Old 02-02-2019, 08:38 PM   #1
insub
Human being with feelings
 
insub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Louisville, KY, USA
Posts: 1,019
Default Davinci Resolve File Format

Can anyone recommend a render setting for working with Davinci Resolve 15?

I have video that I'm editing audio for in Reaper. Then, my people plan to use Davinci Resolve 15 to add titles and effects later. Looking at the list of Supported Formats and Codecs I'm not sure which lossless format/codec combination I should use when rendering out from Reaper.

If you have any collaborative workflow recommendations for switching between these two tools, I'd love to hear them!

The situation I have is that the source video is already compressed MPEG-2. I'm concerned that multiple transcodings to H264 will degrade the video unnecessarily. Maybe I'm being a little vain here, but the source video is not that great of quality to begin with so I don't want to make it any worse. Am I worrying over nothing?
__________________
Everything you need to know about samplerates and oversampling... maybe!
My Essential FREE 64bit VST Effects, ReaEQ Presets for Instruments
Windows 10 64 bit; MOTU 828 MKII, Audio Express, & 8PRE; Behringer ADA8000
insub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2019, 04:07 AM   #2
mespotine
Human being with feelings
 
mespotine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Leipzig, Germany
Posts: 832
Default

Could exporting using EDL-files be a way to go?
That way, you wouldn't need to render it out first.

https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=192860

Davinci seems to accept EDL...
__________________
Ultraschall-API - a Lua-functions-library4Reaper: https://forum.cockos.com/showthread....98#post2067798
Reaper Internals - Developerdocs4Reaper: https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=207635
mespotine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2019, 01:36 PM   #3
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 8,463
Default

If you're only working on the audio part I'd just render the audio out and let the audio/video combining part do the video editors, this way you'd save a conversion (if I understand correctly).
nofish is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2019, 03:19 PM   #4
clepsydrae
Human being with feelings
 
clepsydrae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2,311
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nofish View Post
If you're only working on the audio part I'd just render the audio out and let the audio/video combining part do the video editors, this way you'd save a conversion (if I understand correctly).
Agreed. Hopefully no video rendering is even necessary.

But in terms of going in to Resolve, I assume you've seen this.

I've had success generating level 4 H.264 MP4's on the way in to resolve, but the ones generated with ffmpeg in linux seem to offend it. The ones I make with Handbrake in Windows work.

In terms of lossless, at least with some version of Resolve (not sure about current) I was able to do it with uncompressed MOV 8bit RGB, and in theory one could also do 10bit RGB, or YUV 8 or 10 bit. The linux ffmpeg encode command (adaptable for whatever version of ffmpeg) for raw 8-bit RGB would be:

Code:
ffmpeg -i sourcevideo.xyz -c:a copy -c:v rawvideo -pix_fmt rgb24 output_for_resolve.mov
Of course such files are huge and must be on a fast disk for playback. Hopefully you don't really need to make them in the first place.

I don't know if any of that is applicable to reaper's video rendering output options; I'd guess you'd want to do the video rendering part separately.

H.264 can theoretically do lossless encoding, but I've never had any success trying it (seems totally unsupported by players, etc.)

Anyway, hopefully it's moot.
clepsydrae is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2019, 03:48 PM   #5
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 23,459
Default

Would be nice if reaper had an archive quality codec/render ability like Davinci does for when these things are needed. +1 on the just render the audio, that's how I do it. I've been using Davinci since about August 2018 and ended up getting the pro version (partly because the free version restricts CPU/GPU performance).
karbomusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2019, 09:45 AM   #6
clepsydrae
Human being with feelings
 
clepsydrae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2,311
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by karbomusic View Post
I've been using Davinci since about August 2018 and ended up getting the pro version (partly because the free version restricts CPU/GPU performance).
Oh no, really? Any links? I hadn't heard that...
clepsydrae is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2019, 09:54 AM   #7
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 23,459
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clepsydrae View Post
Oh no, really? Any links? I hadn't heard that...
I know... I saw it on a forum and it's well-hidden enough that I've seen various "what's the difference" articles that don't mention it. Here are a few that mattered to me personally that aren't in the free version - editing/glitches/performance improved noticeably when I got the pro version:

Multiple image processing GPUs | No
H.264 accelerated encoding with hi-spec NVIDIA GPUs | No
Timeline frame rates greater than 60fps | No
HEVC decoding | No

REF: http://documents.blackmagicdesign.co...Comparison.pdf
karbomusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2019, 10:01 AM   #8
TheMaartian
Human being with feelings
 
TheMaartian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Flagstaff, AZ
Posts: 337
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by karbomusic View Post
I know... I saw it on a forum and it's well-hidden enough that I've seen various "what's the difference" articles that don't mention it. Here are a few that mattered to me personally that aren't in the free version - editing/glitches/performance improved noticeably when I got the pro version:

Multiple image processing GPUs | No
H.264 accelerated encoding with hi-spec NVIDIA GPUs | No
Timeline frame rates greater than 60fps | No
HEVC decoding | No

REF: http://documents.blackmagicdesign.co...Comparison.pdf
So, do I just go with Filmora Pro for making YouTube videos?

I've just installed Resolve. No CUDA support in the free version is a beatch. The Pro version is, what, $300? Filmora Pro is half that.

I'd hate to get up-to-speed on Resolve and then get disappointed.

Sigh.
__________________
Intel i7 @ 3.4 GHz, 16 GB RAM, 2 TB HD; Win10 Home x64; AudioBox 44VSL
Studio One 4 Pro; Notion 6; Melodyne 4 Studio; Guitar Pro 7; Gig Performer 3
PreSonus FaderPort; Nektar P6; M-Audio BX8 D2; Beyerdynamic DT 880 Pro
TheMaartian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2019, 10:10 AM   #9
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 23,459
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheMaartian View Post
I'd hate to get up-to-speed on Resolve and then get disappointed.

