Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > newbieland

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-24-2016, 08:41 PM   #1
MonkeyBars
Human being with feelings
 
MonkeyBars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Hollyweird
Posts: 335
Default Change color of loop points in repeat mode?

It would be very helpful if I could get a visual indication that I'm in repeat mode besides the button in the Transport. Is there a a way to change the color of the loop point selection in the top bar of the arrange window when in repeat mode? My theme just shows it as white all the time.

Last edited by MonkeyBars; 02-26-2016 at 08:47 AM.
MonkeyBars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2016, 01:22 PM   #2
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4,662
Default

That's a very good question and to be honest, one of the major headaches i have in Reaper.

I have used dozens of Themes and no one showed a distinctive loop-repeat color when Repeat is on.
Even the default Reaper theme doesn't do this.
So i am thinking this is not a theme dependent "issue"

IMHO, yet, it would be so powerful when you could tell of the loop color in Ruler whether Repeat is ON or OFF.
This is way more clear than looking at the color of the Repeat Button.

I hope someone can chime in.
vanhaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2016, 01:41 PM   #3
Sju
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 593
Default

Good suggestion and probably quite easy to implement, as the marker color is already defined in the theme colors.
Sju is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2016, 02:20 PM   #4
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4,662
Default

Errr, excuse me ?

You're talkin' bout "Marker" color.
To my knowledge, this is something different then "Loop color" in on/off state.

Correct me if i'm wrong though .. :0)
vanhaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2016, 04:06 PM   #5
MonkeyBars
Human being with feelings
 
MonkeyBars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Hollyweird
Posts: 335
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vanhaze View Post
Errr, excuse me ?

You're talkin' bout "Marker" color.
To my knowledge, this is something different then "Loop color" in on/off state.

Correct me if i'm wrong though .. :0)
You're wrong afaict. The manual refers to them as "loop points" 41 times, to be exact.

I think Logic's practice of using a totally different term than repeat (often used to refer to item duplication) and loop – in particular, cycle – is quite clear and well thought out, preventing misunderstandings such as this. Reaper uses both "repeat" and "loop" in this context. Confusing.

FR here: http://forum.cockos.com/showpost.php...86&postcount=1
MonkeyBars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2016, 02:26 AM   #6
Sju
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 593
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vanhaze View Post
Errr, excuse me ?

You're talkin' bout "Marker" color.
To my knowledge, this is something different then "Loop color" in on/off state.

Correct me if i'm wrong though .. :0)
Ah yes I of course meant the loop point "marker", sorry for the confusion :P
Sju is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2016, 02:52 AM   #7
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4,662
Default

No sweat, thank you :0)

Again : would be great if it's color can be changed, to visualize the state of Repeat.
vanhaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2016, 12:16 PM   #8
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4,662
Default

Anyone, please ?
vanhaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2016, 03:48 PM   #9
solger
Human being with feelings
 
solger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3,139
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vanhaze View Post
No sweat, thank you :0)

Again : would be great if it's color can be changed, to visualize the state of Repeat.
There might be a possible workaround for this.

This is a very simple script I made (for Reaper ver. 5.x) which basically loads one of two themes (with different loop colors) dependent on the current Loop/Repeat-State.

The naming of the files, scripts, etc. in this example was chosen for a better clarity. But you can of course change them to whatever you want

It's best to try it out first with a new portable Reaper install: http://www.kennymania.com/videos/rea...all-of-reaper/

Otherwise make a backup of your Reaper folder, export your configurations, etc. before, just in case!


(1A) Go to the Actions-List and open the "Theme Development: Show theme tweak/configuration window"
(1B) Press [Save Theme ...] and save it as "loopDisabled.ReaperTheme"
(1C) Find the option "Timeline background (in loop points)" and change it to a color you want to use for active loops
(1D) Press [Save Theme ...] again and save it as "loopActive.ReaperTheme"

(2A) Go to the Actions-list , choose ReaScript: [New] and name the file "changeLoopColor.lua"
(2B) Insert the following code, then close the code window and save the changes

Windows:
Quote:
loopState = reaper.GetSetRepeat(-1)

if loopState == 0 then
themeFile = reaper.GetExePath() .. "\\" .. "ColorThemes" .. "\\" .. "loopDisabled.ReaperTheme"
reaper.OpenColorThemeFile(themeFile)
end

if loopState == 1 then
themeFile = reaper.GetExePath() .. "\\" .. "ColorThemes" .. "\\" .. "loopActive.ReaperTheme"
reaper.OpenColorThemeFile(themeFile)
end
OSX:
Quote:
loopState = reaper.GetSetRepeat(-1)

if loopState == 0 then
themeFile = reaper.GetExePath() .. "/" .. "ColorThemes" .. "/" .. "loopDisabled.ReaperTheme"
reaper.OpenColorThemeFile(themeFile)
end

if loopState == 1 then
themeFile = reaper.GetExePath() .. "/" .. "ColorThemes" .. "/" .. "loopActive.ReaperTheme"
reaper.OpenColorThemeFile(themeFile)
end
If the two script lines with the paths don't work this way, change the lines to the absolute paths like:

Windows: themeFile = "[insert path to file here]\loopActive.Reapertheme"
OSX: themeFile = "[insert path to file here]/loopActive.Reapertheme"

(3) Go to Action-List and choose Custom Actions: [New], name it "toggleLoopColor" and add

[Transport: Toggle repeat]
[Script: changeLoopColor.lua]

(4) Add a button to a toolbar and assign the custom action "toggleLoopColor"

(5) So now everytime you hit the custom button in the toolbar the repeat-button and loop selection color should toggle accordingly.

Last edited by solger; 02-27-2016 at 05:22 PM.
solger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2018, 08:40 PM   #10
_jon
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 37
Default +1 on the suggestion

+1 on the suggestion. Coming from Cubase I miss that visual feedback. Will have to try that theme workaround sometime.
_jon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.