Old 12-10-2019, 03:09 PM   #1
Colox
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: The land of meatballs and blondes
Posts: 974
Default Installing Reaper v6 over v5, bad idea?

I've been working with Reaper for some years now. But facing the new version 6, I'm thinking maybe I should clean it up a bit.

I'm on Windows, so in my C:\Users\[username]\AppData\Roaming\REAPER directory, I got a minor world of settings, presets, EEL plugins and scripts made by me or others etc etc. I don't have all that control over what is in there that I need and that is obsolete. That's my own shortcoming, not keeping a log of what I store and change in there, and not. I do back all of it up however.

I'm a little concerned about how this directory is growing, and now about to install Reaper v6 right over it. I'm wandering if anyone has got a better picture than me about how good of an idea that is, compared to cleaning out every trace of Reaper 5 from the system first?

I guess I'm eager to see Reaper 6, and not as eager to map out every present and resource in the Reaper user folder first.
__________________
There are only two kinds of people in the world: those who entertain, and those who are absurd.
- Britney Spears
Colox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2019, 03:10 PM   #2
Greg Savage
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 560
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Colox View Post
I've been working with Reaper for some years now. But facing the new version 6, I'm thinking maybe I should clean it up a bit.

I'm on Windows, so in my C:\Users\[username]\AppData\Roaming\REAPER directory, I got a minor world of settings, presets, EEL plugins and scripts made by me or others etc etc. I don't have all that control over what is in there that I need and that is obsolete. That's my own shortcoming, not keeping a log of what I store and change in there, and not. I do back all of it up however.

I'm a little concerned about how this directory is growing, and now about to install Reaper v6 right over it. I'm wandering if anyone has got a better picture than me about how good of an idea that is, compared to cleaning out every trace of Reaper 5 from the system first?
I had no issues install 6 over 5. You can always back up the directory.
Greg Savage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2019, 03:20 PM   #3
nait
Human being with feelings
 
nait's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Edmonton, AB, Canada
Posts: 711
Default

I have no issue with Reaper 6 installed on top of 5 either, but if it concerns you, then just back up your settings and anything you need to save, and wipe 5 completely and then put 6 on. I don't think it's necessary though.

Looking at my portable install, the whole thing is only 140MB.
__________________
My Rig (also serves as my gaming PC): Asus Z270A Prime Mobo, i7-6700k, 32GB RAM, Samsung 960 Evo 500gb NVMe, Crucial 1TB NVMe, NVidia GTX 1070, Focusrite Scarlett 2i2, Nektar Impact LX25+ MIDI Controller Keyboard.
nait is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2019, 10:21 AM   #4
Flavio
Human being with feelings
 
Flavio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Italy - Monza
Posts: 149
Default

also possible to run a portable installation and export the whole configuration from 5 to 6.
This way allows you to keep both the versions and make all the necessary tests before definitively moving to the new one.
Flavio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2019, 08:35 PM   #5
peter5992
Human being with feelings
 
peter5992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Oakland, CA
Posts: 9,740
Default

I wouldn't worry about it, all preferences etc. are copied over into version 6.

If you decide you don't version 6, you just reinstall version 5 right over it, and you're back to where you were before.

This won't take more than 2 minutes.
peter5992 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.