Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Pre-Release Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-06-2011, 04:46 AM   #241
gofer
-blänk-
 
gofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 11,093
Default

What for? Width will default to 100% when created, so I'd think it should reset to there. 100% width is the unity setting. Right now doubleclick to reset results in a track sound mono, that can't be intended. Sort of as if volume faders would reset to -inf.
gofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2011, 04:49 AM   #242
run, megalodon
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2,860
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gofer View Post
What for? Width will default to 100% when created, so I'd think it should reset to there. 100% width is the unity setting. Right now doubleclick to reset results in a track sound mono, that can't be intended. Sort of as if volume faders would reset to -inf.
I agree, makes perfect sense.
run, megalodon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2011, 05:03 AM   #243
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 12,272
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gofer View Post
What for?
Just a feeling Don't know. Maybe you're right ...
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2011, 08:02 AM   #244
Mercado_Negro
Moderator
 
Mercado_Negro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Caracas, Venezuela
Posts: 8,245
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gofer View Post
Doubleclick the width slider resets width to zero. Shouldn't it reset to +100%?
Yep, it should go back to 100%
__________________
Pressure is what turns coal into diamonds - Michael a.k.a. Runaway
Mercado_Negro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 05:09 PM   #245
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: brighton, uk
Posts: 12,589
Default "Negative nancy" post warning ;)

Anyone else finding the new options a little counter intuitive?

I teach pan law to my students but even I had to have an actual play around to confirm the way reaper now handles it. Really don't think the naming convention is clear at the moment.
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 05:50 PM   #246
Mercado_Negro
Moderator
 
Mercado_Negro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Caracas, Venezuela
Posts: 8,245
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicbynumbers View Post
Anyone else finding the new options a little counter intuitive?

I teach pan law to my students but even I had to have an actual play around to confirm the way reaper now handles it. Really don't think the naming convention is clear at the moment.
What part? which names?
__________________
Pressure is what turns coal into diamonds - Michael a.k.a. Runaway
Mercado_Negro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 06:42 PM   #247
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: brighton, uk
Posts: 12,589
Default

Good point Mercado not much use posting if I can't explain why

too late tonight though for detailed explanation but will aim to post tomorrow with screenshots if I get time.

It's just some of the nomenclature that doesn't make sense compared to what we had before and I'm use to in other daws.

I just wanted to see if I'm the only one

Plus there really does seem to be a volume bug when panning if you set it to -6.0, compensated, stereo pan (sinusoidal taper)
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 09:04 PM   #248
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5,313
Default

There's not too often I want to limit my stereo width on purpose.

How about L C R buttons for each channel on the track. That's all I need.
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 09:16 PM   #249
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 12,272
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicbynumbers View Post
Plus there really does seem to be a volume bug when panning if you set it to -6.0, compensated, stereo pan (sinusoidal taper)
Only happens with mono signals? Limitation you we have to live with I think.
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2011, 01:53 AM   #250
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: brighton, uk
Posts: 12,589
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dstruct View Post
Only happens with mono signals? Limitation you we have to live with I think.
I found it happening on stereo tracks, not tried it on mono ones yet.
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2011, 02:16 AM   #251
j79
Human being with feelings
 
j79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Göteborg
Posts: 1,320
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EpicSounds View Post
There's not too often I want to limit my stereo width on purpose.

How about L C R buttons for each channel on the track. That's all I need.
But any change to the panning of left or right in a stereo-signal (with a swap of left and right as the only exception) is narrowing the width, no?

You ARE narrowing the width when you pan left or right around, whether its done using the width parameter, seperate pans for each channel or left/right/center buttons
j79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2011, 06:45 AM   #252
rennect
Human being with feelings
 
rennect's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Russian Federation
Posts: 221
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gofer View Post
Width will default to 100% when created, so I'd think it should reset to there.
I don't agree. If it will reset to 100%, then it will be very hard to set it precisely to 0%. And setting to 100% is always easy.
__________________
FR Promotion: Session View | Preset manager
rennect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2011, 07:23 AM   #253
asseca
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Portugal
Posts: 21
Default

If the Width would reset to 0%, then that track would have a Mono output (i.e. no stereo image), that would be seriously confusing to a lot of new users ...
asseca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2011, 08:24 AM   #254
insertpizhere
Human being with feelings
 
insertpizhere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 32
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rennect View Post
If it will reset to 100%, then it will be very hard to set it precisely to 0%. And setting to 100% is always easy.
i agree. it should default to 100% but reset to 0% on double-click.
insertpizhere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2011, 09:00 PM   #255
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5,313
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by j79 View Post
But any change to the panning of left or right in a stereo-signal (with a swap of left and right as the only exception) is narrowing the width, no?

