Old 02-12-2019, 08:57 AM   #1
d.vyd
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 38
Default record MIDI and VST audio output simultaneously?

I'm currently simultaneously recording incoming MIDI and VST audio output. But, I'm not sure if my setup is ideal. I'd welcome advice. I have identical MIDI coming into two tracks. One simply records the MIDI. The other track has a VST and records the output. I positioned the audio track as a subtrack of the MIDI track (folder), so I see a faint audio waveform behind the MIDI data and keep the subtrack hidden (folded closed). Conversely, I've hidden all the MIDI tracks in the mixer at the bottom of the screen since I cannot think why I would change the audio levels for MIDI.

There are some advantages of this setup: (1) I understand it. (2) it is easy to fold/close/hide things I don't need to see.

There are some disadvantages of this setup: (1) I need twice as many tracks. Ten instruments will require twenty tracks, which seems cumbersome. (2) if I want to change the VST, I need to unhide the audio subtrack and click on the "FX" button, it is not immediately available. (3) the black MIDI data and gray audio waveform could be differentiated more and could provide more visual information (maybe use color to show MIDI velocity?)

Please feel free to comment or advise.

-d.vyd
d.vyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2019, 09:52 AM   #2
lunker
Human being with feelings
 
lunker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lucas, TX, USA (via Luleň, Sweden)
Posts: 762
Default

I do kind of the opposite.

I have the VSTi track as the parent/folder, and the MIDI track as a child inside it. The child track sends the MIDI to the parent track, so that I can record either the MIDI or the VSTi output (or both), depending on I want.

One advantage is having only one copy of the MIDI track. Another advantage (to me) is that I can create multiple child tracks, so that I can record different MIDI takes and mute the ones I don't want.
__________________
Best Regards, Ernie "lunker" Lundqvist
REAPER (non commercial license)
BDSM (Bad Dog Studio Musicians)
lunker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2019, 10:44 AM   #3
d.vyd
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 38
Default

>>>I can record either the MIDI or the VSTi output (or both),

Thanks Lunker. Can you actually record both MIDI and VST in the same track at the same time? If so, how ?!
d.vyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2019, 10:48 AM   #4
lunker
Human being with feelings
 
lunker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lucas, TX, USA (via Luleň, Sweden)
Posts: 762
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by d.vyd View Post
>>>I can record either the MIDI or the VSTi output (or both),

Can you actually record both MIDI and VST in the same track at the same time?
No, I don't think so.

To be clear, I have two tracks:

VSTI (Parent)
-> MIDI (Child)

I can arm either (or both) of the tracks for recording. If I arm only the MIDI track, only the MIDI is recorded, but I still hear the audio from the VSTi because the MIDI is sent from the child track to the parent track.

If I arm them both, then I can record both the MIDI and VSTi output in one pass (but on separate tracks).

As mentioned above, I like this because I can easily add more child tracks to record more MIDI, and mute the ones I don't want:

VSTI (Parent)
-> MIDI (Child) [mute]
-> MIDI (Child) [mute]
-> MIDI (Child)


PS -- This is just my preferred method. Someone else may come along with a suggestion that you like better. I could use multiple MIDI items/takes on the same track, but I find it easier to use multiple tracks (just a personal preference).
__________________
Best Regards, Ernie "lunker" Lundqvist
REAPER (non commercial license)
BDSM (Bad Dog Studio Musicians)

Last edited by lunker; 02-12-2019 at 11:01 AM.
lunker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.