Old 02-12-2019, 05:42 PM   #81
ReaMike
Human being with feelings
 
ReaMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 111
Default

It all looks good. Thanks for the updates RobU!
ReaMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2019, 06:43 AM   #82
Ozman
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 629
Default

Any chance that this could be made to read from the chosen reascale file, like Theory Helper does?
Ozman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2019, 02:16 PM   #83
RobU
Human being with feelings
 
RobU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: R'lyeh
Posts: 820
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ozman View Post
Any chance that this could be made to read from the chosen reascale file, like Theory Helper does?
In theory, it could be hacked in, but the code in its current state is a bit of a maintenance nightmare, so it's highly unlikely to happen in the 1.x versions, sorry. At this point it's just bugfixes until the new version is finished.
__________________
Hard work never killed anybody, but why take a chance?
~Edgar Bergen
RobU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2019, 10:12 AM   #84
sound warrior
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: the D.E.
Posts: 209
Default

hi i'm tottaly blind and i'm verry interisted in using this script, please can someone explane me how to use it after installation? videos explanations arnt verry helpful so i'm here thanks in advance everyone
__________________
I'm trey from the uk. I'm totally blind, running the latest version of reaper on Mac os10 with the voice over screen reeder and osara accessibility plug in: https://github.com/nvaccess/osara
sound warrior is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2019, 06:19 AM   #85
RobU
Human being with feelings
 
RobU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: R'lyeh
Posts: 820
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sound warrior View Post
hi i'm tottaly blind and i'm verry interisted in using this script, please can someone explane me how to use it after installation? videos explanations arnt verry helpful so i'm here thanks in advance everyone
Hello Trey,

I've responded to your PM.


To the wider Lua scripting community: If anyone knows how a Lua GUI based script can be made to work with a screen reader, or if it is even possible, please give me a shout. Thanks!
__________________
Hard work never killed anybody, but why take a chance?
~Edgar Bergen
RobU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2019, 02:25 PM   #86
Chimpscookie
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 6
Default Thank you for this goodie!

I registered an account just to say thank you! Hope to see more of this beast.
Chimpscookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2019, 01:51 AM   #87
dalim.biswas
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 29
Default Saving presets lacking in midi ex machina

It has beautiful features one can use of midiex machine too free of cost .Whereas one feature must be added to save the presets function(scale or notes) so that i do not run this plugin again for same tweaking .Also you can use step block for drums in future for beat generation .BY the way great stupendous work of Genius mpl.

Last edited by dalim.biswas; 11-09-2019 at 01:40 AM. Reason: additional comments
dalim.biswas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2019, 12:29 PM   #88
RobU
Human being with feelings
 
RobU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: R'lyeh
Posts: 820
Default 1.3.5 Bugfix Update

Hi,

I've uploaded a small fix for an annoying bug that would crash MXM when no midi item was selected in the Arrange view.

To get the best out of this I would suggest the following preferences:



With these set, you can switch items in arrange and have them mirrored in the open midi editor, and leave MXM open at the same time.

If you have any issues, give me a shout.


Just a note to some of the feature requesters - there won't be any more updates to 1.x versions, bug fixes only. I have been working on 2.x and those requests will be included (mostly) : )

Cheers
R
__________________
Hard work never killed anybody, but why take a chance?
~Edgar Bergen

Last edited by RobU; 12-07-2019 at 12:34 PM.
RobU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2019, 09:16 PM   #89
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4,868
Default

You are working on V2 ?!
That's great news, thank you and can't wait !
__________________
Reaper - OSX (always latest version)
OSX Catalina (always latest version)
My Reaper Tips&Tricks: https://www.youtube.com/user/vanhaze2000/playlists
vanhaze is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2019, 02:36 AM   #90
RobU
Human being with feelings
 
RobU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: R'lyeh
Posts: 820
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vanhaze View Post
You are working on V2 ?!
That's great news, thank you and can't wait !
Don't hold your breath VH, it's a complete rewrite, and it's long way from being completed : )
__________________
Hard work never killed anybody, but why take a chance?
~Edgar Bergen
RobU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2019, 02:46 AM   #91
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4,868
Default

I should have said "I can wait". 😉
__________________
Reaper - OSX (always latest version)
OSX Catalina (always latest version)
My Reaper Tips&Tricks: https://www.youtube.com/user/vanhaze2000/playlists
vanhaze is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2019, 11:34 AM   #92
Vagelis
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Larisa, Greece
Posts: 508
Default

Thanks for this! I'm enjoying Looking forward for the v2 when it comes out.
I don't know if this was discussed before, it would be nice if we could see the euclidean steps in polygon shapes. Thanks!
Vagelis is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2019, 11:51 AM   #93
deeb
Human being with feelings
 
deeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 2,548
Default

yea this GUI is great! unfortunately most of my time i spend in 1280 x 800 screen and i can't have this GUI always visible. The problem is that i cant find a way to put it back to reedit without reloading and loosing things i previously done using machina or hassle to find on the background.

anyone know if Is it possible to dock this somewhere in midi docker?

