Old 09-13-2018, 10:01 AM   #1
Sexan
Human being with feelings
 
Sexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 2,049
Default Setting up RME800 Help (FFADO)

Ok I need ffado,jack2 and some terminal voodoo. Can anyone help please I have trouble finding any guide regarding setting it up in general. Long ago when I was playing with linux I've managed to set it up,but now I've forgot what were the steps.Anyway I'm on Arch, FFADO & jack2 installed but no communication with RME for now.
Thank you
Sexan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2018, 11:35 AM   #2
Jack Winter
Human being with feelings
 
Jack Winter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Luxembourg/Spain
Posts: 1,645
Default

I have no idea how well it works, but there was fireface support added to alsa at 1.1.4, so maybe try that first. Otherwise I suppose you have to blacklist snd-fireface so that ffado can find it.
__________________
Reaper for Linux Documentation (WIP). Software: Archlinux/KDE, Fabfilter FX, Komplete 8, Nebula, Schwa/Stillwell, T-racks Max/Amplitube/SVX, etc. Gear: i7-2600k/4700HQ/16GB, RME Multiface/Babyface, Behringer X32, Genelec 8040,etc. :)
Jack Winter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2018, 11:46 AM   #3
Sexan
Human being with feelings
 
Sexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 2,049
Default

I think that is for Fireface 400 only, but well lets try, what I need to do to "get" it with alsa ? modprobe something?

Btw You helped me get the ffado working the first time . But if I can get it with alsa even better (but again I think its only for FF400)

Code:
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: MID [HDA Intel MID], device 0: ALC889A Analog [ALC889A Analog]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: MID [HDA Intel MID], device 1: ALC889A Digital [ALC889A Digital]
  Subdevices: 0/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: HDMI [HDA ATI HDMI], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: HDMI [HDA ATI HDMI], device 7: HDMI 1 [HDMI 1]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: HDMI [HDA ATI HDMI], device 8: HDMI 2 [HDMI 2]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: HDMI [HDA ATI HDMI], device 9: HDMI 3 [HDMI 3]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: HDMI [HDA ATI HDMI], device 10: HDMI 4 [HDMI 4]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: HDMI [HDA ATI HDMI], device 11: HDMI 5 [HDMI 5]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
Its not in list here

Last edited by Sexan; 09-13-2018 at 11:53 AM.
Sexan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2018, 12:30 PM   #4
Jack Winter
Human being with feelings
 
Jack Winter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Luxembourg/Spain
Posts: 1,645
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Its not in list here
Does your system have the snd-fireface module loaded? If so, I suppose you have to blacklist snd-fireface somewhere like: /etc/modprobe.d/modprobe.conf?
__________________
Reaper for Linux Documentation (WIP). Software: Archlinux/KDE, Fabfilter FX, Komplete 8, Nebula, Schwa/Stillwell, T-racks Max/Amplitube/SVX, etc. Gear: i7-2600k/4700HQ/16GB, RME Multiface/Babyface, Behringer X32, Genelec 8040,etc. :)
Jack Winter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2018, 12:47 PM   #5
Sexan
Human being with feelings
 
Sexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 2,049
Default

I want to see alsa first (I assume blacklisting is to make ffado working).Shall i look at dmesg for module? sorry for noob questions
Sexan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2018, 01:00 PM   #6
Jack Winter
Human being with feelings
 
Jack Winter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Luxembourg/Spain
Posts: 1,645
Default

You could, or lsmod to see what's loaded.
__________________
Reaper for Linux Documentation (WIP). Software: Archlinux/KDE, Fabfilter FX, Komplete 8, Nebula, Schwa/Stillwell, T-racks Max/Amplitube/SVX, etc. Gear: i7-2600k/4700HQ/16GB, RME Multiface/Babyface, Behringer X32, Genelec 8040,etc. :)
Jack Winter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2018, 01:57 PM   #7
Sexan
Human being with feelings
 
Sexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 2,049
Default

yep its loaded correctly

Code:
snd_firewire_lib       45056  2 snd_fireface,snd_dice
snd_rawmidi            36864  3 snd_firewire_lib,snd_fireface,snd_dice
snd_hwdep              16384  3 snd_hda_codec,snd_fireface,snd_dice
firewire_core          81920  4 snd_firewire_lib,snd_fireface,firewire_ohci,snd_dice
I assume its only for FF400 since I've have been watching snd-firewire-improve module on git for a long time.Developer does not have FF800 device,and there is no mentioning FF800 in any part of the code (generaly only FF400 is mentioned)

Last edited by Sexan; 09-13-2018 at 02:10 PM.
Sexan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2018, 09:43 PM   #8
Snap
Human being with feelings
 
Snap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 841
Default

Is it working somehow? I'm curious about how the alsa support is going. I have an unused FF800 (Well, a friend of mine borrowed it like four years ago) that I stopped using because FFADO was quite a mess at the time. Alsa cards use to be way less annoying to deal with. My HDSP9652 and the STX II always work flawlesly.
Snap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2018, 12:12 AM   #9
Sexan
Human being with feelings
 
Sexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 2,049
Default

Not (yet?). Still searching the interwebs,will report if somehow I get it working. keep in mind that I do not have any linux experience (know very little,basics) so it may take some time.
Sexan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2018, 09:58 PM   #10
Snap
Human being with feelings
 
Snap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 841
Default

Thanks.
Snap is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.