 16g memory for a year now. It has worked really well with just a few issues or glitches here and there. It has even run Waves and Izotope plugins with hardly any problem.

I installed 6.46 today and now I have all kinds of pops and stutters in my recordings. How do you open Reaper in Rosetta? Will that help my problem? Sorry to hijack the thread, but I have a VO project due and need to fix this problem.
scottwaltonvo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2022, 07:39 AM   #5
daverich
Human being with feelings
 
daverich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,809
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scottwaltonvo View Post
I'm a voice actor and relatively unschooled when it comes to Mac and Reaper but have had an M1 Mini with 16g memory for a year now. It has worked really well with just a few issues or glitches here and there. It has even run Waves and Izotope plugins with hardly any problem.

I installed 6.46 today and now I have all kinds of pops and stutters in my recordings. How do you open Reaper in Rosetta? Will that help my problem? Sorry to hijack the thread, but I have a VO project due and need to fix this problem.
Did you make sure to install the one for M1? it's the 2nd on the download list.
daverich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2022, 06:10 PM   #6
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 15,737
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scottwaltonvo View Post
I'm a voice actor and relatively unschooled when it comes to Mac and Reaper but have had an M1 Mini with 16g memory for a year now. It has worked really well with just a few issues or glitches here and there. It has even run Waves and Izotope plugins with hardly any problem.

I installed 6.46 today and now I have all kinds of pops and stutters in my recordings. How do you open Reaper in Rosetta? Will that help my problem? Sorry to hijack the thread, but I have a VO project due and need to fix this problem.
Find REAPER.app in Finder, select it and hit Cmd+i then click "Open in Rosetta"
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2022, 04:57 PM   #7
scottwaltonvo
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 2
Default Got it thank you!

Thanks so much! I got it and now everything works great! Even my Waves VST plugins. I appreciate the help.
scottwaltonvo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2022, 10:07 AM   #8
nepenthe
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 462
Default

Reaper is super solid for me on an M1 Pro (not running in Rosetta). It sucks that you're having these issues. What sort of troubleshooting have you tried?
nepenthe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2023, 09:01 AM   #9
P. WALLACE
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 54
Default

I'm also struggling with new M1 MBP. Trying to find some answers here, but I'm coming up empty handed.
P. WALLACE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2023, 01:48 PM   #10
Fergler
Human being with feelings
 
Fergler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 5,220
Default

Things improved a lot for me since
Can you describe what's going on exactly?
Fergler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2023, 01:34 AM   #11
mlprod
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 1,343
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by P. WALLACE View Post
I'm also struggling with new M1 MBP. Trying to find some answers here, but I'm coming up empty handed.
Are you using an aggregate device?
__________________
Magnus Lindberg Productions - VRTKL Audio - Redmount Studios
magnuslindberg.com
mlprod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2023, 10:28 AM   #12
P. WALLACE
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 54
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fergler View Post
Things improved a lot for me since
Can you describe what's going on exactly?
Quote:
Originally Posted by mlprod View Post
Are you using an aggregate device?
Every so often... Reaper sputters where the clock flashes red, audio drops out, and it looses it's position/timing.

The performance meter only shows at most 11% CPU usage.

I have maybe 5 or 6 project tabs open at a time.

Some plugins like U-He Diva 2 or Addictive Drums 2 will show much higher PDC.

No aggregate device.
P. WALLACE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2023, 01:01 PM   #13
mlprod
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 1,343
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by P. WALLACE View Post
Every so often... Reaper sputters where the clock flashes red, audio drops out, and it looses it's position/timing.

The performance meter only shows at most 11% CPU usage.

I have maybe 5 or 6 project tabs open at a time.

Some plugins like U-He Diva 2 or Addictive Drums 2 will show much higher PDC.

No aggregate device.
Then I would suggest rogue plugins or bad device drivers. The M1 platform + Repaer (at least native M1) is working great.
__________________
Magnus Lindberg Productions - VRTKL Audio - Redmount Studios
magnuslindberg.com
mlprod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2023, 06:16 PM   #14
robgb
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 376
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fergler View Post
Reaper is unfortunately not there yet for M1 use. I am getting stutters all the time with any task switching like switching desktops, changing apps with apple+tab, and getting onscreen notifications. I have flashing yellow transport enabled to warn of dropouts and I get them all the time, when adding plugins, using synths to a mere fraction of their full capability in voices, etc.

The only thing I'll miss is these blazing fast render speeds, but it's not worth it to me anymore, since I primarily use Reaper for live jamming and looping.

Other DAWs are working more smoothly but... they're other DAWs. I can't do nearly half the stuff my live looper setup in Reaper has with MIDI routing, CC Mapper X, MIDI performer, etc.