@RobU
Also Could it possible even for V1 to make this script pin? because it should be simple with JS functions now.

Code:
w = reaper.JS_Window_Find("Script_name", true)
if w then reaper.JS_Window_AttachTopmostPin(w) end

Last edited by deeb; 12-13-2019 at 12:38 PM.
deeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2019, 12:11 PM   #94
deeb
Human being with feelings
 
deeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 2,548
Default

Also i have some suggestions eventually for future:

- Would be nice if we had a button to read existing notes in midi take and then in the GUI update notes chances with at least 1 for each existing notes and zero others.

- would be nice if with one drag we could define multiple sliders chances (notes/size weight sliders/euclid sliders).

- Would be nice if the settings would be saved per take (which i think you can use P_EXT) so that changing midi items updates the setting for that take

You know what i mean right? Thanks! All good meanwhile!

Last edited by deeb; 12-13-2019 at 12:47 PM.
deeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2019, 01:20 AM   #95
RobU
Human being with feelings
 
RobU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: R'lyeh
Posts: 820
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vagelis View Post
Thanks for this! I'm enjoying Looking forward for the v2 when it comes out.
I don't know if this was discussed before, it would be nice if we could see the euclidean steps in polygon shapes. Thanks!

Thanks Vagelis.

Visualisation of the Euclidean sequencer is planned. : )
__________________
Hard work never killed anybody, but why take a chance?
~Edgar Bergen
RobU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2019, 01:30 AM   #96
RobU
Human being with feelings
 
RobU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: R'lyeh
Posts: 820
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by deeb View Post
yea this GUI is great! unfortunately most of my time i spend in 1280 x 800 screen and i can't have this GUI always visible. The problem is that i cant find a way to put it back to reedit without reloading and loosing things i previously done using machina or hassle to find on the background.

anyone know if Is it possible to dock this somewhere in midi docker?

@RobU
Also Could it possible even for V1 to make this script pin? because it should be simple with JS functions now.

Code:
w = reaper.JS_Window_Find("Script_name", true)
if w then reaper.JS_Window_AttachTopmostPin(w) end
I haven't tried docking it, and pretty sure it's not possible in its current state, sorry. As for pinning the window, maybe... I've been trying to use only the native Reaper API so far, but had to capitulate and use SWS because of a looping bug, so never say never. Ideally, Reaper would provide a way to tab through open windows...

It does use project ext state to store information per project, which means if you have to terminate and restart it should come back as it was (minus undo/redo stuff).

Quote:
Also i have some suggestions eventually for future:

- Would be nice if we had a button to read existing notes in midi take and then in the GUI update notes chances with at least 1 for each existing notes and zero others.
Not quite following you here, sorry - can you explain?

Quote:
- would be nice if with one drag we could define multiple sliders chances (notes/size weight sliders/euclid sliders).

- Would be nice if the settings would be saved per take (which i think you can use P_EXT) so that changing midi items updates the setting for that take

You know what i mean right? Thanks! All good meanwhile!
Hmmm.. multiple drag of sliders might be tricky, I'll think about it.

Per item state is planned for v2.

Just an fyi, but I've also been looking at making this work without opening the midi editor. Obviously if you need to select individual notes, you'd still need to have it open, but anyways... experiments for now, we'll see how it works out.

Fyi 2 - don't hold your breath, it's someways off : )

Rob
__________________
Hard work never killed anybody, but why take a chance?
~Edgar Bergen
RobU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2019, 01:54 AM   #97
RobU
Human being with feelings
 
RobU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: R'lyeh
Posts: 820
Default RGUI 0.2

Early days... : )



Edit. Btw, this won't be an all singing all dancing multi-purpose GUI like Lokasenna's, it's specifically for MxM.
__________________
Hard work never killed anybody, but why take a chance?
~Edgar Bergen

Last edited by RobU; 12-21-2019 at 01:59 AM.
RobU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2019, 05:34 AM   #98
Vagelis
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Larisa, Greece
Posts: 508
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RobU View Post
Thanks Vagelis.

