Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Pre-Release Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-03-2010, 10:55 AM   #81
vinx
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: France
Posts: 712
Default

yep, +1 for dual panning mode. We all want it because it's the usual way to pan two mono tracks on a mixingdesk when making stereo couple (overhead, stereo samples...).
Some Desks, like The Neve VR have stereo tracks with width (0 to 200%)and balance.This is close to the reaper stereo width mode (width 0-100%+pan L to R)which is in fact a Mid-Side mode but without the expansion possibility (100-200%)...

Last edited by vinx; 12-03-2010 at 11:54 AM.
vinx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2010, 12:24 PM   #82
yagonnawantthatcowbell
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 344
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yagonnawantthatcowbell View Post
Is there going to be a way to adjust the width slider from the Mackie control?
?????
yagonnawantthatcowbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 04:15 AM   #83
Geoff Waddington
Human being with feelings
 
Geoff Waddington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,763
Default

I've just had a quick look at this and I believe Width to the left of zero means reverse n'est-ce pas?

I don't find that function useful to my workflow so I'll just map the positive half.

I like the width / placement metaphor, I think I'll map it to the MCU thusly:

I never use the bottom half of the LCD display for metering because it's just to clunky, I use the Reaper meters on a big screen.

That means I can use the meter characters to indicate ever increasing width as the display fills to the right.

The push switch on the Pan vPot will switch between Pan / Width modes.

Hmm... let's see, think I'll use the little LED in the lower middle center to indicate you're Width mode.

Hmmmm, time to have a little programming fun on a Saturday morning
__________________
CSI - You can donate here: geoffwaddington.ca
Pre alpha software: https://stash.reaper.fm/v/33037/CSI%20pre%20alpha.zip
Reaper forum thread: https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=183143

Last edited by Geoff Waddington; 12-04-2010 at 05:40 AM.
Geoff Waddington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 08:12 AM   #84
Spyrow
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 522
Default

width is great but +1 for dual panning!
Spyrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 08:13 AM   #85
politcat
Human being with feelings
 
politcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: stuck in transition
Posts: 1,850
Default

whatever the implementation, we need to have control over both the width and the placement of a stereo signal. Just KISS
politcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 09:15 AM   #86
Kundalinguist
Human being with feelings
 
Kundalinguist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,577
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spyrow View Post
width is great but +1 for dual panning!
Yup. It has its benefits.
__________________
Success is just one more plugin away! And happiness is as close as your next upgrade.
Kundalinguist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 10:50 AM   #87
Geoff Waddington
Human being with feelings
 
Geoff Waddington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,763
Default

Hmm... I just had a look at reaper_plugin_functions.h and I see an implementation of CSurf_OnWidthChange, but not the usual bookend CSurf_SetSurfaceWidth so that we can get feedback from the app to set the Width indicator on the surface. Is this the right place to request this?
__________________
CSI - You can donate here: geoffwaddington.ca
Pre alpha software: https://stash.reaper.fm/v/33037/CSI%20pre%20alpha.zip
Reaper forum thread: https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=183143
Geoff Waddington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 10:59 AM   #88
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: brighton, uk
Posts: 12,589
Default

Has anyone also noticed that reasurround has a stereo mode which allows pretty advanced placement of the left and right signal, especially since you can diffuse either channel too for additional bleed.
musicbynumbers is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 11:00 AM   #89
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: brighton, uk
Posts: 12,589
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff Waddington View Post
Hmm... I just had a look at reaper_plugin_functions.h and I see an implementation of CSurf_OnWidthChange, but not the usual bookend CSurf_SetSurfaceWidth so that we can get feedback from the app to set the Width indicator on the surface. Is this the right place to request this?
I'd be interested in this as well as hopefully Klinke could add it to the mcu mod as an additional mode.
musicbynumbers is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 12:13 PM   #90
ts335
Human being with feelings
 
ts335's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 139
Default

Agree that visually it could use some work, but using my ears, I really like this addition to the track/channel strip. I too have been using chanmix. I'm remixing a tune in alpha V4 to get the feel of it and the ability to have width and pan is nice.
ts335 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 04:33 PM   #91
joaobgb
Human being with feelings
 
joaobgb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Lisboa
Posts: 224
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicbynumbers View Post
I'd be interested in this as well as hopefully Klinke could add it to the mcu mod as an additional mode.
+1 that would be great
joaobgb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 09:00 AM   #92
fly
Human being with feelings
 
fly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 254
Default

does this allow to have the same volume in the center as on the left/right ?
fly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 09:01 AM   #93
Jason Brian Merrill
Human being with feelings
 
Jason Brian Merrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Northeastern PA, USA
Posts: 20,736
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fly View Post
does this allow to have the same volume in the center as on the left/right ?
wouldnt that just be pan law settings?
__________________
Beliefs do not require respect. People do.
Jason Brian Merrill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 09:41 AM   #94
fly
Human being with feelings
 
fly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 254
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason Brian Merrill View Post
wouldnt that just be pan law settings?
yeah , well i remember there was an fr to make it easier to change the pan law and make it more effective.
fly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 11:41 AM   #95
benebomber
Human being with feelings
 
benebomber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 197
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Renan L.B View Post
Here's what i've been hoping for V4 since the old days of FR requests regarding different Stereo Pan modes:

