Old 05-05-2023, 12:08 PM   #1
reujonik
Human being with feelings

Default Rme Multiface not loading

Hi, been watching this forum for a while. Now trying to move onto linux from windows. Have installed avlinux and alsa-utils alsa-firmware-loaders but cannot get rid of the red light on my multiface 1. Seems the card is not recognised by the system. As a check , all works in windows. I guess i need to get the system to load the firmware, but I'm a complete noob and really need someone to explain to me like I am 5yrs old. Could do with a hand.....
reujonik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2023, 12:14 PM   #2
future-bit

Quote:
Originally Posted by reujonik View Post
Hi, been watching this forum for a while. Now trying to move onto linux from windows. Have installed avlinux and alsa-utils alsa-firmware-loaders but cannot get rid of the red light on my multiface 1. Seems the card is not recognised by the system. As a check , all works in windows. I guess i need to get the system to load the firmware, but I'm a complete noob and really need someone to explain to me like I am 5yrs old. Could do with a hand.....
https://www.forum.rme-audio.de/viewtopic.php?id=30739
future-bit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2023, 12:26 PM   #3
reujonik

Hi, thanks for the link. Have read that several times in the past week and I just can't make it happen. The firmware is not loading at startup.
Old 05-09-2023, 05:33 PM   #4
Venn

What happens when you launch hdspmixer?
Venn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2023, 05:42 PM   #5
Philbo King

I'm no Linux expert, but you might try Pipewire instead of Pulse or Jack if all else fails.
Old 05-09-2023, 09:46 PM   #6
swindus

The light on the Multiface must be green, this is the first step to do. Then you must start hdspmixer to get sound out of the card.