Visualisation of the Euclidean sequencer is planned. : )
Thanks a lot! BTW V2 is looking great, well done! Looking very forward
Vagelis is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2019, 06:25 AM   #99
RobU
Human being with feelings
 
RobU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: R'lyeh
Posts: 820
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by deeb View Post
Would be nice if we had a button to read existing notes in midi take and then in the GUI update notes chances with at least 1 for each existing notes and zero others.
2nd thoughts, have you tried selecting some notes then picking the "Permute" scale. This might be close to what you're looking for...
__________________
Hard work never killed anybody, but why take a chance?
~Edgar Bergen
RobU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2019, 02:33 PM   #100
ReaMike
Human being with feelings
 
ReaMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 111
Default

Hi RobU, early days but looking promising :-)

Quick feature request: add buttons that do inversion and retrograde.

Cheers!
ReaMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2020, 10:35 AM   #101
Chimpscookie
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 6
Default

Up for V2! Would look more like Reaper if it uses the V6 green accent colors but this is just my opinion. I bet you also have in mind the reascale integration/work-together thing. thank you for your awesome work.
Chimpscookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2020, 11:58 AM   #102
SubbaseDnB
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 392
Default

been looking for something like this.will have to try it this weekend
SubbaseDnB is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2020, 04:35 PM   #103
polynut
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 4
Default error 404

Hi Rob and thank for that fantastic plugin but i get an error on my first try and here the error message : ...s\MIDI Editor\MIDI Ex Machina\RobU - MIDI Ex Machina.lua:404: attempt to call a nil value (field 'BR_GetMidiSourceLenPPQ')

Would appreciate if someone can help me running this plugin!
polynut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2020, 04:48 PM   #104
cfillion
Human being with feelings
 
cfillion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 3,009
Default

Do you have the SWS extension installed? https://sws-extension.org/
cfillion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2020, 06:11 PM   #105
polynut
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cfillion View Post
Do you have the SWS extension installed? https://sws-extension.org/
No but i will install it and report back so thank for the tip.

Thank that seem to be my issue since after installing everything work as intended!

Just notice that if i change octave with current generated notes it doesn't take in account the octave change unless i hit generate again so my question is ; Is this normal behavior?

Also is there a way to reset the UI to default?

Last edited by polynut; 01-11-2020 at 08:18 PM.
polynut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2020, 06:09 AM   #106
RobU
Human being with feelings
 
RobU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: R'lyeh
Posts: 820
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by polynut View Post
No but i will install it and report back so thank for the tip.

Thank that seem to be my issue since after installing everything work as intended!

Just notice that if i change octave with current generated notes it doesn't take in account the octave change unless i hit generate again so my question is ; Is this normal behavior?

Also is there a way to reset the UI to default?
Hey, glad you got it working.

Yes, it's normal behavior - the scale, root note, and octave settings are pre-generative. I guess we could look at making that an optional pre/post thing - in the meantime, there are Reaper midi editor actions for shifting notes up/down one octave.

No full UI reset, some of the slider banks have a right-click-reset option (I think, could have been in a non-released beta branch somewhere... : ) -- But this is something that will be in v2.
__________________
Hard work never killed anybody, but why take a chance?
~Edgar Bergen
RobU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2020, 12:31 PM   #107
Eisenspalter
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 58
Default

The Randomizer mostly it crashes, or better it seems to loop. I use the latest Reaper version 6.03 and the latest script version 1.3.5. Sometimes it works but mostly not. I tested a lot but I can't find out what circumstances lead to it. It could be an initialization problem, because if I first use the Sequenzer afterwards the Randomizer works.
Eisenspalter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2020, 08:01 AM   #108
RobU
Human being with feelings
 
RobU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: R'lyeh
Posts: 820
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eisenspalter View Post
The Randomizer mostly it crashes, or better it seems to loop. I use the latest Reaper version 6.03 and the latest script version 1.3.5. Sometimes it works but mostly not. I tested a lot but I can't find out what circumstances lead to it. It could be an initialization problem, because if I first use the Sequenzer afterwards the Randomizer works.
Sorry to hear you're having problems with it. I'm afraid there's not much I can do unless you can replicate the problem, or you tell me the error that is displayed when it crashed (if there is one, chances are there might not be...).

I've not had any recent reports of random crashing so I don't have much to go on...

Are the items extremely large? Do you have the latest SWS installed? Which OS?

Cheers
Rob
__________________
Hard work never killed anybody, but why take a chance?
~Edgar Bergen
RobU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2020, 04:42 PM   #109
mixer9
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 1
Default

Thanks for this.

Last edited by mixer9; 02-12-2020 at 11:07 AM.
mixer9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.