It was fun for a while but too many performance hiccups, I just don't trust this machine anymore. Also, it's not all that much faster at basic computing stuff like Safari, and many apps even though they say they're M1 optimised simply run slower than the equivalent on my 11 year old Dell Intel laptop and 8 year old intel MacBook Pro.

Just reporting my 2 cents, hope others have had a better experience.
I've been using Reaper on an M1 Macbook Air for months now and have no idea what you're talking about. Reaper is smooth as butter on my machine.
robgb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2023, 11:49 AM   #15
P. WALLACE
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 54
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by robgb View Post
I've been using Reaper on an M1 Macbook Air for months now and have no idea what you're talking about. Reaper is smooth as butter on my machine.
Not the same experience for everyone. Thanks for your helpful insight.
P. WALLACE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2023, 10:06 AM   #16
robgb
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 376
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by P. WALLACE View Post
Not the same experience for everyone. Thanks for your helpful insight.
You're right. It's not the same experience for everyone. Except with Macs, it far more often IS the same experience, because of the tight integration between software and hardware.

Thousands of people, like me, are using Reaper with M1 and having zero problems. So rather than blame M1 and going back to a soon to be completely obsolete Intel Mac, perhaps the OP should consider that the problem is neither Reaper nor the M1 and something else entirely.

The apps that are not running smoothly have possibly not been updated by the developer to run natively on M1, or the user has not updated his or her apps. If audio is stuttering, maybe your audio interface needs a firmware update.

I came from an Intel Mac to M1 and can tell you, without question, that M1 is far superior in terms of speed and RAM efficiency, and that Reaper runs better than it ever has.

So, clearly, my experience is different. But perhaps, as one contributor to this thread has apparently discovered, it's a matter of having the RIGHT version of Reaper, in the right mode, rather than taking the drastic step of going backwards in time.
robgb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2023, 07:00 AM   #17
P. WALLACE
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 54
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by robgb View Post
You're right. It's not the same experience for everyone. Except with Macs, it far more often IS the same experience, because of the tight integration between software and hardware.

Thousands of people, like me, are using Reaper with M1 and having zero problems. So rather than blame M1 and going back to a soon to be completely obsolete Intel Mac, perhaps the OP should consider that the problem is neither Reaper nor the M1 and something else entirely.

The apps that are not running smoothly have possibly not been updated by the developer to run natively on M1, or the user has not updated his or her apps. If audio is stuttering, maybe your audio interface needs a firmware update.

I came from an Intel Mac to M1 and can tell you, without question, that M1 is far superior in terms of speed and RAM efficiency, and that Reaper runs better than it ever has.

So, clearly, my experience is different. But perhaps, as one contributor to this thread has apparently discovered, it's a matter of having the RIGHT version of Reaper, in the right mode, rather than taking the drastic step of going backwards in time.
I believe you, but it would be more helpful if you could tell us what you've done to make it perform so much better. mlprod advised changing buffer settings and live fx core count, which was very helpful and I think solved my problem. Do you have anything else to contribute other than a brag that your transition to apple silicon has been flawless?
P. WALLACE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2023, 10:44 AM   #18
chip mcdonald
Human being with feelings
 
chip mcdonald's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: NA - North Augusta South Carolina
Posts: 4,294
Default

My M1 Mac Mini has gradually been going slower and slower, more and more beachballs.

But....

I have a pet theory that is completely unsubstantiated by scientific evidence:

drive controllers have a hard time once you've used close to half the capacity of a drive. When they have more than ~50% space free, they can shuffle things around, or put data where it can go as fast as possible.

Over half, and chunked up, they slow down. This has been my observation for decades; you get a New Fast Drive, and it works noticeably faster, then you forget about it.... but then one day you realize you're waiting when you weren't waiting before.


My Mini was getting beachballs constantly, but I moved out as much as I could from having just 15% free to now more like... ~40% free. Noticeably faster/less beachballs.

And with Thunderbolt 4 an external NVME M2 drive is nearly as fast as the internal storage. I'm not convinced there isn't something else afoot, and I'd like to reduce it further (I'm not as Mac savvy as I am Windows, that 15gb system and huuuuge "other" chunk I'm sure can be reduced a lot, somehow?), but mine had gotten to a point where it was almost unusable, I thought something was "broke".

TLDR: I think you need half of a drive empty to get full performance from the drive's controller, and I think that matters even more because of the M1 architecture.

/$.10
__________________
]]] guitar lessons - www.chipmcdonald.com [[[
WEAR A FRAKKING MASK!!!!
chip mcdonald is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.