You ARE narrowing the width when you pan left or right around, whether its done using the width parameter, seperate pans for each channel or left/right/center buttons
I don't pan stereo sources. Mic position determines width. Left, Right and center are the only pan positions I use the vast majority of the time.
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2011, 07:42 AM   #256
acumen
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2
Default

width: 0-100% (0 = off)
О_о

Last edited by acumen; 01-15-2011 at 08:08 AM.
acumen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2011, 07:50 AM   #257
Mike Stop Continues
Human being with feelings
 
Mike Stop Continues's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 531
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by acumen View Post

О_о
Great idea!
__________________
-Mike Stop Continues
ReaMenus ...the better menu set.
Mike Stop Continues is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2011, 01:50 PM   #258
Mercado_Negro
Moderator
 
Mercado_Negro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Caracas, Venezuela
Posts: 8,245
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mercado_Negro View Post
Please Cockos, give us the ability to select a bunch of tracks and change their pan mode/pan law/compensation all at once, please
Bump!
__________________
Pressure is what turns coal into diamonds - Michael a.k.a. Runaway
Mercado_Negro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2011, 06:24 PM   #259
PedroSobota
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 66
Default

Is the stereo width control based on SStillwell/stereowidth?
PedroSobota is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2011, 03:41 AM   #260
Subz
Human being with feelings
 
Subz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 2,950
Default

got to say that i love the new panning & Balance Modes (& the new width control)

i have V3 tracks that i used panning in & when i open them in v4 & swap the panning law for the new default it always sound better (So Far)

always just "Better" i have not had to fix any panning broken by the new panning settings

i was completely unimpressed by this feature when reading the first V4 alpha0 change log, how foolish was i?

Subz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2011, 04:17 AM   #261
bblue
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: El Cajon, CA (San Diego)
Posts: 593
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PedroSobota View Post
Is the stereo width control based on SStillwell/stereowidth?
Nope. It's 100% stereo on the right, mono in the middle and 100% stereo with channels reversed on the left. There's no mid-side manipulation.

--Bill
bblue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2011, 03:45 AM   #262
Lowell Mather 5150
Human being with feelings
 
Lowell Mather 5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Central Coast, CA
Posts: 300
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mercado_Negro View Post
You can't control the width of something that's mono (remember each channel is just a mono 'source'). When you say "narrow the beam" you're just talking about a psycho-acoustical 'phenom' that happens when one of the channels is 'leaked' to the opposite side by panning but you aren't really widening/narrowing the image of something that doesn't have a stereo image to start with. Right now you can't place one channel at X and then(separately) move the opposite channel to Y, that's true, but you can effectively place both channels at X and Y, respectively, by moving both pan and width in Stereo Pan mode. Different ways to get you there, that's all.



Yes, it it possible. Once you move the width fader to negative values the stereo image is reversed so if you need to put R to L and L to R you just need to move the width fader to -100%.
If I know you Mercado, you are referring to a true mono signal right - not a mono signal that has been converted to stereo right?
Lowell Mather 5150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2011, 03:57 AM   #263
Lowell Mather 5150
Human being with feelings
 
Lowell Mather 5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Central Coast, CA
Posts: 300
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bullshark View Post
Track templates make this completely unnecessary and redundant.
No that's a great idea, when you're dealing with folders, etc., you can automatically set the 0db pan law

I just wish v3 was offered sinusoidal pan
Lowell Mather 5150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2011, 06:30 AM   #264
Mercado_Negro
Moderator
 
Mercado_Negro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Caracas, Venezuela
Posts: 8,245
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lowell Mather 5150 View Post
If I know you Mercado, you are referring to a true mono signal right - not a mono signal that has been converted to stereo right?
Could you please explain what you mean by 'true' mono or how you converted a mono signal to stereo?
__________________
Pressure is what turns coal into diamonds - Michael a.k.a. Runaway
Mercado_Negro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2011, 07:14 AM   #265
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 12,272
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dstruct View Post
Still zipper noises on the new panner modes in 4.0alpha17!
Still zipper noise in 4.0alpha50a!


