Old 04-16-2016, 03:36 PM   #1
vdubreeze
Human being with feelings
 
vdubreeze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Brooklyn
Posts: 1,762
Default Pasting to fill selection

I'm more or less revisiting this "paste-within selection" and "insert clipboard" thing. http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=167866

Still unable to do either, but it's so basic I figure it has to be there somewhere. Simply, I want to do these two things: pasting from clipboard fills selection. Standard Reaper paste, when you have highlighted an area, puts the clipboard at the cursor, moving the items from there based on the ripple setting. But I want to highlight an area, have the clipboard paste fill the area, and the rest to not move, because it's simply replacing the selected area. Ripple is irrelevant here.

The other, insert clipboard at cursor, so that if I keep 1 second of roomtone in the clipboard and want to place it down and insert, with one of the two desired ripple reactions (either everything to the right moves one second or nothing moves, and the clipboard fill the 1 second from the cursor, don't work on OS X. It seems to only be possibly via SWS, and the latest still throws up the "Not Available on OS X" alert.

Currently with Reaper, at least in OS X, editing of the non-song kind always seems to involve splitting, pasting or inserting, and then moving the regions back to fit, in order to do the kind of editing I'm speaking of, that is not dragging regions into other regions. Is this not the case? If not, please enlighten : ) Definitely nothing to do with ripple or copy selected area of item as suggested in linked post.

Thanks,
__________________
The reason rain dances work is because they don't stop dancing until it rains.

Last edited by vdubreeze; 04-17-2016 at 06:51 PM.
vdubreeze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2016, 06:41 AM   #2
vdubreeze
Human being with feelings
 
vdubreeze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Brooklyn
Posts: 1,762
Default

No way to paste to fill selection?
__________________
The reason rain dances work is because they don't stop dancing until it rains.
vdubreeze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2016, 07:06 PM   #3
vdubreeze
Human being with feelings
 
vdubreeze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Brooklyn
Posts: 1,762
Default

No way to paste to fill selection? Especially smaller selection than in clipboard? Bummer.
__________________
The reason rain dances work is because they don't stop dancing until it rains.
vdubreeze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2016, 12:07 AM   #4
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5,537
Default

latest sws extension is here. Works on OSX
http://sws-extension.org/
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2016, 11:09 AM   #5
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4,772
Default

Concerning your first question:

Have you tried the Action:

"Item: Copy items to time selection, trim/loop to fit" ?

- First make time selection
- Then select the items you want to have copied to that time selection
- execute the action.
vanhaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2016, 08:03 PM   #6
vdubreeze
Human being with feelings
 
vdubreeze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Brooklyn
Posts: 1,762
Default

Thanks epicsounds and vanhaze,

Quote:
Originally Posted by EpicSounds View Post
latest sws extension is here. Works on OSX
http://sws-extension.org/

This is using the latest 2.8.3 SWS. Everything works except for one or two actions, including any ones that describe close to what I'm looking for, including "Insert media file from clipboard" which sends up the attached alert.


Quote:
Originally Posted by vanhaze View Post
Concerning your first question:

Have you tried the Action:

"Item: Copy items to time selection, trim/loop to fit" ?

- First make time selection
- Then select the items you want to have copied to that time selection
- execute the action.

That's close. Since I'm not copying I wasn't looking there, I was doing all the paste and insert actions. It almost sort of works : )

But two things: For reasons I can't figure out, using the clipboard it works randomly, sometimes it puts it right there, sometimes nothing happens. But the bigger problem is that it doesn't treat it like a region that is in place of what was highlighted. It's sitting on top of it, so it can't be massaged into place by pushing adjacent items into its edges and crossfading. It moves over and what was underneath plays through. I want it to act the same as an item pasted there.

Getting closer, though : ) How can I get it to behave that way instead?

Currently the only way I can seem to do this is to split the area, move the files apart, paste the whole clipboard there, move both sides back in place and adjust if necessary.

