Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Feature Requests

View Poll Results: Would you use this feature?
YES! (or I might possibly use it) 22 91.67%
Nope. (or I would never use it at all) 2 8.33%
Voters: 24. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-21-2017, 01:15 PM   #1
zediiiii
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 21
Default Reatune Midi Input

This feature has been discussed and requested in various posts, but none of them have a poll to show that we Reaper users want this. Vote yes to show your support!
  • Request: Allow midi input for manual pitch correction in Reatune
    We really just need automation of the manual input events. It would be nice if the automation was midi based so things like pitch bend cc could modulate pitches as well.
  • Benefit
    This function allows all sorts of time-saving when tracking, unique music styles, and some nice artistic effects for composition. I use this function with clean vocals, EDM FX, instrument tracks, orchestration tracks, and more.
  • Reason
    Using the manual correction "pen" is tedious and since there is no grid, sometimes getting the timing correct is difficult. Making curves is not possible, which means manufacturing vibrato is course at best. Here are some examples of things that would be possible: linking the pitch event to pitch wheel or LFO (to make vibrato), linking the pitch event to LFO with amplitude linked to mod wheel (to make variable depth vibrato).
  • Implementation Suggestion
    Allowing automation of the pitch shift would be ideal.

    As an inferior (temporary/beta testing) alternative, create an "accept midi input" checkbox that directly maps midi notes to the pen tool output.

Discussion on the topic exists in the following posts (among others):
https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?p=871803
https://forum.cockos.com/showthread....t=reatune+midi
https://forum.cockos.com/showthread....t=reatune+midi

Last edited by zediiiii; 12-21-2017 at 01:22 PM.
zediiiii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2017, 01:53 AM   #2
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 9,366
Default

Supposedly Melodyne will provide better results, and - when ARA is in place - better workflow.

-Michael
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2017, 03:17 AM   #3
Masi
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 667
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mschnell View Post
Supposedly Melodyne will provide better results, and - when ARA is in place - better workflow.
A true afficionado uses the stock plugins.

Masi
Masi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2017, 05:15 AM   #4
slipstick
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: UK, near Europe
Posts: 878
Default

Expecting one of the many stock plugins in a $60 DAW to provide all the features that a $700 add-on can provide is not so much afficionado as wildly optimistic.

But with Reaper you never know so good luck anyway .

Steve
slipstick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2017, 01:51 PM   #5
zediiiii
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 21
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mschnell View Post
Supposedly Melodyne will provide better results, and - when ARA is in place - better workflow.
-Michael
Absolutely! That's really exciting if you own Melodyne. I have not made the plunge yet unfortunately - and I'm too ethical to pirate things like many of my fellow producers (grrrr). Depending on how this code is written, this could be a fairly minor patch.

I really ought to buy Melodyne someday though - it is great software.
zediiiii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2017, 03:08 PM   #6
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 9,366
Default

As slipstick points out: we need to be very happy with what Reaper provides for a very reasonable price and should be careful requesting the Cockos team to bother with reproducing stuff that already is available - and usable with Reaper - in very good quality.

-Michael (In fact not having Melody but waiting for ARA integration, pressing need, and full pocket )
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2017, 07:56 PM   #7
zediiiii
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 21
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mschnell View Post
As slipstick points out: we need to be very happy with what Reaper provides for a very reasonable price and should be careful requesting the Cockos team to bother with reproducing stuff that already is available - and usable with Reaper - in very good quality.

-Michael (In fact not having Melody but waiting for ARA integration, pressing need, and full pocket )
Great point sir. If this is a trivial bit of code as I suspect, I'd love to see it implemented - if this is a massive project requiring overhaul and investment, perhaps the Reaper team might consider charging extra for especially intensive plugins. I'd pay a reasonable price for the features.

On the other side, I think the Reaper team is really smart to focus on implementing new features that streamline existing tools (original functions that draws a larger customer base) rather than reinventing tools they can't hope to compete with that have been created and polished by dedicated teams over several decades. I just hope the code is trivial to implement - the best of both worlds can sometimes be had!
zediiiii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2017, 11:29 PM   #8
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 9,366
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zediiiii View Post
the Reaper team might consider charging extra for especially intensive plugins
AFAIK, the Reaper team (happily) does not work like this. It is very small, and because of this extremely effective, but not able to enhance their range of activities simply because of trivial reasons such as money.

In fact a request of mine (regarding the OSCII-Bot freebie) has very quickly been acknowledged, simply because it was a logical extension to the program, and there was no other way to do the stuff that I intended to use it for.

-Michael
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2017, 04:17 AM   #9
bobobo
Human being with feelings
 
bobobo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 734
Default

is reavoice defective ?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GehlHQsmXic
__________________
Quote:
CLA (about volumelevel) : who gives a shit about that, use your damn ears.
tedious reaper stuff | don't take a look at the tuned_6.0 trial | my Chordgun Variation
Don't forget the __startup.lua
bobobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2020, 12:54 PM   #10
bwsd
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: KZ ALA
Posts: 61
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mschnell View Post
Supposedly Melodyne will provide better results, and - when ARA is in place - better workflow.

-Michael
I played enough with the melodyne and its bugs.
I would be grateful to Justin for the midi input for Reatune.

Last edited by bwsd; 02-23-2020 at 03:19 PM.
bwsd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.