FIXED (4.0beta1)

Last edited by Dstruct; 05-04-2011 at 09:40 AM.
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 07:54 AM   #266
Mercado_Negro
Moderator
 
Mercado_Negro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Caracas, Venezuela
Posts: 8,245
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mercado_Negro View Post
Please Cockos, give us the ability to select a bunch of tracks and change their pan mode/pan law/compensation all at once, please
Another friendly bump!
__________________
Pressure is what turns coal into diamonds - Michael a.k.a. Runaway
Mercado_Negro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2011, 11:55 AM   #267
Lowell Mather 5150
Human being with feelings
 
Lowell Mather 5150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Central Coast, CA
Posts: 300
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mercado_Negro View Post
Could you please explain what you mean by 'true' mono or how you converted a mono signal to stereo?
I don't think I understood the discussion clearly but what I was
saying was that if you take say a mono guitar track then put a stereo
chorus on there that would be a stereo signal - I think I was talking
about something else.


For a free visual panning tool I don't think you can beat Flux.
Lowell Mather 5150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2011, 02:30 PM   #268
Mercado_Negro
Moderator
 
Mercado_Negro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Caracas, Venezuela
Posts: 8,245
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lowell Mather 5150 View Post
I don't think I understood the discussion clearly but what I was
saying was that if you take say a mono guitar track then put a stereo
chorus on there that would be a stereo signal - I think I was talking
about something else.
Yes, you're correct. Pan and width are right after plug-ins in the signal path so you can effectively use width and Stereo Pan in that situation.
__________________
Pressure is what turns coal into diamonds - Michael a.k.a. Runaway
Mercado_Negro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2011, 04:09 PM   #269
Mercado_Negro
Moderator
 
Mercado_Negro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Caracas, Venezuela
Posts: 8,245
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mercado_Negro View Post
Please Cockos, give us the ability to select a bunch of tracks and change their pan mode/pan law/compensation all at once, please
And another one

Please
__________________
Pressure is what turns coal into diamonds - Michael a.k.a. Runaway
Mercado_Negro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2011, 05:37 PM   #270
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: brighton, uk
Posts: 12,589
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mercado_Negro View Post
And another one

Please
I'd like some of that too!
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2011, 08:38 AM   #271
G-Sun
Human being with feelings
 
G-Sun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Norway
Posts: 7,182
Default

I've made a wiki-page for the new pan modes:
http://wiki.cockos.com/wiki/index.php/Pan_mode

Please fill out with relevant info.

Question:

- How is Dual-pan handled regarding automation?

- Is stereo pan constant power? (Used it, feel it's reduced when reducing width)

- Are there any difference between "Project default (stereo balance)" and "Stereo balance/ mono pan (default)"

- What is a full path of all available pan and volume-adjustments (automation and controls)?
(If it's written before in this thread, just point me there, thanks!)
__________________
Reaper x64, win 8.1
G-Sun.no - Music Blog - My music

Last edited by G-Sun; 05-27-2011 at 09:16 AM.
G-Sun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2011, 01:17 AM   #272
G-Sun
Human being with feelings
 
G-Sun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Norway
Posts: 7,182
Default

More questions:

- Stereo pan: How is pan working here? 50% left is ch2 panned to center?
-- Automating: Is pan working the same way here?
- Dual pan: Can I automate the dual pan?

http://wiki.cockos.com/wiki/index.php/Pan_mode
__________________
Reaper x64, win 8.1
G-Sun.no - Music Blog - My music
G-Sun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2011, 09:26 AM   #273
woeischris
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 29
Default

I am a little confused by all of this and need to read a bit more carefully. In the meantime, how should I set things if I want Reaper to behave similarly to an analog console that has a pan law of -4.5? Would I set the entire project or just individual tracks that need panning? I've been setting individual tracks.
woeischris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2011, 11:09 AM   #274
bradleyfilms
Human being with feelings
 
bradleyfilms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Cumbria, UK
Posts: 2,255
Default

You'd probably find it easier to set your pan law in project settings, then all tracks will behave in the same way, unless you actively change a pan law for a specific track.
Steve
__________________
Meto ergo psallentes est
bradleyfilms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2011, 02:49 PM   #275
Mercado_Negro
Moderator
 
Mercado_Negro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Caracas, Venezuela
Posts: 8,245
Default

Change individual tracks, leave your projects at default settings. If you need to automate your pan then change it, otherwise, keep it at +0.0dB. That's easier imo.
__________________
Pressure is what turns coal into diamonds - Michael a.k.a. Runaway
Mercado_Negro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2011, 05:17 AM   #276
vinx
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: France
Posts: 712
Default

Please Cockos, give us the ability to select a bunch of tracks and change their pan mode/pan law/compensation all at once, please

+1 here too
vinx is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.