Old 03-07-2023, 09:35 PM   #1
vsthem
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 463
Default Zooming not smooth

I have a video I need to put together, and writing music to it, so I thought I'd try to use the reaper video editor for the first time. I love everything I've poked around with, except for when I tried to zoom in on a still image. The result was not a smooth zoom in, but one with lots of micro stops and starts.

Google lead me to some older threads complaining about this problem, but I wanted to check in here and see if there were any workarounds that have come about, or if there was any hope that the devs might work on this. If this was fixed, I could probably switch to reaper for all my video stuff, which would be amazing.

Thanks all!
vsthem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2023, 03:56 AM   #2
papagirafe
Human being with feelings
 
papagirafe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Brasil
Posts: 485
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vsthem View Post
I have a video I need to put together, and writing music to it, so I thought I'd try to use the reaper video editor for the first time. I love everything I've poked around with, except for when I tried to zoom in on a still image. The result was not a smooth zoom in, but one with lots of micro stops and starts.

Google lead me to some older threads complaining about this problem, but I wanted to check in here and see if there were any workarounds that have come about, or if there was any hope that the devs might work on this. If this was fixed, I could probably switch to reaper for all my video stuff, which would be amazing.

Thanks all!
I came accross that problem in the past and it´s related to rounding issues with the gfx_blit() function and there is a fix for that. Which preset(s) are you using?
papagirafe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2023, 10:34 AM   #3
vsthem
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 463
Default

Basic Helpers: Track opacity/zoom/pan

Are there better ones to use for this function?
vsthem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2023, 12:17 PM   #4
papagirafe
Human being with feelings
 
papagirafe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Brasil
Posts: 485
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vsthem View Post
Basic Helpers: Track opacity/zoom/pan

Are there better ones to use for this function?
Yes and no, it depends heavily on the context of use. Assuming that your are not rotating the image, here is a patched version of the preset. Let me know if this works for you. Just copy and paste this code over the existing one (and save! ctrl-s).
Code:
// Track opacity/zoom/pan
//  **** patched for "smoothness"
//@param1:opacity 'opacity' 1
//@param2:zoom 'zoom' 0 -10 10 0
//@param3:xoffs 'X offset' 0 -1 1 0
//@param4:yoffs 'Y offset' 0 -1 1 0
//@param5:rotate 'rotate' 0 -360 360 0 1
//@param7:filter 'filter' 0 0 1 0.5 1
//@param8:clear 'clear bg' 1 0 1 0.5 1
//@param9:force_w 'force width' 0 0 2600 1024 2
//@param10:force_h 'force height' 0 0 2600 1024 2
//@param11:paspect 'preserve aspect' 1 0 1 0.5 1

function round(v)((v+0.5)|0);
function round2(v)(((v+1)>>1)<<1);

(bg_img=input_ismaster() ? -2 : input_track(0)) ? (
  force_w &= -2; force_h &= -2;
  force_w && !force_h ? force_h = (force_w * project_h / project_w)&-2;
  force_h && !force_w ? force_w = (force_h * project_w / project_h)&-2;
  force_w>0 && force_h>0 ? ( project_w=force_w; project_h=force_h );

  w = opacity < 0.01 ? 0 : opacity > 0.99 ? 1 : opacity;
  gfx_a2=0;
  gfx_blit((w < 1 || clear < 0.5) ? bg_img : -2,1);

  w > 0 ? (
    gfx_mode = filter>0.5 ? 256 : 0;
    gfx_a=w;
    z = 10^(zoom/10);
    dw = (project_w*z)&-2;
    dh = (project_h*z)&-2;
    x = (project_w - dw + xoffs*(project_w+dw))*.5;
    y = (project_h - dh + yoffs*(project_h+dh))*.5;
                                                   // *** patch is here ***
    rotate == 0 ? gfx_blit(0,paspect, round(x),round(y),round2(dw),round2(dh)) : (
      input_info(0,srcw,srch);
      sc=2.0; sc2=sc*.5 - 0.5;
      gfx_rotoblit(0,rotate*$pi/180,(x-dw*sc2)|0,(y-dh*sc2)|0,dw*sc,dh*sc, -srcw*sc2, -srch*sc2, srcw*sc, srch*sc);
    );
  );
);
papagirafe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2023, 05:50 PM   #5
vsthem
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 463
Default

So much better! Amazing! Thank you!
vsthem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2023, 01:30 AM   #6
Winfield
Human being with feelings
 
Winfield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: The Underground Bunker
Posts: 685
Default

I could of course copy paste the script above, but am wondering how many of my other presets that should be updated.

Are these (or any) presets updated with Reaper?
__________________
"if DAWs are religions, REAPER is atheism" - The big J
__________________
Windows 10x64 | Asus Z170-a i7, 32GB ram | RME-Digiface USB
Winfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2023, 04:20 AM   #7
papagirafe
Human being with feelings
 
papagirafe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Brasil
Posts: 485
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Winfield View Post
I could of course copy paste the script above, but am wondering how many of my other presets that should be updated.

