Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER for Live Use

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-24-2022, 01:24 PM   #41
crackinkid
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 79
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
To increase the max RDC, find this line:

Change the 100 to 1000 and it'll go up to 1s


Is there a way to change the code to delete/kill individual cells and not just all at once?
crackinkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2022, 02:18 PM   #42
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 14,871
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by crackinkid View Post
Is there a way to change the code to delete/kill individual cells and not just all at once?
why do you need to delete a cell?

tap record and play in quick succession and it'll be _nearly_ empty
Justin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2022, 03:07 PM   #43
TonE
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Reaper HAS send control via midi !!!
Posts: 3,771
Default

I guess super8 or super16 above, if it works, did not test yet, are the only session view alternatives so far, and playtime (as non-free option, with its features, if those work), plus nabla looper.

super8 or 16 or 32 or 64 would be my favourite I guess. It would only need various over time required supporting workflow .lua scripts, whenever some specific need arises for doing something, without interrupting current workflow. Usually the recording (of midi keyboard playing or guitar playing for example) and performing (hardware midi controller movements getting recorded as automations in Reaper mainly).

Summary:
1- midi recording
2- audio recording
3- automation recording

What Super 8,16,32,64 will offer is a looping environment independently of Reapers arrange. Now it supports only audio (step 2 above), so no midi. Automation recording is not needed inside Super 8, for me at least, I would prefer them being recorded directly linearly into the arrange anyway. So only midi recording (and looped playback) is missing there.

Then if we would have already above. A new representation of Super 8,16,32,64 recorded data, directly in the mixer view of Reaper. Let me call it here super-mixer. What will be the differences of super-mixer to current normal mixer?
- super-mixer will replace fx with takes.
That's it finished. All rest same. Below the faders will stay. Only those fx slots above will work as take slots! When clicking one it would start switch playing at next bar for example. Very easy. But would make Reaper another powerful experimentation field, more fun field, for experimenting with looped materials.

There need to be more connections between
PHP Code:
Super 8,16,32,64  <>   Takes    <>    super-mixer 
TonE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2022, 10:16 AM   #44
TonE
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Reaper HAS send control via midi !!!
Posts: 3,771
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vbash View Post
Love this looper! If anyone is interested in having 16 channels instead of 8 (or 8 stereo channels), here's a modified version which you can extract and put in REAPER/Effects/loopsamplers. The original source code is from Super8 REAPER v6.64. Seems to be working well for me so far!

Would be cool to have this included with REAPER (or even make the number of channels configurable), so people don't need to use multiple instances of Super8 for extra channels.

What did you change to make super 16 from super 8? I am asking so we know how to make super 32, super 64 as well... Would there be any limitations against those? Super 64 would look like a chess board then.
TonE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2022, 12:32 PM   #45
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 11,729
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TonE View Post
What did you change to make super 16 from super 8? I am asking so we know how to make super 32, super 64 as well... Would there be any limitations against those? Super 64 would look like a chess board then.
PHP Code:
in_pin:input 1
in_pin
:input 2
in_pin
:input 3
in_pin
:input 4
in_pin
:input 5
in_pin
:input 6
in_pin
:input 7
in_pin
:input 8
out_pin
:output 1
out_pin
:output 2
out_pin
:output 3
out_pin
:output 4
out_pin
:output 5
out_pin
:output 6
out_pin
:output 7
out_pin
:output 8 
became
PHP Code:
in_pin:input 1
in_pin
:input 2
in_pin
:input 3
in_pin
:input 4
in_pin
:input 5
in_pin
:input 6
in_pin
:input 7
in_pin
:input 8
in_pin
:input 9
in_pin
:input 10
in_pin
:input 11
in_pin
:input 12
in_pin
:input 13
in_pin
:input 14
in_pin
:input 15
in_pin
:input 16
out_pin
:output 1
out_pin
:output 2
out_pin
:output 3
out_pin
:output 4
out_pin
:output 5
out_pin
:output 6
out_pin
:output 7
out_pin
:output 8
out_pin
:output 9
out_pin
:output 10
out_pin
:output 11
out_pin
:output 12
out_pin
:output 13
out_pin
:output 14
out_pin
:output 15
out_pin
:output 16 
PHP Code:
g_nchan 8
became
PHP Code:
g_nchan 16
PHP Code:
  rec == ch1.setstate(state) :
  
