Old 11-02-2018, 11:05 AM   #1
Monroy
Human being with feelings

Default Unplesent harmonics with kick and bass

Hi,

I'm using Addictive Drums 2 and bass which is plug to line. I hear some strange harmonics when kick and bass play the same time. Anyone knows how to fix this?

Sample:
https://picosong.com/wVrch/
Monroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2018, 12:36 PM   #2
pjd3

Default kick and bass

I'm not a pro recording engineer so, anything I know or have done is of direct recommendation from the well known pros.

When it was time to do a serious demo for one of my bands I did some hard looking into how to handle the kick and bass as an entity. One approach was to first choose the one that will dominate the lowest frequency range. Should you boost that range in either the kick or bass, pull an equal amount of that frequency range from the other. Then, take a look at what frequency range is desirable in the one that is not the deepest, boost that some and also pull that same frequency range out of the one you choose to be the deepest. And repeat that process moving up the frequency range until you have covered the relevant ranges of both. What you are doing is really carving out holes for the kick and bass to fit into each other, like two combs sliding and fitting into each other. What this does is to not have competing frequencies vying for the sonic real estate, and it will also allow their "effective" volume to be much greater. There isn't really a "one size fits all" in terms of exactly what frequency ranges you would boost in one and this cut out in the other so, have fun experiment.