Old 08-07-2020, 09:32 PM   #1
L30x
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 12
Default Too high input / not enough headroom.

Hello.

I have long experienced an issue where my tracks have very high input alltough I gain them way down on my interface.
I always though it was a problem with my interface and perhaps the headroom was lacking (Allen Heath Zed R16 which is supposed to have nice preamps) but after having the same issue with other interfaces I am starting to wonder if there is anything in the software that I can tweak.

I'm running firewire into the express port on my Lenovo w520 (16gb ddr, i7).

I can't even use some of my condenser mics on drums since they are clipping even after gaining -16db and applying the -10db filter.

Help!
L30x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2020, 03:35 AM   #2
beingmf
Human being with feelings
 
beingmf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Jazz City
Posts: 4,150
Default

That means you can set the preamps' gain only within a certain range, but never to e. g. -60dBu?
What's the minimum value (or if you like: the negative maximum) when you turn the gain knob fully ccw?
__________________
Windows 10x64 | AMD Ryzen 3700X | ATI FirePro 2260, 8.911.3.4000 | Marian Seraph AD2, 4.0.9.0 | Yamaha Steinberg MR816x
Experience the Blunzeworscht!
beingmf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2020, 03:44 AM   #3
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 9,133
Default

Grab a few xlr attenuators
Coachz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2020, 05:03 AM   #4
jrk
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 845
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Coachz View Post
Grab a few xlr attenuators
^^^^^
Would probably be the answer.

A pad's nothing more than a few resistors, get soldering!
__________________
it's meant to sound like that...
jrk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2020, 05:08 AM   #5
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 9,133
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jrk View Post
^^^^^
Would probably be the answer.

A pad's nothing more than a few resistors, get soldering!
For $20, I'd buy them
Coachz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2020, 06:28 AM   #6
jrk
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 845
Default

I'd whip out my soldering iron and spend the 19.90 saved on beer.

http://www.uneeda-audio.com/pads/

If you want to be fancy, you can get a XLR Barrel Coupler for like, $5 or less
__________________
it's meant to sound like that...

Last edited by jrk; 08-09-2020 at 06:58 AM.
jrk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2020, 09:57 AM   #7
DVDdoug
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Posts: 2,161
Default

Quote:
I am starting to wonder if there is anything in the software that I can tweak.
Not really.... Once the signal is clipped you can't remove the distortion. (There are de-clipper plug-ins but there is no way to know the original-unclipped wave height or shape so they should only be used as a last resort.)


Try switching the mixer to line-input. You may have enough signal (and enough line-level gain) that you can bypass the mic preamp.


You can still clip the head amp in your condenser mic and if that's happening you might have to use a different mic. Or if your mic has a built-in pad (-10dB filter?) that will be in front of the head amp so that will help. I don't know if it will help enough.


Dynamic mics don't have any internal electronics and most can't be overloaded. The SM57 can go over 140dB and at that point it's putting-out line-level.
DVDdoug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2020, 10:37 AM   #8
Allybye
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 294
Default

"Dynamic mics don't have any internal electronics and most can't be overloaded. The SM57 can go over 140dB and at that point it's putting-out line-level."

What? Can't hear you Doug. Turn it up a bit!
Allybye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2020, 12:13 PM   #9
Fex
Human being with feelings
 
Fex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Posts: 4,378
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Allybye View Post
What? Can't hear you Doug. Turn it up a bit!
I got this:
Quote:
Originally Posted by DVDdoug View Post
Dynamic mics don't have any internal electronics and most can't be overloaded. The SM57 can go over 140dB and at that point it's putting-out line-level.
Fex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2020, 02:05 PM   #10
Allybye
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 294
Default

Ouch! I can hear sod all now,,,,,just a ringing.......
Allybye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2020, 02:48 PM   #11
Fex
Human being with feelings
 
Fex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Posts: 4,378
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Allybye View Post
....! . ... .... ... ... ...,,,,,.... . .......
What?
Fex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2020, 03:01 PM   #12
Allybye
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 294
Default

Where's my ear trumpet....
Allybye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2020, 03:02 PM   #13
Allybye
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 294
Default

We've probably lost everyone else...

...or just maybe lost it ourselves!
Allybye is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.