Old 11-12-2019, 08:06 AM   #1
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 18,082
Default v01 here: MIDI Monitor / Controller

Does ReaContorlMIDI has too few sliders for CCs and you forget what they control?

__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. . . . Inspired by ...

Last edited by DarkStar; 11-14-2019 at 06:20 AM.
DarkStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2019, 08:11 AM   #2
lunker
Human being with feelings
 
lunker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lucas, TX, USA (via Luleň, Sweden)
Posts: 1,015
Default

Wow! Nice! Looking forward to it!
__________________
Best Regards, Ernie "lunker" Lundqvist
BDSM (Bad Dog Studio Musicians)
Windows 10 running on Z390 + i7-8700

Last edited by lunker; 12-01-2019 at 01:30 PM.
lunker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2019, 09:33 AM   #3
thomas0906
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 45
Default

Very nice.
I would need such a thing with sliders for upper and lower drawbars of a hammond organ vsti.

thomas
thomas0906 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2019, 05:04 AM   #4
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 18,082
Default

OK, here's the first (rough) version. So it will have bugs and little data validation.
  • download the attached .zip file
  • go to your Reaper / Effects folder (use [Options] > "Show REAPER resource path..." to get there)
  • create a folder named "DarkStar"
  • extract ALL the contents (2 folders, 7 files) of the .zip file into that folder
  • restart Reaper
  • load the FX "MIDI_MC_DS"

Click the [?] button for the operations guide.
Attached Files
File Type: zip MIDI_MC_DS_v01.zip (233.9 KB, 40 views)
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. . . . Inspired by ...
DarkStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2019, 08:26 AM   #5
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 18,082
Default

Hmm, 3 weeks and no comments.

Either it is working perfectly, which I doubt. Or, no-one has tried it.
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. . . . Inspired by ...
DarkStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2019, 08:39 AM   #6
airon
Human being with feelings
 
airon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Berlin
Posts: 10,441
Default

Definitely post this in the JS/scripting section, and most DEFINITELY get it included in the ReamTeam repo so Reapack users get an early xmas the next time they update.


I'm giving this a try, though I'm not much of a musician. Most of my monitoring needs is met with either CSI's monitor(so that device won't even show up as an input device) or with MidiOX, usually for seeing if the data is sane.
__________________
Dialogue/FX Editor & Re-Recording Mixer
(Video)Using Latch Preview
"My ego comes pre-shrunk" - Randy Thom
airon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2019, 08:47 AM   #7
Regisfofo
Human being with feelings
 
Regisfofo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: France
Posts: 251
Default

This looks very insteresting, sadly don't have time to test it right now!
Regisfofo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2019, 08:47 AM   #8
Joe90
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 301
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkStar View Post
Hmm, 3 weeks and no comments.

Either it is working perfectly, which I doubt. Or, no-one has tried it.
Hey Dark Star - this looks great and very useful, thank you!

I'll give it a bit of test tonight and let you know if I spot any issues.
Joe90 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2019, 01:32 PM   #9
lunker
Human being with feelings
 
lunker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lucas, TX, USA (via Luleň, Sweden)
Posts: 1,015
Default

Mea culpa!

I missed that you had posted a version to test.

Downloading and testing now ...
__________________
Best Regards, Ernie "lunker" Lundqvist
BDSM (Bad Dog Studio Musicians)
Windows 10 running on Z390 + i7-8700
lunker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2019, 04:40 AM   #10
uksnowy
Human being with feelings
 
uksnowy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: 6950 DK
Posts: 471
Default

How does one install it if it is not in Reapack?
__________________
REAPING HAVOC SINCE 2008
uksnowy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2019, 04:45 AM   #11
lunker
Human being with feelings
 
lunker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lucas, TX, USA (via Luleň, Sweden)
Posts: 1,015
Default

Follow the instructions in post #4:

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkStar View Post
  • download the attached .zip file
  • go to your Reaper / Effects folder (use [Options] > "Show REAPER resource path..." to get there)
  • create a folder named "DarkStar"
  • extract ALL the contents (2 folders, 7 files) of the .zip file into that folder
  • restart Reaper
  • load the FX "MIDI_MC_DS"

Click the [?] button for the operations guide.
(see post #4 for the file to download)


PS to DarkStar -- This is really cool! Thanks for developing and sharing it. It is especially awesome that you included instructions for modifying the rows/columns of the GUI to match a particular hardware unit -- very helpful!
__________________
Best Regards, Ernie "lunker" Lundqvist
BDSM (Bad Dog Studio Musicians)
Windows 10 running on Z390 + i7-8700
lunker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2019, 05:47 AM   #12
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 19,151
Default

Damn you, Darkstar! (in Dick Dastardly voice) I am buried in work at present & would SO love to try this...

Looks like a fine job so far... Hopefully I can have a play later this month.
(Thumbs up emoticon here)
__________________
"What a dick comment. I'm gonna make sure to avoid your name." Dicks other than Trump can speak????
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2019, 08:25 AM   #13
xpander
Human being with feelings
 
xpander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Terra incognita
Posts: 5,020
Default

Nice one, thanks DarkStar.

It seems if I enter the edit mode and then select a knob to be edited (alt + left click), the only way to escape from the edit mode is to hit Enter, which then sets the new values. It would be nice if user could escape the edit mode without changes if the edit went wrong. This might be really hard to do though, if even possible?
xpander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2019, 04:04 AM   #14
uksnowy
Human being with feelings
 
uksnowy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: 6950 DK
Posts: 471
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lunker View Post
Follow the instructions in post #4:



(see post #4 for the file to download)


PS to DarkStar -- This is really cool! Thanks for developing and sharing it. It is especially awesome that you included instructions for modifying the rows/columns of the GUI to match a particular hardware unit -- very helpful!
DOH! thank you..
__________________
REAPING HAVOC SINCE 2008
uksnowy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2019, 05:05 AM   #15
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 18,082
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xpander View Post
Nice one, thanks DarkStar.

It seems if I enter the edit mode and then select a knob to be edited (alt + left click), the only way to escape from the edit mode is to hit Enter, which then sets the new values. It would be nice if user could escape the edit mode without changes if the edit went wrong. This might be really hard to do though, if even possible?
On its way.
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. . . . Inspired by ...
DarkStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2019, 05:48 AM   #16
xpander
Human being with feelings
 
xpander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Terra incognita
Posts: 5,020
Default

Sounds good, thanks DarkStar.
xpander is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.