Thanks for chiming in!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg SWS OS X alert.jpg (18.9 KB, 140 views)
__________________
The reason rain dances work is because they don't stop dancing until it rains.
vdubreeze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2016, 06:10 PM   #7
vdubreeze
Human being with feelings
 
vdubreeze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Brooklyn
Posts: 1,762
Default

Here's another good reason why this ability is important. Aside from the actual editing of the material, a lot of times we're asked to provide exactly 2 seconds of room tone between lines, or exactly .5 sec on the front and 4.5 at the tail of edited files (to use Audible's spec). With Reaper, from what I can figure, the best you can do is keep a few seconds of room in the clipboard and paste it when called for, and then adjust the size to what's needed. Same as using for an edit (split the audio, move apart, paste the room drag audio together, adjust size/timing of room in edit.

Ideally you want to make a 4.5 sec selection at the tail and boom, paste 4.5 of room there and go to the top, select .5 second before first audio and, boom, .5 sec of leading room tone. Have a perfectly paced section that has an ugly breath in between sentences where you don't want to move the rest? Select the breath, paste the clipboard, and that's it, no moving of files needed.

Without the ability to paste to fill selection there's more labor involved in narration editing.
__________________
The reason rain dances work is because they don't stop dancing until it rains.
vdubreeze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2016, 01:27 PM   #8
vdubreeze
Human being with feelings
 
vdubreeze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Brooklyn
Posts: 1,762
Default

Bummer. No "Paste clipboard to time selection, trim to fit"? Need! : )

Would this be easy to script?
__________________
The reason rain dances work is because they don't stop dancing until it rains.
vdubreeze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2016, 02:30 PM   #9
vdubreeze
Human being with feelings
 
vdubreeze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Brooklyn
Posts: 1,762
Default

Re-re-visiting this just in case this missed someone who may have a solution.

To summarize: paste to fill selection. Copy 5 secs of room tone to clipboard, then paste 1 or 2 secs as desired without having to adjust item length after paste. So edits involving the task of pasting room tone onto differently sized areas will be a single action, no readjusting, just filling selection.

Not copy to fit or loop to fit.

Thanks : )
__________________
The reason rain dances work is because they don't stop dancing until it rains.
vdubreeze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2018, 05:12 AM   #10
curtdusoleil
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 5
Default Custom Action to Paste room tone to selection

It's been a while since this post, but figured I'd add this in case you haven't figured it out.

This is a screenshot of a custom action that will take the room tone you've copied to the clipboard and paste it to fill your time selection. I use this to cover breaths and such in my audiobook edits.

I mapped both a keyboard shortcut, as well as a mouse button (extra button) to make this operation very quick!

Just select a small portion of room tone and 'copy loop of selected area of item' and you're all set to go.

What I'm trying to figure out how to do now is not have to copy to the clipboard, but instead get it from a pre-recorded bit of room tone. Then I can still use copy/paste on other things and not have to go back and copy more room tone.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg PasteRoomTone.jpg (12.3 KB, 81 views)
curtdusoleil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2019, 09:25 AM   #11
JonnyVoiceguy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 10
Default

Thanks curtdusoleil! That really helps.

I've been searching for awhile for this solution. Close to Pro Tools "Paste Special" and Audacity's "Paste Punch." Hopefullly we'll get a dedicated cache for the 'copy' part sometime soon
JonnyVoiceguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2019, 12:08 PM   #12
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 15,078
Default

thanks curt... very nice solution!
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2019, 02:52 PM   #13
ChristopherT
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South
Posts: 564
Default

The other solution I found is to loop and glue room tone for the length of the project, then when needed, slice and unmute room tone track.
Avoiding saving audio to a clipboard
ChristopherT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2019, 10:27 PM   #14
babag
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,648
Default

https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=205709

this is how i do it, as posted in another discussion on this subject (includes actions and scripts). scroll down to get to my post.

babag
babag is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.