rec == ch2.setstate(state) :
  
rec == ch3.setstate(state) :
  
rec == ch4.setstate(state) :
  
rec == ch5.setstate(state) :
  
rec == ch6.setstate(state) :
  
rec == ch7.setstate(state) :
  
rec == ch8.setstate(state); 
became

PHP Code:
  rec == ch1.setstate(state) :
  
rec == ch2.setstate(state) :
  
rec == ch3.setstate(state) :
  
rec == ch4.setstate(state) :
  
rec == ch5.setstate(state) :
  
rec == ch6.setstate(state) :
  
rec == ch7.setstate(state) :
  
rec == ch8.setstate(state) :
  
rec == ch9.setstate(state) :
  
rec == ch10.setstate(state) :
  
rec == 10 ch11.setstate(state) :
  
rec == 11 ch12.setstate(state) :
  
rec == 12 ch13.setstate(state) :
  
rec == 13 ch14.setstate(state) :
  
rec == 14 ch15.setstate(state) :
  
rec == 15 ch16.setstate(state); 
PHP Code:
  ch1.updatefromrec();
  
ch2.updatefromrec();
  
ch3.updatefromrec();
  
ch4.updatefromrec();
  
ch5.updatefromrec();
  
ch6.updatefromrec();
  
ch7.updatefromrec();
  
ch8.updatefromrec(); 
became
PHP Code:
  ch1.updatefromrec();
  
ch2.updatefromrec();
  
ch3.updatefromrec();
  
ch4.updatefromrec();
  
ch5.updatefromrec();
  
ch6.updatefromrec();
  
ch7.updatefromrec();
  
ch8.updatefromrec();
  
ch9.updatefromrec();
  
ch10.updatefromrec();
  
ch11.updatefromrec();
  
ch12.updatefromrec();
  
ch13.updatefromrec();
  
ch14.updatefromrec();
  
ch15.updatefromrec();
  
ch16.updatefromrec(); 
PHP Code:
  ch1.setstate(0); ch1.dirty_top=-1// setstate() will latch dirty_top to st_dirty
  
ch2.setstate(0); ch2.dirty_top=-1;
  
ch3.setstate(0); ch3.dirty_top=-1;
  
ch4.setstate(0); ch4.dirty_top=-1;
  
ch5.setstate(0); ch5.dirty_top=-1;
  
ch6.setstate(0); ch6.dirty_top=-1;
  
ch7.setstate(0); ch7.dirty_top=-1;
  
ch8.setstate(0); ch8.dirty_top=-1
became
PHP Code:
  ch1.setstate(0); ch1.dirty_top=-1// setstate() will latch dirty_top to st_dirty
  
ch2.setstate(0); ch2.dirty_top=-1;
  
ch3.setstate(0); ch3.dirty_top=-1;
  
ch4.setstate(0); ch4.dirty_top=-1;
  
ch5.setstate(0); ch5.dirty_top=-1;
  
ch6.setstate(0); ch6.dirty_top=-1;
  
ch7.setstate(0); ch7.dirty_top=-1;
  
ch8.setstate(0); ch8.dirty_top=-1;
  
ch9.setstate(0); ch9.dirty_top=-1;
  
ch10.setstate(0); ch10.dirty_top=-1;
  
ch11.setstate(0); ch11.dirty_top=-1;
  
ch12.setstate(0); ch12.dirty_top=-1;
  
ch13.setstate(0); ch13.dirty_top=-1;
  
ch14.setstate(0); ch14.dirty_top=-1;
  
ch15.setstate(0); ch15.dirty_top=-1;
  
