Old 06-29-2017, 01:46 AM   #1
bezusheist
Human being with feelings
 
bezusheist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Dummytown
Posts: 632
Default ReaEQ shows incorrect phase plot? (FIXED)

what exactly is the phase plot showing you on ReaEQ ?
is it supposed to show the actual phase response of the filter ?
and where are the "degree" markings ?
i have checked impulse responses from ReaEQ in other analysis apps and have found the phase plots on ReaEQ to be incorrect, or at least they do not correspond.
has anyone else noticed this ?
is this a bug or intended behavior ?
__________________
rectumfire

Last edited by bezusheist; 06-29-2017 at 01:56 AM.
bezusheist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2017, 06:33 AM   #2
Bri1
Human being with feelings
 
Bri1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: England
Posts: 1,750
Default

@bezusheist >


Cockos-please reaspond-thinking it's quite important to investigate all these things further?
Even a little description would be usefull
Bri1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2017, 08:18 AM   #3
bezusheist
Human being with feelings
 
bezusheist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Dummytown
Posts: 632
Default

well, i never look at a phase plot while actually using an EQ...nor have i ever felt the need to. so it's not "important" to me if it works correctly or not.
my only concern is that if something is technically "wrong", then it should be fixed, regardless of it's relevance to me or anyone else.
(...i feel the same way about Reaper's "normalization" feature being wrong.)
__________________
rectumfire
bezusheist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2017, 01:41 AM   #4
bezusheist
Human being with feelings
 
bezusheist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Dummytown
Posts: 632
Default

Nobody else cares that this is incorrect ?
__________________
rectumfire
bezusheist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2017, 01:51 AM   #5
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 22,085
Default

Apparently?
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2017, 05:10 AM   #6
Fergler
Human being with feelings
 
Fergler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 3,619
Default

It probably looks different from other EQs because not all EQs follow the same representation of frequencies. The X axis of the graph is not linear.

Also be sure you are comparing filters perfectly. Can you be sure that the 0-4 'Q' (bandwidth) setting on one EQ is equal to the 0-1 Q setting on another? What if the other one uses 0.025-40, like Pro Q 2?
__________________
Check out my hip-hop, funk-rock band Theatre Crisp
Fergler is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.