Are these (or any) presets updated with Reaper?
I have worked with my own video presets for so long that I can't remember off my head which ones need fixing and I haven't heard of any plans either. I am planning to release in the near future a full library of presets to improve (and fix) significantly the video editing capabilities of Reaper. In the mean time just tell me which presets are problematic.

Last edited by papagirafe; 03-09-2023 at 01:17 PM.
papagirafe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2023, 02:36 PM   #8
Winfield
Human being with feelings
 
Winfield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: The Underground Bunker
Posts: 685
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by papagirafe View Post
I have worked with my own video presets for so long that I can't remember off my head which ones need fixing and I haven't heard of any plans either. I am planning to release in the near future a full library of presets to improve (and fix) significantly the video editing capabilities of Reaper. In the mean time just tell me which presets are problematic.
Thank you for the generous offer - I'm not having any issues, but am concerned with the presets (or rather effects, when we are talking video) not working when I'm needing them to. I'll look out for your release.
__________________
"if DAWs are religions, REAPER is atheism" - The big J
__________________
Windows 10x64 | Asus Z170-a i7, 32GB ram | RME-Digiface USB
Winfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2023, 08:58 AM   #9
vsthem
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 463
Default

I don't know if there's an easy fix for this, but the other major issue I have is that my rendered videos come out with a kind of intermittent pixelation. You can see it a bit on this clip

https://imgur.com/a/AkshV57

It's cell phone footage, in portrait, that has fine resolution when played inside and outside of reaper, but it gets wonky when rendered. Other footage using a phone renders fine. It seems to be this one clip.

Any help would be appreciated!
vsthem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2023, 02:12 PM   #10
papagirafe
Human being with feelings
 
papagirafe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Brasil
Posts: 485
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vsthem View Post
I don't know if there's an easy fix for this, but the other major issue I have is that my rendered videos come out with a kind of intermittent pixelation. You can see it a bit on this clip

https://imgur.com/a/AkshV57

It's cell phone footage, in portrait, that has fine resolution when played inside and outside of reaper, but it gets wonky when rendered. Other footage using a phone renders fine. It seems to be this one clip.

Any help would be appreciated!
Looks like the bitrate used for video encoding is too low. It's doing that only on fast changing segments which is typical. H.264 encoding is generally more resistant to htis problem.
papagirafe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2023, 09:21 AM   #11
vsthem
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 463
Default

I really appreciate your help here. I'm using H.264 FWIW. I've attached a screenshot of my settings, which I'm pretty sure are just the default mp4 settings. Is there anything I can adjust here that might help?

Thanks again!
Attached Images
File Type: png RenderSettings.png (36.7 KB, 35 views)
vsthem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2023, 09:45 AM   #12
Fergler
Human being with feelings
 
Fergler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 5,064
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vsthem View Post
I don't know if there's an easy fix for this, but the other major issue I have is that my rendered videos come out with a kind of intermittent pixelation. You can see it a bit on this clip

https://imgur.com/a/AkshV57

It's cell phone footage, in portrait, that has fine resolution when played inside and outside of reaper, but it gets wonky when rendered. Other footage using a phone renders fine. It seems to be this one clip.

Any help would be appreciated!
I have nothing to add other than whatever project you are working on looks like a lot of fun. Is this monster the spawn of a washing machine? :P
Fergler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2023, 10:23 AM   #13
papagirafe
Human being with feelings
 
papagirafe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Brasil
Posts: 485
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vsthem View Post
I really appreciate your help here. I'm using H.264 FWIW. I've attached a screenshot of my settings, which I'm pretty sure are just the default mp4 settings. Is there anything I can adjust here that might help?

Thanks again!
Try doubling the bitrate at least temporarily. Also giving the source video characteristics (and the presets used) would help (ctrl-f2 on item in windoze)
papagirafe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2023, 08:39 AM   #14
vsthem
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 463
Default

Doubling the bit rate renders without the visual distortion (I don't know the term for what's on the above GIF!). You say this is just a temporary solution though?

I've attached the video file settings, so maybe something's wonky there?

Thank you again so much for your help
Attached Images
File Type: png VideoFileSettings.png (20.0 KB, 32 views)
vsthem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2023, 08:40 AM   #15
vsthem
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 463
Default

I have the "Item Fades affect video" and the patched "Track Opacity/Zoom/Pan" in the FX Chain FWIW
vsthem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2023, 01:00 PM   #16
papagirafe
Human being with feelings
 
papagirafe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Brasil
Posts: 485
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vsthem View Post
I have the "Item Fades affect video" and the patched "Track Opacity/Zoom/Pan" in the FX Chain FWIW
If you encode using the WMF library, you need adjust the rate starting from double downward. I personnaly prefer the upgraded ffmpeg lib with h.264 encoding as it does a better job.
papagirafe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2023, 01:23 PM   #17
vsthem
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 463
Default

That looks way better. Thanks!!!
vsthem is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.