[IMG]http://img713.**************/img713/8529/pandream.png[/IMG]
+1, absolutely!!!
__________________
Quad XEON 2,66GHz w/4GB, Win7 64, Reaper 32 and 64, NI Maschine Mikro, Echo Audiofire, 15,4" i7 MBP w/8GB, PMC TB-2, FMR RNLA, Lexicon LXP-5, Denon tape deck, DSI Evolver, Roland JX-8P, Epiphone the Dot
benebomber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 12:10 PM   #96
G-Sun
Human being with feelings
 
G-Sun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Norway
Posts: 7,182
Default

Cool
__________________
Reaper x64, win 8.1
G-Sun.no - Music Blog - My music
G-Sun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 12:48 PM   #97
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: brighton, uk
Posts: 12,589
Default

I'd be down with that

once we have knobs (which is the hard part) we can satisfy the guys who want knobs instead of faders)
musicbynumbers is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 11:50 PM   #98
yagonnawantthatcowbell
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 344
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff Waddington View Post
I've just had a quick look at this and I believe Width to the left of zero means reverse n'est-ce pas?

I don't find that function useful to my workflow so I'll just map the positive half.

I like the width / placement metaphor, I think I'll map it to the MCU thusly:

I never use the bottom half of the LCD display for metering because it's just to clunky, I use the Reaper meters on a big screen.

That means I can use the meter characters to indicate ever increasing width as the display fills to the right.

The push switch on the Pan vPot will switch between Pan / Width modes.

Hmm... let's see, think I'll use the little LED in the lower middle center to indicate you're Width mode.

Hmmmm, time to have a little programming fun on a Saturday morning
Geoff, +1, good luck with the programming. Would like to see official support, though, as I'm on a mac.
yagonnawantthatcowbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2010, 09:33 AM   #99
griz lee
Human being with feelings
 
griz lee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: in a hotel room near you
Posts: 1,175
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vinx View Post
yep, +1 for dual panning mode. We all want it because it's the usual way to pan two mono tracks on a mixingdesk when making stereo couple (overhead, stereo samples...).
Some Desks, like The Neve VR have stereo tracks with width (0 to 200%)and balance.This is close to the reaper stereo width mode (width 0-100%+pan L to R)which is in fact a Mid-Side mode but without the expansion possibility (100-200%)...
Gawd! I never noticed that 200% width thing on the VR. I guess that's the problem of using other people's facilities to work in!

If reaper could go to 200%, i'd definately notice that however - a most welcome addition.
griz lee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2010, 08:18 PM   #100
Shan
Human being with feelings
 
Shan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 2,277
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vinx View Post
yep, +1 for dual panning mode. We all want it because it's the usual way to pan two mono tracks on a mixingdesk when making stereo couple (overhead, stereo samples...
Another +1.

Shane
__________________
"Music should be performed by the musician not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM
Shan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 01:19 AM   #101
G-Sun
Human being with feelings
 
G-Sun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Norway
Posts: 7,182
Default

+1 for 200% possibility
__________________
Reaper x64, win 8.1
G-Sun.no - Music Blog - My music
G-Sun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 03:11 AM   #102
70srocker
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 245
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Renan L.B View Post
Here's what i've been hoping for V4 since the old days of FR requests regarding different Stereo Pan modes:

[IMG]http://img713.**************/img713/8529/pandream.png[/IMG]
well, its finally here!
70srocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 04:04 AM   #103
jdutaillis
Human being with feelings
 
jdutaillis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 511
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 70srocker View Post
well, its finally here!
Where?
__________________
REAPER | Prism Sound Orpheus | Edirol PCR-M50 | Genelec 8020a + 7050B
Check out my website and blog HERE!
jdutaillis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 08:12 AM   #104
jonyjazy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 270
Default

With pan and width I don´t see how I can pan a stereo sound fully left
(left channel 100% left, right channel 100% left for exemple ).
We need proper left and right channel separeted sliders, me thinks

please
jonyjazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 08:16 AM   #105
Mercado_Negro
Moderator
 
Mercado_Negro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Caracas, Venezuela
Posts: 8,245
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonyjazy View Post
With pan and width I don´t see how I can pan a stereo sound fully left
(left channel 100% left, right channel 100% left for exemple ).
We need proper left and right channel separeted sliders, me thinks

please
Use Stereo Pan mode, move width to 0% and pan 100% L.
__________________
Pressure is what turns coal into diamonds - Michael a.k.a. Runaway
Mercado_Negro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 08:32 AM   #106
Mercado_Negro
Moderator
 
Mercado_Negro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Caracas, Venezuela
Posts: 8,245
Default



[EDIT]
__________________
Pressure is what turns coal into diamonds - Michael a.k.a. Runaway
Mercado_Negro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 08:40 AM   #107
jonyjazy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 270
Default

