Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Bug Reports

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-08-2019, 02:24 AM   #1
Alexis Baskind
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 4
Default Two instances of Melodyne (VST3/ARA) in the same session interfere with each other

Hi all,

Here a bug report:

How to reproduce:

create a new Reaper session
create 2 tracks and import some audio in each of them
instantiate one Melodyne (VST3/ARA) per track


What I would expect:

Both Melodyne instances work independently from each other


What happens instead:

After ARA analysis, it turns out that the Melodyne data in both tracks is the same and corresponds to the track with the latest instance of Melodyne. The data from the first instance is apparently lost.

Also, with the session I'm working on, I get the already reported error message from Melodyne "There is a problem with the structure of this document." (already reported in another post). However I'm also not able to reproduce it on a fresh session.

best regards,

Alexis




Reaper v5.981+dev0805/64 rev 9594e8

Melodyne 4.2.2

OS 10.11.6
Alexis Baskind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2019, 06:14 AM   #2
Burnsjethro
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 458
Default

The advice I received was:

You have track 01 did some corrections and now want to change the pitch of track 02.
FIRST you need to click on the track header of track 02 in reaper and then open the Melodyne window on track 02.
NOW the focus is on the second Melodyne instance and the changes will stay only on this track.
Burnsjethro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2019, 12:44 PM   #3
azslow3
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Heidelberg, Germany
Posts: 688
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexis Baskind View Post
What I would expect:

Both Melodyne instances work independently from each other
Just to note: Melodyne Studio users except exactly opposite, and they get that (Studio is multi-track capable and operating or at least observing several tracks in the same instance is a big advantage).
azslow3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2019, 09:53 AM   #4
uncleswede
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 799
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Burnsjethro View Post
The advice I received was:

You have track 01 did some corrections and now want to change the pitch of track 02.
FIRST you need to click on the track header of track 02 in reaper and then open the Melodyne window on track 02.
NOW the focus is on the second Melodyne instance and the changes will stay only on this track.
Their 'solution' doesn't work for me, unfortunately (Melodyne Assistant 4.2.x) :-(
uncleswede is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2019, 03:14 AM   #5
Burnsjethro
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 458
Default

Sorry to hear that.
Maybe you might find something to help you in this thread:


https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=222983
Burnsjethro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2019, 03:09 AM   #6
Alexis Baskind
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 4
Default

Hi,

@Burnsjethro: thanks for the tip (selecting the track first), it seems to work, not that intuitive though, but I can live with it. I guess this bug will be corrected in a next release. BTW, I updated Melodyne to 4.2.3 and Reaper to 5.982, and still have the same issue.

Regarding your second tip (looking at the thread https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=222983): I already knew this thread, this did not help further.

Best,

Alexis
Alexis Baskind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2019, 03:53 AM   #7
Burnsjethro
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 458
Default

Glad it helped. No it's not intuitive at all.
Burnsjethro is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.