ch16.setstate(0); ch16.dirty_top=-1
PHP Code:
  ch1.init(036,37128);
  
ch2.init(138,39128);
  
ch3.init(241,42128);
  
ch4.init(343,44128);
  
ch5.init(445,46128);
  
ch6.init(548,49128);
  
ch7.init(650,51128);
  
ch8.init(753,54128); 
became
PHP Code:
  ch1.init(036,37128);
  
ch2.init(138,39128);
  
ch3.init(241,42128);
  
ch4.init(343,44128);
  
ch5.init(445,46128);
  
ch6.init(548,49128);
  
ch7.init(650,51128);
  
ch8.init(753,54128);
  
ch9.init(855,56128);
  
ch10.init(956,57128);
  
ch11.init(1058,59128);
  
ch12.init(1160,61128);
  
ch13.init(1262,63128);
  
ch14.init(1364,65128);
  
ch15.init(1466,67128);
  
ch16.init(1567,68128); 
PHP Code:
ch1.onblock();
ch2.onblock();
ch3.onblock();
ch4.onblock();
ch5.onblock();
ch6.onblock();
ch7.onblock();
ch8.onblock(); 
became
PHP Code:
ch1.onblock();
ch2.onblock();
ch3.onblock();
ch4.onblock();
ch5.onblock();
ch6.onblock();
ch7.onblock();
ch8.onblock();
ch9.onblock();
ch10.onblock();
ch11.onblock();
ch12.onblock();
ch13.onblock();
ch14.onblock();
ch15.onblock();
ch16.onblock(); 
PHP Code:
  ch1.onmsg(m1,m2,m3);
  
ch2.onmsg(m1,m2,m3);
  
ch3.onmsg(m1,m2,m3);
  
ch4.onmsg(m1,m2,m3);
  
ch5.onmsg(m1,m2,m3);
  
ch6.onmsg(m1,m2,m3);
  
ch7.onmsg(m1,m2,m3);
  
ch8.onmsg(m1,m2,m3); 
became
PHP Code:
  ch1.onmsg(m1,m2,m3);
  
ch2.onmsg(m1,m2,m3);
  
ch3.onmsg(m1,m2,m3);
  
ch4.onmsg(m1,m2,m3);
  
ch5.onmsg(m1,m2,m3);
  
ch6.onmsg(m1,m2,m3);
  
ch7.onmsg(m1,m2,m3);
  
ch8.onmsg(m1,m2,m3);
  
ch9.onmsg(m1,m2,m3);
  
ch10.onmsg(m1,m2,m3);
  
ch11.onmsg(m1,m2,m3);
  
ch12.onmsg(m1,m2,m3);
  
ch13.onmsg(m1,m2,m3);
  
ch14.onmsg(m1,m2,m3);
  
ch15.onmsg(m1,m2,m3);
  
ch16.onmsg(m1,m2,m3); 
PHP Code:
spl0=ch1.process(spl0);
spl1=ch2.process(spl1);
spl2=ch3.process(spl2);
spl3=ch4.process(spl3);
spl4=ch5.process(spl4);
spl5=ch6.process(spl5);
spl6=ch7.process(spl6);
spl7=ch8.process(spl7); 
became
PHP Code:
spl0=ch1.process(spl0);
spl1=ch2.process(spl1);
spl2=ch3.process(spl2);
spl3=ch4.process(spl3);
spl4=ch5.process(spl4);
spl5=ch6.process(spl5);
spl6=ch7.process(spl6);
spl7=ch8.process(spl7);
spl8=ch9.process(spl8);
spl9=ch10.process(spl9);
spl10=ch11.process(spl10);
spl11=ch12.process(spl11);
spl12=ch13.process(spl12);
spl13=ch14.process(spl13);
spl14=ch15.process(spl14);
spl15=ch16.process(spl15); 
PHP Code:
    spl9 generate_click(); 
became
PHP Code:
    spl16 generate_click(); 
PHP Code:
  spl8spl(g_chan_selected); 
became
PHP Code:
  spl16spl(g_chan_selected); 
PHP Code:
  spl8=0
became
PHP Code:
  spl16=0
PHP Code:
            t == ch1.reverse() :
            