Sigh.
The free version is just fine, other than it can be a little laggy when compositing etc. Even pro has a ceiling... like any app will if we give it enough work to do on hi-rez video, but pro is a more snappy when editing due to the additional GPUs allowed. The main thing with resolve, is it likes a modern video card that can handle the load. 4GB card should do it, when I used a 1GB card from 2012, it couldn't handle it. When I went to a new card (1050ti), it was a literal night and day difference and going to pro made it even better.

That said, I love Davinci, even when I had just the free version. IIRC at least for now, all future updates/upgrades are free so keep that in mind. I could be wrong but I don't know of another free video editor that comes remotely close to the power of Davinci but I only tried a few before I switched.
karbomusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2019, 10:53 AM   #10
clepsydrae
Human being with feelings
 
clepsydrae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2,311
Default

Thanks for the details; I'm not too affected by those limitations.

And yeah, in terms of free, nothing even approaches it.
clepsydrae is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2019, 01:42 PM   #11
TheMaartian
Human being with feelings
 
TheMaartian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Flagstaff, AZ
Posts: 337
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by karbomusic View Post
The free version is just fine, other than it can be a little laggy when compositing etc. Even pro has a ceiling... like any app will if we give it enough work to do on hi-rez video, but pro is a more snappy when editing due to the additional GPUs allowed. The main thing with resolve, is it likes a modern video card that can handle the load. 4GB card should do it, when I used a 1GB card from 2012, it couldn't handle it. When I went to a new card (1050ti), it was a literal night and day difference and going to pro made it even better.

That said, I love Davinci, even when I had just the free version. IIRC at least for now, all future updates/upgrades are free so keep that in mind. I could be wrong but I don't know of another free video editor that comes remotely close to the power of Davinci but I only tried a few before I switched.
I bought an inexpensive Gigabyte 750Ti 4GB to replace the original video card in my Dell XPS when Win10 arrived and a driver for it didn't.

All I'll be doing is YouTube videos for my website. No heavy lifting there.

OK, I'll give it a go.

I'd rather put the $150 toward a Rumble 115 cab to go with my 200 combo!
__________________
Intel i7 @ 3.4 GHz, 16 GB RAM, 2 TB HD; Win10 Home x64; AudioBox 44VSL
Studio One 4 Pro; Notion 6; Melodyne 4 Studio; Guitar Pro 7; Gig Performer 3
PreSonus FaderPort; Nektar P6; M-Audio BX8 D2; Beyerdynamic DT 880 Pro
TheMaartian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2019, 02:21 PM   #12
clepsydrae
Human being with feelings
 
clepsydrae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2,311
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheMaartian View Post
OK, I'll give it a go.
Do watch some tutorial videos... I semi-hated it at first and now that I'm used to it I love it. It's a little quirky in terms of UI.
clepsydrae is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2019, 02:33 PM   #13
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 23,459
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clepsydrae View Post
Do watch some tutorial videos...
Here are a few I learned much of what I know from...

JayAreTV

Casey Faris

MiesnerMedia
karbomusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2019, 02:42 PM   #14
clepsydrae
Human being with feelings
 
clepsydrae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2,311
Default

Do you ever use the integrated Fusion? I was excited to get in to that, but it was always just crashing or exhibiting crazy bugs, corrupting projects, etc, so I stopped bothering...
clepsydrae is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2019, 02:44 PM   #15
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 23,459
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clepsydrae View Post
Do you ever use the integrated Fusion? I was excited to get in to that, but it was always just crashing or exhibiting crazy bugs, corrupting projects, etc, so I stopped bothering...
I do but some of what it offers is available in the color grading section so when possible I use that instead (since fusion can be slow). That said, my fusion issues went way down when I upgraded my video card. Before that, fusion and/or davinci crashed far more often - I think it's because if it runs out of GPU memory it can't handle it and goes poof. After upgrading the card, the stability went way up.

There's also a new update out (I think). 15.2.something.
karbomusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2019, 02:47 PM   #16
clepsydrae
Human being with feelings
 
clepsydrae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2,311
Default

I have a GTX GeForce 1060 6GB -- how does that rank for this application in your estimation?
clepsydrae is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2019, 02:52 PM   #17
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 23,459
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clepsydrae View Post
I have a GTX GeForce 1060 6GB -- how does that rank for this application in your estimation?
Better than mine (1050ti 4GB) so that's possibly not it. I'll try to play with fusion soon and see if it gives me any grief.
karbomusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2019, 02:54 PM   #18
clepsydrae
Human being with feelings
 
clepsydrae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2,311
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by karbomusic View Post
Better than mine (1050ti 4GB) so that's possibly not it. I'll try to play with fusion soon and see if it gives me any grief.
It's been a while since I gave it a go, so they've probably fixed a bunch of stuff. I think I'm on the latest now, so maybe I'll try again some time soon.
clepsydrae is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2019, 03:18 PM   #19
TheMaartian
Human being with feelings
 
TheMaartian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Flagstaff, AZ
Posts: 337
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by karbomusic View Post
Here are a few I learned much of what I know from...

JayAreTV

Casey Faris

MiesnerMedia
Thanks!
__________________
Intel i7 @ 3.4 GHz, 16 GB RAM, 2 TB HD; Win10 Home x64; AudioBox 44VSL
Studio One 4 Pro; Notion 6; Melodyne 4 Studio; Guitar Pro 7; Gig Performer 3
PreSonus FaderPort; Nektar P6; M-Audio BX8 D2; Beyerdynamic DT 880 Pro
TheMaartian is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.