Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER General Discussion Forum

Old 11-11-2016, 06:30 AM   #1
kodebode2
Human being with feelings

Default Success with Studio Room(and Speaker)Correction with Reaper/Room Equalisation Wizard

Hi,

I apologise ahead, as I am not the most concise of writers. This is a long read, but it may just have a really good solution to your challenge.

Problem : to improve the sonics in your studio/listening environment, by "tuning" the speaker and room.

I obtained really great results and thought it good to share. The results were so spectacular, this is my way of giving back to the wonderful people who have made Reaper and other top class tools for this purpose, available, many of them for free. Thank you.

Some background.

1. Many years ago, as a live mixing engineer I got into the habit and belief that I could correct speaker and in particular, the anomalies of a room, using graphic EQ on the main mix, and/or attenuating the most significant resonances via channel EQ, especially iin the low end. I also applied graphic EQ's to the foldback - stage mixes, and at the time, this did make a huge difference in clarity at the venue where I did this, over several months - tuning purely by ear and using lots of hours to listen to tracks I knew well. This habit started a few years earlier, at other venues, but the aforementioned was my most significant application. I however caution that over time, I have discovered aspects of this approach that will need modification, for effectiveness. As some of you have already mentioned on this thread - with EQ - sometimes less is more, and if I may conclude on this point, attempting to correct long reverberation reflections with EQ alone, in my opinion is counterproductive, as it causes you to create excessive EQ compensation, which is unpleasant to listeners near the speakers. So for live EQ correction, I would recommend some moderation, or an alternative thought process be adopted as I