Old 12-09-2019, 03:56 PM   #1
Archimedes
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 352
Default APP HANG V6.0 and V6.1 - Not V5.99

Large existing project

Under V5.99
Delete 1 instance of Kontakt 6
Replace with 1 instance of Reason Rack VST3i (11.1d9, bld 10,688 - stable)
NO PROBLEMS

Under both v6.0 and v6.01
Delete 1 instance of Kontakt 6
Replace with 1 instance of Reason Rack VST3i (11.1d9, bld 10,688 - stable)
REAPER HANGS
Touch anything, error box (unresponsive), choose "Close Program"

Variations under 6.0 and 6.01
Don't delete the Kontakt instance
Add new empty track
Attempt to insert Reason Rack Plugin
APP HANG

Event Viewer Data

Log Name: Application
Source: Application Hang
Date: 12/9/2019 4:29:58 PM
Event ID: 1002
Task Category: (101)
Level: Error
Keywords: Classic
User: N/A
Computer: SuperMicro
Description:
The program REAPER.exe version 6.0.0.0 stopped interacting with Windows and was closed. To see if more information about the problem is available, check the problem history in the Action Center control panel.
Process ID: 2ec8
Start Time: 01d5aedfebf8d235
Termination Time: 64
Application Path: C:\Program Files\REAPER (x64)\REAPER.exe
Report Id: 6c1abd1c-1ad3-11ea-83a9-0cc47a698aad
Faulting package full name:
Faulting package-relative application ID:

Event Xml:
<Event xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events/event">
<System>
<Provider Name="Application Hang" />
<EventID Qualifiers="0">1002</EventID>
<Level>2</Level>
<Task>101</Task>
<Keywords>0x80000000000000</Keywords>
<TimeCreated SystemTime="2019-12-09T22:29:58.000000000Z" />
<EventRecordID>170927</EventRecordID>
<Channel>Application</Channel>
<Computer>SuperMicro</Computer>
<Security />
</System>
<EventData>
<Data>REAPER.exe</Data>
<Data>6.0.0.0</Data>
<Data>2ec8</Data>
<Data>01d5aedfebf8d235</Data>
<Data>64</Data>
<Data>C:\Program Files\REAPER (x64)\REAPER.exe</Data>
<Data>6c1abd1c-1ad3-11ea-83a9-0cc47a698aad</Data>
<Data>
</Data>
<Data>
</Data>
<Binary>430072006F00730073002D00740068007200650061 00640000000000</Binary>
</EventData>
</Event>

There is NO crash dump file in .../AppData/Local/CrashDumps or anywhere else that I can find.

I'm able to duplicate this hang reliably with this 1 project. HOWEVER, if I open a new instance of Reaper and insert Reason Rack Plugin, then no problem.

Windows 8.1 Pro (x64) Build 9600, 64 GB Ram, Supermicro SYS-7048A-T

Last edited by Archimedes; 12-09-2019 at 04:23 PM.
Archimedes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2019, 06:47 PM   #2
Edgemeal
Human being with feelings
 
Edgemeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: ASU`ogacihC
Posts: 1,594
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Archimedes View Post
There is NO crash dump file in .../AppData/Local/CrashDumps or anywhere else that I can find.
You can create a dmp file manually, Before closing REAPER open Windows Task Manager, find reaper.exe, right click it > Create dump file, it'll tell you where it saved the file.
Edgemeal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2019, 05:05 AM   #3
Archimedes
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 352
Default

I made a bunch of changes to my system, as follows:

1). Installed Codemeter and changed the way Reason validates the installation to "authorized computer", vs. internet authorization. THIS MAY HAVE SOLVED THIS, but, I also...

2). ...made changes in the registry to block Google's "Software Reporting Tool",

3). ...uninstalled Microsoft Azure...

4). ...uninstalled Microsoft SQL Server

5). ...did a clean install of Reaper...

6). ...did a clean install of Reason 11

I'm now able to insert Reason Rack plugin in that same project under all versions of Reaper.
Archimedes is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.