== ch2.reverse() :
            
== ch3.reverse() :
            
== ch4.reverse() :
            
== ch5.reverse() :
            
== ch6.reverse() :
            
== ch7.reverse() :
            
== ch8.reverse(); 
became
PHP Code:
            t == ch1.reverse() :
            
== ch2.reverse() :
            
== ch3.reverse() :
            
== ch4.reverse() :
            
== ch5.reverse() :
            
== ch6.reverse() :
            
== ch7.reverse() :
            
== ch8.reverse() :
            
== ch9.reverse() :
            
== ch10.reverse() :
            
== 10 ch11.reverse() :
            
== 11 ch12.reverse() :
            
== 12 ch13.reverse() :
            
== 13 ch14.reverse() :
            
== 14 ch15.reverse() :
            
== 15 ch16.reverse(); 
__________________
DonateSoundCloudAll the REAPER names
vitalker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2022, 01:33 PM   #46
vonglan
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Lübeck, Germany
Posts: 45
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Regisfofo View Post
Well pc means midi program change in that case, not easy to send with the computer's keyboard.
Your best bet is to set input back to notes and send them using reaper's virtual midi keyboard imho.
You might want to check out ReaLearn.
In current versions it can send MIDI CCs, as one of many possible targets.
And it has keyboard input as possible source (again, one of many).
vonglan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2022, 07:14 PM   #47
TonE
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Reaper HAS send control via midi !!!
Posts: 3,771
Default

Where are its limits then? Can we use Super 128, 256, 512, 1024 as well? (A Reaper user asks always for more, right? )

Last edited by TonE; 11-26-2022 at 03:52 PM. Reason: removed long quote
TonE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2022, 07:17 PM   #48
TonE
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Reaper HAS send control via midi !!!
Posts: 3,771
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Regisfofo View Post
[Place Holder]
I'm Working on some project template I'll post here when it will be ready.
Still not finished your project template after 3 years?
TonE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2022, 01:20 AM   #49
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 11,729
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TonE View Post
Where are its limits then? Can we use Super 128, 256, 512, 1024 as well? (A Reaper user asks always for more, right? )
I suggest you to check for yourself and let is) us know.
Also please don't leave everything in quote for such long messages.
__________________
DonateSoundCloudAll the REAPER names
vitalker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2022, 10:37 AM   #50
Primeval Mudd
Human being with feelings
 
Primeval Mudd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Waltham Abbey, UK
Posts: 473
Default Super8 - changing 'Play All' to 'Play Selected'

Hi,


I'd like to change the 'rec/play selected' function to just 'rec selected' and replace 'play all' with 'play selected'.


Is that possible? if so, could anybody help with the code I'd need to tweak?


I've had a bit of a prod around but it didn't get me very far - I know nothing about these things!


Thanks.
__________________
Dave - formerly Socket

Website | YouTube | Facebook | Soundcloud
Primeval Mudd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2023, 03:16 AM   #51
crackinkid
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 79
Default

An undo button would be really really awesome. I fuck stuff up waay too often. Like staying in record mode by accident and then recording something on top...

And is it possible to slow/pitch tracks down or up, when the looper is synced to the bpm?. So you could change tempo during a live performance without adding in silence or cutting the loops (default behaviour)

A button to sync project tempo to super 8 could be fun too. By default you can set up super 8 to sync to the project tempo. But I think the other way round could be more convenient. So you can play in any tempo you like and then super 8 overwrites the project tempo. Rather then having to set up a tempo first and trying to play in time. That would also be useful for time based effects like a delay or something. I don't know how to code those things. But if anyone can point me in the direction, I'll give it a try.

Last edited by crackinkid; 01-04-2023 at 04:48 AM.
crackinkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.