Thanks got it. But seems a little confusing to me.
jonyjazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 08:53 AM   #108
Mercado_Negro
Moderator
 
Mercado_Negro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Caracas, Venezuela
Posts: 8,245
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonyjazy View Post
Thanks got it. But seems a little confusing to me.
It seems to be for some people, yeah. You just summed to mono (width 0%) and then panned that to the left. Once you understand how this thing works, it's pretty simple, trust me
__________________
Pressure is what turns coal into diamonds - Michael a.k.a. Runaway
Mercado_Negro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2010, 01:28 PM   #109
RobertAshley
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 66
Default

I seriously can't find the stereo width option anywhere. It's driving me bonkers. There is no "track layout" option in my track menu. There is no layout option when I right click the track. There is no panning behavior drop-down when I right lick the panning bar. Seriously, it's like you guys are using a different program than I am.
RobertAshley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2010, 01:43 PM   #110
Louie
Human being with feelings
 
Louie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 190
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RobertAshley View Post
I seriously can't find the stereo width option anywhere. It's driving me bonkers. There is no "track layout" option in my track menu. There is no layout option when I right click the track. There is no panning behavior drop-down when I right lick the panning bar. Seriously, it's like you guys are using a different program than I am.
What version are you using?
__________________
www.facebook.com/RealOnlytwin
Louie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2010, 01:50 PM   #111
RobertAshley
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 66
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Louie View Post
What version are you using?
Your response made me check the thread title, and now I feel like a complete idiot. I'm using ver. 3.73, and I found this thread in a search. All I'm trying to do is control the width of a stereo track so that it's not automatically panned to extremes, but I'm having no luck with the manual (or Google, apparently). Any tips? Thanks.
RobertAshley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2010, 01:55 PM   #112
BlackBart
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 791
Default

Also, consider this: a link/unlink function for the dual panners. They could be linked at any position, and then be panned...and automated...in tandem. I've also seen reverse link, and variable percent link, but that might be difficult to impliment.

This is something like a simplified one button version of the parameter modulation on plugins.
BlackBart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2010, 02:06 PM   #113
bullshark
Human being with feelings
 
bullshark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: traîne mes guêtres en Québec...
Posts: 5,390
Default

Would you guys please stop quoting Renan image. Please, I beg you, it make the thread completely unreadable.





And 1440 pixel wide image for a single fader lane, and most of it white space ? Seriously, WTF?
bullshark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2010, 02:35 PM   #114
Louie
Human being with feelings
 
Louie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 190
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RobertAshley View Post
Your response made me check the thread title, and now I feel like a complete idiot. I'm using ver. 3.73, and I found this thread in a search. All I'm trying to do is control the width of a stereo track so that it's not automatically panned to extremes, but I'm having no luck with the manual (or Google, apparently). Any tips? Thanks.
Download the pre-release or use JS stereofield
__________________
www.facebook.com/RealOnlytwin
Louie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2010, 03:14 PM   #115
Panatrope
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 28
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicbynumbers View Post
And me too, perhaps a built in MS decoder mode too!
+1 on bringing the M-S matrixing into the mixer instead of a plugin (regular M-S user).

Selecting the M-S mode would implement a sum and difference matrix and width by a balance (differential gain) control pre-matrix and position by stereo balance/pan post matrix.
__________________
Pan: (Gr) all, everything
Tropos: (Gr) turn.
Loose translation: all rounder!
Panatrope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2010, 07:57 AM   #116
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 12,272
Default

Please do it similar to to Cubase/Nuendo to visualize the panning mode(s) too! I absolutely have no clue what these "Pan modes" mean in REAPER!





Also why is "Pan mode" not available on the Master track?
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2010, 08:47 AM   #117
semiquaver
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 4,909
Default

what do I need to do to see a width control in my own theme do I need another image in the theme - does anyone have the name off hand? hoping I don't have to do WALTER writing....

And my .02 - width + balance works for me, I find dual pan relatively confusing...
semiquaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2010, 08:56 AM   #118
Thehaxx
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 72
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dstruct View Post
Please do it similar to to Cubase/Nuendo to visualize the panning mode(s) too! I absolutely have no clue what these "Pan modes" mean in REAPER!





Also why is "Pan mode" not available on the Master track?
OMFG! +2000. Please lets do it this wayyyyyyyy.
Thehaxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2010, 04:09 AM   #119
bob
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Scottish refugee in Germany
Posts: 4,012
Default cannot figure panning

ok silly me.sused it.
__________________
SoundCloud Channel
https://soundcloud.com/stream

Last edited by bob; 12-10-2010 at 04:30 AM.
bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2010, 05:01 AM   #120
todd_r
Human being with feelings
 
todd_r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 439
Default

The width and pan mode as it is would be WAY easier for people to unserstand if there ws some visual representation of what was happening, but seperate left and right pan options would be good too. The only way to swap L and R over with the current implementation would be to have width go to -100 (does it do that? At work at the moment).
todd_r is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.