Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER General Discussion Forum

Old 09-24-2018, 08:39 AM   #1
DeBased
Human being with feelings

Default High CPU stress = endless GUI redraws & random 'Copy FX' events.

This is a very long running problem. Before I bug report this, does anybody else get this on Windows, or is it specific to my setup (maybe certain plugins)?

So, I frequently max out my CPU (96k doesn't help). When it's near to max, Reaper likes to go crazy - very regularly, it will get stuck in a UI refresh loop, when the Reaper UI and open plugin windows keep redrawing themselves over and over. During this time Reaper is unresponsive to mouse or keyboard input (which in fact gives the typical OS warning that the app has stopped responding, and option to close it down). Sometimes if you wait long enough, the UI recovers. Often I have to kill Reaper and reload the latest save/auto-backup.

First, is anybody else seeing this at high CPU load on Windows?

I'm a programmer, so I have a good idea why this happens. There's not enough CPU to process the pending Windows redraw messages, and somehow that causes new redraw messages to get added to the queue before the first redraws have completed, resulting in a horrible redraw loop where nothing responds anymore. It could also be specific plugins causing the refresh loop (because it seems strange that new redraws are generated before the first have completed - could also be a Reaper bug?).

a) It would be great if Reaper could catch this scenario (endless redraws) and just stop the audio engine to reduce CPU which always solves it (the redraws catch up and then it's all fine again). This also happens if the audio engine stops for another reason - but if Reaper is set to never stop the engine, then you can't stop it manually as it no longer responds to input. That's why Reaper should catch this and fix it.