Old 08-11-2018, 02:18 PM   #1
Rangler
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 456
Default Keeping all apps and plugins on external HD?

I only have a 250GB hard-drive in my MacBook. Any run all their apps and plugins from an external drive?
__________________
MacBook Pro; Late 2016, 16 GB
Rangler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2018, 03:57 PM   #2
Fergler
Human being with feelings
 
Fergler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 3,836
Default

My samples are stored on an external and loaded into a project where they are then saved to internal with the project, this is a very handy compromise so they are not being sampled off the external while the project is playing back.

The plugins are kept on the computer because I have quite a lot and its still only 1 gig of executables (some plugins keep their related samples next to them, so I'm not counting those.

__________________
Check out my hip-hop, funk-rock band Theatre Crisp
Fergler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2018, 08:19 PM   #3
Aeolian
Human being with feelings
 
Aeolian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Somewhere PRO
Posts: 969
Default

What Fergler said....

It's ok to run the app and plugins from usb, reaper will load everything into ram anyway... but you want to avoid streaming any samples, unless your 2nd drive and connection are very fast, like usb3.

Edit: my ssd C drive is only 128gb. It's 100x faster than all my other drives put together, so I have to run everything off of it.
Sadly, it's the sample and loop data that benefits the most from residing on the ssd... thankfully it's only 60gb (relatively small), and my reaper+plugins folder is about 2gb, leaving me about 40-50gb for recording.

I really need a bigger ssd drive
__________________
Resistors are futile, you will be simulated ...

Last edited by Aeolian; 08-11-2018 at 08:30 PM.
Aeolian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2018, 08:55 PM   #4
Rangler
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 456
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aeolian View Post
What Fergler said....

It's ok to run the app and plugins from usb, reaper will load everything into ram anyway... but you want to avoid streaming any samples, unless your 2nd drive and connection are very fast, like usb3.

Edit: my ssd C drive is only 128gb. It's 100x faster than all my other drives put together, so I have to run everything off of it.
Sadly, it's the sample and loop data that benefits the most from residing on the ssd... thankfully it's only 60gb (relatively small), and my reaper+plugins folder is about 2gb, leaving me about 40-50gb for recording.

I really need a bigger ssd drive
How about an external SSD USB3?
__________________
MacBook Pro; Late 2016, 16 GB
Rangler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2018, 07:38 PM   #5
vdubreeze
Human being with feelings
 
vdubreeze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Brooklyn
Posts: 1,569
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rangler View Post
How about an external SSD USB3?
The Samsung T5 500G External is down to $130. A real sweet spot, as the 1T size is only down to $280 (and the 250G doesn't give you enough). If your Mac is new enough to have USB3 it's a great thing to have. I run plugins and Reaper app from the internal but have samples/libraries on and record to the Samsung. Works great. My MBP is 2015. Your 2016 should rock it good.

https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produ...table_ssd.html
__________________
The reason rain dances work is because they don't stop dancing until it rains.
vdubreeze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2018, 08:21 PM   #6
serr
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 7,691
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rangler View Post
I only have a 250GB hard-drive in my MacBook. Any run all their apps and plugins from an external drive?
If you put a SSD in a thunderbolt enclosure you could get the same performance you had with an internal SATA SSD. If you have one of the newer models with the M.2 pci SSD internal, then it would be a performance downgrade but possibly a moot point.

External USB drives would be a downgrade but you'd be able to boot to one and run smaller projects in a pinch. Depending on what you're doing, you might not have any trouble at all.

The bang for the buck with a TB external SSD vs. upgrading the internal SSD to a larger one might not be so good. But if that's not really the question and it's more "Is this possible in a pinch?" then you should be fine. You can always copy that larger project to your internal if you have trouble.

If you organize yourself to use the internal SSD for OS/apps and the free space for your high performance workspace and then use externals for data archive and backup, you'll get the most bang for the buck.
serr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.